Blacks' Babylon Blues

Do job-seekers with 'white' names get more callbacks than 'black' names?

By Katie Sanders on Sunday, March 15th, 2015 at 6:29 p.m.

Jalen Ross, student council president at the University of Virginia, on CNN's "State of the Union."
    The Sunday shows capped a turbulent week for race relations around the country, from the shooting of two officers in a new wave of protests in Ferguson, Mo., to the closing of a University of Oklahoma fraternity over racist chants.

CNN’s State of the Union invited four student leaders to talk about what the next generation can do to improve the dialogue. University of Virginia student council president Jalen Ross pointed out that the most common examples of racial discrimination aren’t limited to dramatic moments that make headlines.

"Every day, a black-name resume is 50 percent less likely to get responded to than a white-name resume," Ross said. "Right? That’s everyday racism."

Ross may not be the typical politician who meets our Truth-O-Meter, but we thought his point was interesting and telling about the state of race relations if true.

Ross told PolitiFact by email that he was referencing a field study from the National Bureau of Economic Research called "Are Emily and Greg more employable than Lakisha and Jamal?" The study is more than a decade old, published July 2003. Economists Marianne Bertrand and Sendhil Mullainathan wanted to explore racial bias in the job market.

They responded to help-wanted ads for a variety of positions in the fields of sales, administrative support, clerical services and customer services posted in The Boston Globe and Chicago Tribune with fake resumes. The researchers plugged in made-up names on the resumes that are associated with African-Americans (they used Lakisha Washington and Jamal Jones as examples) or whites (Emily Walsh and Greg Baker) based on naming data for babies born between 1974-79 in Massachusetts. The name on each resume was randomly assigned, so the same resume in some cases had a black name and in others had a white name.

Then they counted the callbacks.The resumes with white-sounding names spurred 50 percent more callbacks than the ones with black-sounding names.
    After responding to 1,300 ads with more than 5,000 resumes, the researchers found that the job applicants with white names needed to send 10 resumes to get one callback, but the black candidate needed to send 15 for one.

It didn’t matter whether the employer was a federal contractor or was described as an "equal opportunity employer," as those also discriminated like the others
    It also helps to use the phone system default as your voice mail instead of you voice. Let the employers see you and interview you before making a decision.

Well, I can clearly see why some would do that. However, that would be so antithetical to my personal beliefs.

We Jamaicans excel overseas because we learn the rules and apply them!!!!!!!

Ok. That explains why I struggled then and now!

Stoni...I bow to credible data i.e. science. The source of the science is IRRELEVANT. I believe in the value of the scientific method to the extent that I spend much of my free time figuring out how to bring the BEST examples of appropriate BABYLON science & technology applications to yutes in Jamaica's education system.

Suh dis science ting is not nuh theory fi mi...is practical reality
            Science cudda come from Nazi Germany...mi nuh bizniz as long as it credible. Suh back off yuh foolfool Babylon argument

The sad reality for you is that the authors of the study have expert science on their side. What you have is merely the gross ignorance of a Delusional Rum Bar Yapper with ZERO accomplishment or credibility in labor economics.

Consequently there is no reason to grant your weird views any credibility beyond being mildly humorous

Now kindly tek whe yuh eediat, ignorant self outa Big Man argument.
            Last edited by Don1; November 12, 2015, 03:36 PM.

Tell mi, Stoni, you say the study used fake resumes. How else could they have done it?

TIA

Yuh nuh si Stoni delusional or punch drunk from mi Tims tuh im cranium??

Mi tap aks dat question now ar gi dat di benefit ah any doubt.

There's no doubt dat di guy is a Nut Job ...a Historian type...but wid more jumbled sentences

Originally posted by Time View Post
                We Jamaicans excel overseas because we learn the rules and apply them!!!!!!!
                Absolutely incorrect

We excel by being bold...and not accepting artificial limitations or Babylon BullShiit

You love call yourself name, you nuh have no self respect, he who has no self respect continue to disrespect everybody else, you add no value to any argument. You come in like a burnt out ember slowly fading into oblivion. Leave de place man!

Stoni, ansa mi lilly question above nuh please?

Nice question Mosiah, yuh went to a good school and come from decent place, ask proper questions when you want to understand more.

If it was me then there are many possibilities, first and largest repository of that kind of data is one of the biggest employment sources, public employees, they make up about 20% of us employment, one in five, a wide swath across city, state, federal, regional, much of that data most of it as per employment stats is available by open records access, you ask for the data government pretty much gives you as long as you pay cost of material.
                      The other places you could go is working with state agencies employment services who deal with all people seeking unemployment payment, that covers a wide swath of people across class, race, ethnic backgrounds, that data us also available by open records access, then there are hundreds no thousands of tertiary institutions across USA that are open to studies of these kind, you don't need all you just need a few representative of a wide cross section of race, class, region etc etc.

Nuff possibilities, they were lazy, wanted quick results with limited work. Thus contrived data and a narrow sliver of the recruitment market.

Mo I have done some pretty heavy duty studies and it is heavy lifting and hard work, from farm workers across southern parishes to unbanked people across every sector of the Jamaican population, all some hilltop you never know bout to studies of all kinds in Texas and NYC. At the end of the day every social scientist worries the mist about real, meaningful and relevant data and does all in power to ensure dem tings not compromised.

Why can't all conversations be normal like this.

Stoni yuh ah strait eediat. Tek whe yuh eediat self before mi start really boxbox yuh up..

Memba mi tole yuh seh fi mi Tims nuh join Church yuhnuh

But Stoni, how does one ensure that the only variable is the name if you don't use fake emails?

Yuh nuh si Stoni ah eediat???

Woooiieee mi Belly!!!!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                              Mo I have done some pretty heavy duty studies and it is heavy lifting and hard work, from farm workers across southern parishes to unbanked people across every sector of the Jamaican population, all some hilltop you never know bout to studies of all kinds in Texas and NYC. At the end of the day every social scientist worries the mist about real, meaningful and relevant data and does all in power to ensure dem tings not compromised.

Why can't all conversations be normal like this.
                              LOL!!!!!!!! Ah yuh CV dis??

What rubbish!!!

Ha-ha, you is a simpleton to rahtid, why am I spending time with your foolishness.