"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Expect more of this. The English never could handle the culpability thing. I have a different take. What if unbeknownst to us they are quite concerned about this reparation thing picking up steam. More prisons to come?
Ahhhhh yuh seeit,slavery is half of it what about colonialism,nothing more than legal a legal caste shitstem.They will make the counter argument that we mucked it post Independence, so we have to make the case that they didn't prepare us for Independence I.e colonialism.
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
It will gather steam ....on both ends,reparations for me is all about developing infrastructure and that include schools,I am not into giving government or individuals money.
"...the monotonous whining by Jamaica’s reparations lobby perpetuates the sense of victimhood, mendicancy and entitlement."
Ain't nobody begging dem shyt!
Were the Jews seen as such? Perhaps not, because they didn't have to fight for theirs. As for the former slave owners, they must have been pleasantly surprised to see money at their doors when they lost their property.
Reparations in whatever sense makes every sense and should be pursued.
Our screwed up governments have nothing to do with whether we deserve it or not. The bigger concern is how will our incompetent governments make use of any reparations that may come their way?
Our mucking it up was a design called colonialism,slavery is half of it,colonialism was just as bad some would argue.We can't fall for the trap that it's all about slavery,it giving the impression that we had a fair start post slavery,weren't we indentured for 4years to pay for the abolition of slavery? Weren't the black masses Impoverished in a caste/aparhate/classist shitstem called colonialism.
Mental degradation to breed self hate schizophrenia, as if that didn't play a part in mucking it up.
Our mucking it up was a design called colonialism,slavery is half of it,colonialism was just as bad some would argue.We can't fall for the trap that it's all about slavery,it giving the impression that we had a fair start post slavery,weren't we indentured for 4years to pay for the abolition of slavery? Weren't the black masses Impoverished in a caste/aparhate/classist shitstem called colonialism.
Mental degradation to breed self hate schizophrenia, as if that didn't play a part in mucking it up.
Exactly!
Is like how some Americans want to talk about slavery ending 150 years ago when Jim Crow, which was almost as bad, ended just 50 years ago. And with the "formal" ending of these regimes, the attitudes and prejudices remain.
Reparations mi seh!
Yep. Increase the pressure on these British thieves.