While we in JA a struggle fe build Highway 2000

Long time I said this and there was a plan for this from the 1970s…nutten happen yet.

Thanks that is a part of it too, but no reason every bus from country have to head in the heart of Kingston.

In other words we have to limit the movement of people in Kingston and those coming in and give them better options.

our choice of heroes..

Ask the forum wheh dem tink bout Manley..

That will answer all your questions..

How much vote and how much election dat can win ?

Yuh tink Highway 2000 project was about solving transportation issues ??

lol ! woiee !

Yard give black man a bad name... crying shame..

Mendicants..

All you need to know about yard Lee Kuan Yew spelled out in 1 paragraph..

Took him about 2 weeks to analyze.

Denial is a b1tch..

No disrespect intended, but nuh dem people yah did a dead fe hungry not too long ago?

WTF is wrong with Jamaica why it can't progress , and why are we Jamaicans so ****** arrogant with our failures?
              That's the operative word, ARROGANT.

Careful. It's a matter of scales. Ethiopia's debt ratio to Ja's is about 6 to one (when looking at building infrastructure). As you know China is bearing 80 percent of the cost to build it. Therefore China is doing the design and engineering. The key point is the source of energy (which Ja lacks at this point). I don't know if you know this; China and the US are building a hydroelectric dam at the head of the Nile (which is in Ethiopia). This got Egypt very upset, to the point where Egypt threatened to bomb the dam. US got Egypt to calm down. This dam will power these trains hence lowering energy cost. Ja on the other hand is struggling with energy cost with no real resource in sight to stem the cost.

Now this debt will be passed on to Ehtiopia's children, children whilst China's children , children will be collecting on it. All because of not focusing on Education.

The time has come for Ja to pivot away from the hospitality industry as it is now mature (according to a leader from Mobay) enough to stand on its own. Ja should focus on info tech. with emphasis on computer programming and its science. This will give the island a real middle class. One cannot build an economy on scamming. As you can see the scammers are aping the middle by buying certain cars and homes in upper middle clas neighborhoods (west gate hills,Ironshore Coral gardens etc). I posted an article on math. which was loaded with info (though hidden) about the region, instead of acceptance it was ridiculed.
                Last edited by Jawge; October 13, 2015, 08:16 PM.

Certain types of infrastructure is vital to a countries economic development. Roads, energy supplies and public transportation are a big part of that. If those investments open up new economic opportunity, or allow services to be delivered more efficiently then the debt taken on is worth it.

From http://www.tradingeconomics.com/

Jamaica recorded a Government Debt to GDP of 132.72 percent in 2014.

Ethiopia recorded a Government Debt to GDP of 28.60 percent in 2014.
                  Jamaicas debt to GDP ratio is 5 times higher than Ethiopia. Is that the point you were making about the debt ratios of both countries? If so, what does Jamaica have to show in terms of infrastructure and services for its much higher debt ratio?

Watch Jawge duck now. LOL

No, I said in terms of infrastructre; meaning highway 2000 pales in terms of cost to the "light train" and the rail mixed with the highway. I won't even bring in the cost of the dam (energy supply). This debt will be passed on to generations of Ethiopians. Please be reminded that 80% of the loan for this huge project comes from China.

I'm sorry if my point was not clear. These days I take pains to bring my point across; as most times I'm assuming people understand what's on my mind.

Do you realize that these people will pay train fare? and pay taxes. They will be more productive as they get to work faster and can produce more. Hopefully the they have little or no interest rate.

You have no concern for the amount of debt we have to pay for our roads and the amount we waste.

But Jawge, if with all these projects Ethiopia still only have a 28% debt to GDP ratio, why is this a bad thing? Will the light train open up possibilities for more people to live outside the city? Will it reduce transporation costs for people? Will the building of the dam allow businesses in the country to be more competitive globally? I don't know all the answers but it seems to me those are the relevant issues, not simply that they took on debt for the Chinese.

Most macroeconomists see a debt to GDP ratio of less than 40% as comfortable for developing nations.

Meanwhile Jamaica has a ratio greater than 100% with little to show for it.

Boss you are talking a diffrent thing.I'm not talking GDP. I'm talking raw numbers to improve the infrastructure. Ethiopia has natural resources to offset what you are talking about.
                            To make point; say the train and highway cost 24k and ja highway cost 6k (all in chinese loans) now Eithiopa in terms GDP can offset this by giving the chinese minerals (which is really what they are after) therefore masking the cost. Either way it's going to surface in the long run. This comes about because Eithiopa does not have the expertise run these massive projects.

Notice USA surfaces in the Dam project? It takes certain expertise in cooling the concrete for the dam which China does not have at present.

Your talk on the light train and what it will do for the people given Ethopia's POPULATION size, yes. The light train needs an energy source and that's where the Nile comes in. Does Ja have a river equal to the Nile? No. Therefore at this point Ja can do without the light train (or increase the import of oil then levy heavy taxes on the people).

The Highway that runs from Mandeville to KGN; when's the last time it's backed up in traffic? If an accident occurs is this highway backed up in traffic? This says a lot trust me.

Sass the dam will lower the cost to operate and maintain the train. I do have concern about Ja's debt notice what I said about Ethiopia's children children? The same applies to Ja and France (who built Ja's highway).

Who do you think I'm here preaching that education is national security?

Not saying we need specifically a light train, maybe we do, maybe we don't I have not run the numbers. What we need is good public transportation. The highway project has certainly delivered some relief but not nearly enough yet.

Similarly, a dam is but one source of energy as you well know. We have riduculously high energy costs in JA right now and we have not made much progess in solving it.

Bottom line is, Jamaica has little to show for its 100%+ debt to GDP ratio. Mostly wasted money.