This Repug debate is what will fix the immigration problem!

GDP growth measure output.
    Economic growth measure a lot more. GDP growth is NOT ECONOMIC GROWTH AND when the term GROWTH is used it normally referred to economic growth.

No two way about it I-Man

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economic_growth

GDP doesn't include Inflation, Import and other critical factors that economic growth includes.

Sass, my economics is only a little better than my construction skills, but I think you should give this one up. You will never win it!

Sass, better you leave this one alone. Please tell me, when economists say the US or Nigerian economy grew by x percent, what figure are they talking about?

Better still, when you claim the Jamaican economy has not grown by 1 percent, which government statistical figure were you referring to?

Note, I didn't say GDP growth is exactly economic growth, I said it is by far the most common figure used by economists and governments to measure and estimate it. This is not something that is debatable.

Me sorry fe him when Don1 surface later!

Das why mi a hope seh him just quickly apologise and say something Carsonesque to explain the gaffe. Den hied himself quick quick!

"Sass, better you leave this one alone. Please tell me, when economists say the US or Nigerian economy grew by x percent, what figure are they talking about?"
              This is normally economic growth. If is GDP growth they will tell you.
              You can have GDP growth and no economic growth.

Note, I didn't say GDP growth is exactly economic growth, I said it is by far the most common figure used by economists and governments to measure and estimate it. This is not something that is debatable.

Not true, it is one of the factor that influence economic growth but is measured against inflation, cost of living, and other factors. The defination itself tell you that but all you can gwaan off again, you will come back and say I am right on this topic.
              Last edited by Assasin; November 11, 2015, 11:29 AM.

again you all trying to shout but you will come back like you did the other day, nothing new.

I will defer to Don1. Not saying he is omniscient or anything. But him blaze di best fiyah!

Ok mi baaass!

Just one more ting before mi tek weh misself:

I asked Google, what is the best indicator of economic growth?

This was their first result:

http://www.rbcpa.com/economic_fundamentals.pdf

for one "real GDP" is different than "GDP".

OK, so you should be able to show me the official "economic growth" figure released by the US government or the JA government, right? It should be different from the GDP growth figure, right?

I am still waiting to hear what govt figure you generally use when you refer to the growth or non-growth of the JA economy.

Not true, it is one of the factor that influence economic growth but is measured against inflation, cost of living, and other factors
                          Yes but you are confusing theory with practice. There is no known way to perfectly measure all the economic growth in any economy. The best macroeconomists can do, so far, is estimate it and up until now that is generally done by estimating the GDP. It is well known that this model needs work but it is still the standard used by governments and institutions.

for one "real GDP" is different than "GDP".
                            Ok.

It's a little foggy, but I think I can make out oh so slightly that the goal posts are being shifted just a tups. Am I right?

So what figure you use Sass? Tell us nuh?

What was the percent of "economic growth" in Jamaica for 2013? Please quote your sources.

the fact is they do not only estimate GDP, they use other factors.
                                I am trying to find economic figures for the last few years but I haven't found it yet. GDP growth is just the Output from factories and other places and it doesn't include anything else. It is one factor used in measuring economic growth.