Robotics is done as a school Club..a co-curricular activity

Robotics need Teachers. It needs people who can write program, It needs designers and then hardware and materials. It Need CAD/Catia/Solidworks/Enovia for example and people who can use it for a starter to design and that is the basic. Not to mention people who are going to write many lines of codes for it to achieve anything much. You may also need people who have project management experience.

STEM gives a basic introduction and that is fine but if you talking Robotics, it is a whole nada tory.
    JC has a VERY successful robotics program... Guess what

JC has ZERO "robotics" teachers trained in that discipline. The teachers are there to organize the boys and ensure discipline, focus and admin support. We've had English teachers overseeing this technical program

The students master the game challenge requirements themselves, build their initial models, iterate until they find a good solution to the challenge, code the operating software to manage the machine...and complete build & test

Students do this on their own with no teacher telling them what to do or how to do it...

This is done with parts costing US$1500 or less (reusable so it's a one time capital expense) on a game field they build themselves to spec.

So I can have a robotics lab set up anywhere in JA for ~US$2K, a 150 sq ft room and a couple laptops with web access

Now...some old fogey like you may find this "complex" or "expensive" now that it's been broken down for you...but children find it only challenging & engaging ...far moreso than any traditional "science" subject.

They're engaged while learning PRACTICAL, REAL WORLD SKILLS ...that can put them on a fast track to great careers

Before you assume things...ask questions if you're unaware.

Ignorance is not a crime
    Last edited by Don1; October 8, 2015, 11:26 AM.

Listen, I think you are doing something good and I have no problem with that. The problem is everybody who question anything about you is an "Idiot"
      and that was why I responded.

You think people ignorant but remember "Tom drunk but him nuh fool"

Again you talking basic robotic kids.

Johnny when you're ignorant of something ...ask questions

Ignorance is not a crime

and I have no problem with that and Don1 could do a better job explaining rather than if questions ask, everybody a "fool or lack knowledge".

Yes providing this helps and is a very good start, no doubt.

Usually there is a teacher or adult supervisor involved who has some basic STEM knowledge though. Its not a requirement but I would say recommended especially in the startup phase.

Once there is some experience in place and knowledge transfer among the youngsters is routine, that becomes less important.

people ask and the first thing out of your mout is "Dem a fool" or lack knowledge like a only you one have it.
              You notice I have never said one bad word about the program you are implementing??? But you can't but everything everybody don't agree or question to them lacking knowledge or they are fools.

Again "Tom drunk but Tom nuh fool" as my granny use to tell me.

and I have no problem with that and Don1 could do a better job explaining rather than if questions ask, everybody a "fool or lack knowledge".

Yes providing this helps and is a very good start, no doubt.
                Prof Johnny you jumped in the argument with a conclusion that was based on ignorance...I guess you wished to support that My Yout fellow who was spouting rubbish. Suh mi nuh muss battabeat yuh?

I've been explaining this subject here for YEARS ad infinitum since so many bad-minded or ignorant folks have been critical. Mi nuh muss get tiyad ah unnu wen unnu come wid more ignorance?? Yuh tink man patience endless??

But ah wha dis Faada

your argument is based on ignorance as you have no idea if MyYout, Me or anyone else have experience in robotics, STEM. You fallacy is based on the idea that nobody else have no knowledge and it is all badmind.

It is all within you my friend but nothing is new, you win both sides of the argument at all times.

Usually there is a teacher or adult supervisor involved who has some basic STEM knowledge though. Its not a requirement but I would say recommended especially in the startup phase.

Once there is some experience in place and knowledge transfer among the youngsters is routine, that becomes less important.
                    Startup ..yes some expertise is needed for a month or 2 and an occasional visit after from the tech resource

Otherwise kids just run wid it demself

People hear the word "robotics" and all of a sudden dem tink Star Trek or maybe...NASA tings. For some reason they don't stop to ask pertinent questions though