• Advocating West Kgn Being in the Black while Being White

Climate Change Chronicles XV11

But first a message from your sponsor:
    Don1 It is not really about the Irishman paying for it.

It starts with the creation of a comprehensive plan for the redevelopment of the entire downtown area...to be performed in stages. The plan should have integrated business/cultural & residential elements...and a strong Business Improvement District organization for all stakeholders to manage the zone (not KSAC)

If that is done and appropriately packaged to foreign & local private investors accompanied by great tax/accelerated depreciation incentives...and a big community security element... Only then is there the makings of something truly transformational & sustainable.

O'Brien wants to lift the image of West Kingston

"How do you attract young people to come down there and set up their businesses? Well, no public tax would be a great one, and probably reduced prices for utilities would be another one ... maybe a discount of 25 or 30 per cent on every thing, including water, electricity, and garbage collection -- the main costs of running a business. If you have that package of incentives you can transform the place. "If you were in any major city in the world today, the government always has incentives to do urban renewal," he said.

Aside from the introduction and development of economic projects, O'Brien also wants social conditions, in particular housing, to be part and parcel of the overall thrust to securing better conditions. "It would be a great place to live. You have to build homes there. You just can't have commercial businesses alone -- there has to be somewhere where people live as well. There needs to be a holistic plan like the creation of a housing estate," he stated, elaborating that by creating a housing estate, there would not be a need to build new houses, but renovate existing stock.

"I would encourage Jamaicans to go and buy property down there because it's gonna be fantastic for the wider economy. "When you see a stock market move the way yours does that's the first sign of belief in your economy and investors overseas now buying Jamaica companies is the first sign that, wow, there is about to be a surge of investment into Jamaica," O'Brien said.

There was a documentary on al jareeza which stated they reduced crime in panama by getting gangs involved to showcase historical sites in their depressed neighborhoods to tourist,what they deemed historical,I can see that happening all over Kgn,I.e Alpha, east Kingston, warieka hills,etc.The gangster in Panama remarked instead of trying to rob tourist,now they protect them and of course the barrios are slowly being gentrified.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

"We used to rob tourists here," says James. "That's how we survived."

So did his cousin, Antonio Luis James, who was the leader of the local gang.

Standing just blocks from Hardin's restored hotel, where a room can go for up to $400 a night, James points to a rundown house. His brother, also a gang member, was shot dead there. The dispute was over a stolen necklace.

http://www.wnyc.org/story/in-panama-...angs-together/

Panama City's historic district is rehabilitated, so are its gangsters

http://www.latimes.com/world/mexico-...525-story.html

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

There was a documentary on al jareeza which stated they reduced crime in panama by getting gangs involved to showcase historical sites in their depressed neighborhoods to tourist,what they deemed historical,I can see that happening all over Kgn,I.e Alpha, east Kingston, warieka hills,etc.The gangster in Panama remarked instead of trying to rob tourist,now they protect them and of course the barrios are slowly being gentrified.
        Yep..dem cyan show di fat tourist dem nuff historical sites....including nuff mass grave, croc pits, escape tunnels & chainsaw massacre sites

Den wash dat dung wid some iconut wata an' some ah Johnny flavorful jerk chicken

Maaad tings!!!!

How Pops? Nuh too si him 'round di Bar recently

Sarcasm aside ,it worked and is working,its a problem that if Ja gets serious they have to deal with,the post independence policy of gentrifying by extrajudicial killings have resulted in garrisonization when compounded with the politics for scare resources, it cant only be about Ian fleming,errol flynn and Ochi.Jamiaca has alot more to offer ,chain saw and all.

The favelas in Brazil are tourist attractions.

Have some integrated community development unno joke it out