• Master drummer Desi Jones on his career and the

resurgence of live music.

http://onpointpress.net/?p=4106

I am hearing enough of the veterans make statements like this now to believe it must be true. Good to know that real musicians can start eating a food again.

Jones reflected on the last 15 years when the “drum computer thing was the craze until after a while they realized that the live drum is the best thing so now we are getting back to the acoustic sound.

When I was on tour recently all of the musicians were students or graduates of the Jamaica School of Music. Everything is live again and it’s only in some genres like hip hop that they use computerized drums,” he said.

A very cool and talented dude.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

"On tour". We need them in the studio to lead the way.
      Creativity in the music is need most. I know the tour pay the bills right now but the studio work credit is what gives retirement and the creativity will make the music last.

Big up Desi everytime.

I hear you but what I hear him saying is that studio music now is basically promotion work, because nobody is buying it. It looks like the current model is to produce the music cheaply using the digital technology and then go out on tour and play it live to make the money. That seems to be what the reggae revival youths are doing.

That is not as good as a permanent studio band but I think if more trained and talented musicians are making a decent living from playing live music then eventually some of them will want to produce good studio music as well. At least I hope so.

There is a mixture. Good work are been produced but the creativity on the music side is a little lacking. When last you hear a standout piece of musical? When last you see a musical in the charts?

Reggae music right now is selling a little better than a few years ago. I hope it continue to grow, but you never know when one can hit it big, get movie rights etc. and that is where the pension comes in of the royalties.

No doubt these are good performing musicians, but we need them to think and put it on wax, like Desi and Chalice, people had to stop and take notice of the drumming and sometimes just want to hear the riddim alone.

Know a yute name wade Johnson come from a talented family in a di Clarendon hills and he is well well in demand on tours and in studio ... Toured with Jessie Royal .... Seen him play for Beenieman as well ...

yeah man good. We need some good studio musician. The computer drumming kinda lazy, and repetitive. While it is cheaper it doesn't have the edge the live drum has in my opinion. Nothing beat a good drummer and bassy a step on it, in some good Reggae music.

Him hah ah direct contribution to di ting as well, him yout ah bassie inna Zinc Fence Ban. Dem youts yah ah mek nuff noise an is ah portion ah dem. Big tings in store. All vogue magazine ah gi di resurgence a strength innah dem magazine jus fi show what a gwaan.