Just a quick question on etiquette and behaviour

• Just a quick question on etiquette and behaviour

I believe as Jamaicans we were told from a young age to cover our mouths when we yawn or cough. Re the yawn, is this a Jamaican thing? Because clearly it appears Americans have never practised such a thing.

Has anyone else ever noticed?

It's just good manners. I don't know if it's a Jamaican thing though. Since recently I've learnt to cough and sneeze into the crook of my elbows which is more effective in spreading less germs.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I've been in small elevators in the US with another person who decides to yawn brawlingly almost directly into my face. And, of course, several times throughout the day, regardless of their environs or the setting, people in America will buss the most gaping yawn.

I don't know if they are American or from other cultures but I find I can almost tell you're from the Caribbean if you covered your mouth when yawning.

Etiquette? This forum? Might as well yuh ask bricktop!

Most Americans are told but like many Jamaicans don't follow it unless they are caught.