The end of the world is here, Sass - Tesla autopilots!

I hope you and your Model T are getting on just dandy!

So tell me, why you drive any car at all then?

I mean the brakes and gas gauge might be faulty and dem look the other way, nuh true?

Look like him tek a steamship from JA come a farrin! Him woulda never fly inna one a dem auto-pilot iron bird sitten.

yep, Personally there are a lot of electronics I would rather not have in my car, and knowing the rate circuit boards and chip malfunction and programming defects, I would still need a driver.

As a driver if the brakes malfunction you can pull the emergency brake or take evasive action and that is why I said I feel comfortable with a driver in the car with this technology.

I never said I wouldn't use it.

You think moving metal parts rubbing together are safer from failure than electronics?

Really Sass?

You are asking the electronics parts to do everything that a human would do in a relative safe and thinking manner. I can't think of the amount of thought and code that goes into that.

Sass, EVERYBODY will feel more comfortable with a driver as we get used to this technology. That is human nature and instinct, nothing wrong with that.

Its the same reason we are usually less comfortable in a plane than on the highway even though all statistics show that we are more likely to be killed on the highway.

Where we go off track is when we try to make an argument that because we FEEL less safe, then it must BE less safe.

So what is the problem with what I was saying??? It was made a big deal then. I said I don't think the technology is there yet and it needed some assistance. I only commented on "driverless cars". Please take note of that.

The problem is you said (and say) " I don't think the technology is there yet " when in fact it is.

What is not here yet is the physical infrastructure, human comfort level and legal systems that are needed to support it.

If some roads don't have proper markings what that haffe do with the driverless car technology itself?

If a country don't have an airport or control tower does that mean airplane technology is "not there yet"?

From all my reading it is still having problems in cities and navigating roads and conditions it is not use to. You can't prove otherwise.

From my little background in technology this will not be proven until it is used on a regular basis and even more coding is done to reflect conditions that the engineers and programmers never even thought about. This will include simple things that humans do. Why you talking about planes??? Have you seen an autopilot land a plane yet??? Why not???

Ahhm, yes there are autonomous drones that land themselves without even remote control. They just aren't used commercially.

The question is why is that???

For one it may need quick thinking and change based on condition.

Things change day to day and it may need a human intervention and that is my point.

From all my reading it is still having problems in cities and navigating roads and conditions it is not use to. You can't prove otherwise.

From my little background in technology this will not be proven until it is used on a regular basis and even more coding is done to reflect conditions that the engineers and programmers never even thought about. This will include simple things that humans do. Why you talking about planes??? Have you seen an autopilot land a plane yet??? Why not???
                            Sass, in conditions of low to zero visibility, what do you think lands the aircraft? If you can't see the tip of the wing, you think the pilot can?

Stay deh!

Quick thinking? You think a human can analyze and make a decision quicker than a computer? Sass nuh easy at all.

Again , the complications are not primarily technical. They are a multitude of other things like ethical decisions and who takes responsibility for them. There have to be guidelines for what a machines should do if there are no good outcomes. For example, killing passengers vs pedestrians. Damaging property vs Breaking the Law and who pays for the decisons made.

Those are not things that have not been thought of yet, they are things that we do not know how to deal with yet.

Quick thinking? You think a human can analyze and make a decision quicker than a computer? Yes if the computer not program to do this. The computer can only be program for what the programmers allow them to do and nothing else.

Stay there and think the only condition is legality.