yes he did...

it has been made...ad nauseam...starting to sound like begging now...

so we should abandon it?

cut the doublespeak,,,should they abandon the movement for reparations?

a weh di? how much clearer can i be...we deserve reparations...we are not going to be given reparations...we need to build a self sufficient black nation & then take our reparations...

Lotto scamming?!!

Focus on what is important and probable.

Mek dem keep dem razz money.

We must get serious and bootstrap and depend on no other but ourselves.

We have lots of real friends, but very little ambition.
                We have become beggar nation.

What the razz we gwine do with di money even of get get it?

What is the plan…more of the same effry as we have been keeping up?

That blood stained money would be a further curse.

Mek dem move dem warra warra. WE need to grow up and grow some balls.

disagree for the most part ... do agree that we need to pull up our bootstraps. don't see the 2 as mutually exclusive.

who are these "real friends"?

Focus on what is important and probable.

Mek dem keep dem razz money.

We must get serious and bootstrap and depend on no other but ourselves.

We have lots of real friends, but very little ambition.
                      We have become beggar nation.
                      Is Jamaica the only country seeking reparations?

The reason why I tried to stay away from this thread is, whereas PJ wrote a commendable piece,it fell woefully short at addressing a more urgent issue,I would have loved to hear his say on Cameron having his way with our nation as it seeks to right a wrong..?
                        Portia has made a cluster of mistakes,the first time people became aware of prison matter was when a foreign prime minister made the announcement on our soil,no evidence how we feel is valued.Then in a desperate act of retrofitting,the PNP throws out there that JP opinion matters even though the proposal is almost certain to pass the first stage (that is their plan)because of voting majority..enjoyed by the PNP,do we feel like we have a say,and that say matters?
                        I think we should refocus on the most urgent issue.

Do I care about other countries?

Costa Rica/Kuwait (cause we fuss protest against Saddam)/Mexico/Venezuela (Carta de Jamaica)/many-many African countries/Holland/New Zealand/Uruguay/Panama/Cuba/Brazil/Argentina somewhat/Chile/Columbia/Singapore & Malaysia somewhat/ China (original 1 China supporter)/ India and Japan somewhat/ Switzerland & Germany & Scandinavia somewhat/ Saudi somewhat/ Korea somewhat/ and a few others.

The "somewhat" countries could be much better developed as allies and the others are already bonified due to unique historical quirks. Do you have any idea of how many offers of joint development we have spurned from these countries?

Point is you can ask for reparations from a moralistic point of view, but dont depend on getting anything and indeed, any kind of payout may even be WORSE. What do you expect if Hinglan drops say £5B on Jamaica right now as reparations? It would be a feast for the Ticians and nothing for the people. It would be most vulgar pig drinking first and most at the trough...it would be ugly.

Mek us organize and work hard and most importantly smart to achieve prosperity the slow/hard way where we will appreciate it more and it will endure for-i-ver...

THAT is where the bulk of our energies should focus.

When I see a PM of 14 years who presided over unparallel decline in which he did not appear to have any energy or gusto, suddenly find energy and verve to demand reparations...that tells me all I need to know. We have our priorities wrong and we have allowed charlatans to rule the roost.

that is unusually simplistic from you willi .... reparations does not have to be bulk payment ..... it can be "value" ... there is much work to do on this issue and its worth doing in my opinion. I can agree that it should not be to the detriment of growing the economy, but it does deserve some energy.

you do when you think they can assist, how is this consolidated effort any different?