This Repug debate is what will fix the immigration problem!

I think we are all a little guilty of this but there is something about this Forum that prevents us from just coming out and admitting that we were wrong, that we erred, that we misspoke, misread, just plain fcuked up!

Eh, Lazie? I should admit I was wrong on Fenton Ferguson? Nah, I called for his resignation after his "not really babies" statement. That was my threshold.

They use all sorts of things, Sass, we know that. But if you wanted one simple thing to describe the economic growth of a country it comes down simply to GDP! It is the best indicator of economic growth as we know it today.

Argument done grill up!

I am trying to find it. The PSOJ usually release it quarterly and at the end of the year they do the annual growth. If I am not wrong we had a below .5 last year.

You do mean the PIOJ, right? I wouldn't check the private sector for such things when the Planning Institute is right there.

Who is "they" exactly?

I am trying to find economic figures for the last few years but I haven't found it yet
            Yes please let us know when you do. Remember we are looking for an official percentage based figure, that represents economic growth.

the fact is they do not only estimate GDP, they use other factors.
              I am trying to find economic figures for the last few years but I haven't found it yet. GDP growth is just the Output from factories and other places and it doesn't include anything else. It is one factor used in measuring economic growth.
              We're getting somewhere!

That was what I said from start, you just reading it??? Read my post again.

yeah sorry, Planning institute of Jamaica. BOJ will also release it.

NOPE. GDP rate is quite different from "Real GDP"

Where you see me shifting??? Real GDP covers a whole lot more and more reflect the countries economic growth rate.

"GDP growth is not economic growth. Jamaican economy has not grown by 1% over the past few years. "Growth" normally refer to economic growth not GDP."

"GDP growth is just the Output from factories and other places and it doesn't include anything else. It is one factor used in measuring economic growth."

Those 2 are your statements, cut & paste, bold for effect!

And to be clear - no one said GDP was the be all and end all of economic growth! And again, I remind you, I never said anything about type of growth. You chose to bring up GDP, even though that was what I was referring to.

Come now, Sass, man! GEEZ!!!!! Snap out of your denial!!!!

Lets leave the real one out of it for now. Not going to allow you to squirm your way out of this one so easy!

Sass mi bredrin it's time you do what America did in Vietnam: Declare victory and retreat. Mosiah is nice guy him no stay like me him we allow you dat. Just say you misspoke and done. No one can kill you fi dat. Geez.

"
                            GDP growth is just the Output from factories and other places and it doesn't include anything else. It is one factor used in measuring economic growth."
                            These are perfectly correct statements. GDP is only one of the factors and it only measure output. "Real GDP" take other factors in consideration.

In normal teams growth is referred to Economic growth. If you had put GDP growth I would have no problem but I bet the growth referred to in the debate is economic growth. Damn skippy.

No it does not cover a whole lot more!

Real GDP is simply inflation adjusted GDP. Nominal GDP is the non-inflation adjusted figuure.

"Jamaica economic growth data includes gross domestic product for Jamaica, real GDP, and various other indicators and breakdowns measuring change in market value of goods and services in Jamaica"

https://www.quandl.com/collections/j...a-economy-data