We a get left behind...
What I know is that Jamaica is not really poor.
A typical lower middle class family in the 1970s bobbed and weaved tpo balance their household bills each month and invested in upward mobility…education/books/ family well being, etc.
Nowadays, i am sure nuff "ghetto" people have more disposable cash that is wasted on frivolities like Dance/fashion/fancy electronics like big scream tvs. This is the real problem and this money comes from remittances/Juggs/scams and racketeering. The value system gone to hell for too many people.
I don't doubt yuh.
The reason we think jam is so bad is because wi standards are high. We were raised when prevailing values were different, so we see all the undesirable things and wish for old time Jamaica. However, many things have progressed even as many have collapsed. We are far less orderly and disciplined and are spoiled with Aid money and remittances keeping the island afloat. The people by and large get lazy and the businessmen far to complacent and self satisfied. Economic fire has left our belly and Guvvament don't help as the few enterprising young people face an uphill battle everywhere den turn. From financing, to red tape to costly visas fi go anywhere outside the island, to bad reputation, den can hardly catch a break.
I believe you are probably right about the poverty level in absolute terms, but little to none of it is due to anything on the part of Jamaicas policy makers, it is more to do with the world economy. Clothes, electronics and such things are cheaper in inflation adjusted terms than they have ever been.
So when PJ said more man have car, phone and gyal than ever before, he was actually correct but the credit for those things were not due to his government.
What is happening now is we are growing at 1% rate while most of the developing world has been growing high single digits. Yes we started at a higher level than many of them so they have't all caught up yet but if this trend lasts another 15 years things are going to look very different."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Ahm.. Since 1970, Jamaica has the World Record for non-growth.
Underground Economy aside (another side effect of poor economy) we gave up any momentum a loooong time ago...
World Record dem seh ! Suh is not ongly track and field duh dem tings..