• Number one problem with tourism

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...rings_19233804

What does the tourist want to experience?

shopping, historical sites/museums and pleasing surroundings...(3) things that jamaica is woefully lacking in...i told you guys years ago about my cruise ship experience...the guests HATED jamaica...the captain's would skip the jamaica port any opportunity they could get...

The powers that be focus on building rooms and take it for granted that the sun, sand and sea will automatically draw tourists to Jamaica. Jamaica has so much more to offer than any other island but we are p!ssing away our blessings.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

sun...sand & sea is all you need for an all inclusive hotel...cruise passengers need more...they have probably been to 3 port of calls previous to docking in jamaica with sun...sand & sea...

mexican ports have shopping districts where yuh can walk without nobody harassing you & spend sh!tloads of money...

A lot of the All Inclusive guest needs more. if we give them the information, they will visit. Also cruise is a gateway to longer stay. If cruise tourist love it, it is easier to sell them on their next vacation. Falmouth and Ochi are ideal towns to have cruise destination as but as you say people want more.

and without the constant harassment and generally unattractive destination towns.

A bit misleading , it should specify curising. I wonder what the comparison would be to people who actually had a hotel stay. I share Bricky experience when on a cruise and stop in Jamaica with Cayman the next port on the next day and the senitment by the ship tour folks was wait for Cayman and dont waste time with Jamaica. Now at the time it was free port which has nothing compared to the Ports in most of the Carribean which has shopping districts, or affordable tours. I think we need to find actiities and understand we dont have a monopoly on sun and sand . And if you have boutht one figurine and teach shirt you dont want to see another.

Dem still need our potable water though and that saves our butt.

We ghave all the History we need in ad around Kgn, which SHOULD be the top cruise port stop in Jamaica.

We are still sleeping.

Jamaica currently looks rundown/shopworn..

shopping, historical sites/museums and pleasing surroundings...(3) things that jamaica is woefully lacking in...i told you guys years ago about my cruise ship experience...the guests HATED jamaica...the captain's would skip the jamaica port any opportunity they could get...
                        I agree Bricki. After Bob Marley, ganja, Bolt, and jerk, then what?. Quite frankly there isn't much more to distinguish from other countries with white sand beaches.

What??? We have mountains, vegetation, an elaborate road network that goes everywhere, unique culture and vibe, many waterfalls, thermal/mineral baths that SHOULD be the best in the world, potentially magical places like Pt Royal, Span Town Sq, Falmouth, Kgn Waterfront, Junction road, unique food, and a host of other things.

Jamaica is real full sized country and that distinguishes us from smaller island states, yet still we have cultural differences to the bigger islands and Mexico.

We just dont put our best foot forward. We are still sleeping.

We are p!ssing away our blessings me seh. For the land of Reggae music, we have nothing tangible to show our visitors except the Bob Marley museum in Kingston. No regular live reggae shows for those who stays for more than 2 days. We are rich in sporting achievements. Where can a visitor go to learn about that. Tourists want to feel safe and to walk about, sit down and eat a nice plate of food in a nice atmosphere.
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

And the landscape!

However, we trying to ruin it everyday.
                              Do we deserve this precious land?