• the pnpyo is correct

Latest News
    PNPYO urges Gov’t to reject UK’s £25-m prison gift

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller greets British Prime Minister David Cameron with a hug on his arrival at Norman Manley International Airport in Kingston yesterday. Looking on in the receiving line are Opposition Leader Andrew Holness (second right) and Minister of Water, Land, Environment and Climate Change Robert Pickersgill. (PHOTO: BRYAN CUMMINGS)

KINGSTON, Jamaica – The People’s National Party Youth Organisation (PNPYO) says it is urging the Government to reject the offer of £25 million from British Prime Minister David Cameron for the construction of a prison in Jamaica.

The facility is to house Jamaicans currently incarcerated in England under a transfer deal to complete their sentences in the island.

The PNPYO says the proposed £25 million represents only 40 per cent of the projected cost of the prison, and the Government and people of Jamaica would be expected to provide the additional 60 per cent or about $6.75 billion.

The organisation said that even if the proposal was for the UK to provide the full economic cost for the construction of this facility, the Government should still reject the proposal as the maintenance cost would still be exorbitant.

“If we were to conservatively assume that this facility would house 500 inmates at any given time, a rough back of the envelope calculation of a maintenance cost of J$2,000 per day/per inmate (JS2,000 x 365 days) would amount to J$730,000 per inmate per annum. At this rough estimate the housing of 500 inmates would cost the Government of Jamaica J$365M per year,” the PNPYO argued.

In addition to the direct expenses for construction and maintenance there are significant socio-economic costs for reintegrating deported Jamaicans in society after they have served their sentences.

Britain projects that if accepted the prison proposal will save its taxpayers an estimated £10 million per year when the transfer of inmates commences in 2020.

"These attendant costs will therefore be transferred to the taxpayers of Jamaica. If it is that the British authorities are insistent that the convicted Jamaicans serve the full extent of their sentences for whatever crimes they committed in the UK, we consider it the responsibility of the UK authorities, and reject any proposal which seeks to transfer this responsibility to Jamaica and the Jamaican taxpayers," the PNPYO said.

It added that, Jamaicans serve the full extent of their sentences for whatever crimes they committed in the UK, we consider it the responsibility of the UK authorities, and reject any proposal which seeks to transfer this responsibility to Jamaica and the Jamaican taxpayers.

When you see a story like this you can be sure that there is a backstory we are not hearing. All of this must have been obvious to the government, it is basic arithmetic.

I think you are right that the outrage is rising. Let's see how this one shake out.

Facebook already exploding and many of the erupts are PNP sympathizers.

This is hot button issue.
      I think the back story may have to do with money to tek in refugees? I can't think of anything else current and in the open, where the G8 would be looking to beg friend.

Benefits to Jamaica:

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lates...-m-prison-deal

There are substantial benefits that would accrue to Jamaica:

This new facility would allow the Department of Correctional Services to abandon the 17th and 19th century prisons that house thousands of Jamaican prisoners - most of whom are not hardened criminals - in harsh, overcrowded and dilapidated facilities.

The new facility will be designed and constructed with a focus on rehabilitation, which should reduce the high rates of recidivism that now occur. It will benefit from modern architectural design and equipment that will increase both security and operational efficiency.

Downtown Kingston will have the opportunity for a large greenfield redevelopment on the thirty acres of waterfront land now occupied by the prison. A similar opportunity for redevelopment would be provided in Spanish Town.

At t a full cost of GBP60m, we would have to find the other 35m and you know that is new debt.

With the sufferation what a gwaan, how many will be satisfied with that. Plus there is maintenance cost for the 700 inmates them going to ship to us which will save England 10m a year. Let us say that is GBP5m annual spending in Jamaica.

You see the pressure on the budget…and this is assuming that the new facilities will host all that is in GP plus the Inglan 700+.

Mi nuh born big suh!

Di money short.

More outrage?

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lette...s-job_19231484

What good is outrage without acting accordingly?

I'm not naïve; there's evil in the world. [BI'm not naïve; there's evil in the world. You can't refuse this offer without serious consequencesI'm not naïve; there's evil in the world. You can't refuse this offer without serious consequences, chiefly economic. But we must weigh what will be the greater consequence: coping with the social miscreants their society has created.

Sounds like a Michael Manley-like kind of approach is desired but then we can't afford to do that,right?

No, it sounds like we need to negotiate properly!

There is ZERO chance of a compromise,everyone is harping on the financial arrangement which really isn't the reason why it has to be flatly rejected,what to do then?

Its all about the benjamins. Enough of them and a fair deal can be reached for all concerned.

yuh caan sell yuh human rights,if a suh dwag nyam wi suppa.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

willi this is such an obvious 3 card trick it nuh funny!

1. we ask for reparations, we get offered funds for a prison;
                          2. the contribution to the prison is maybe 2/3 of the cost; guess who have to find the rest?
                          3. additional 5 million over 4 years (not sure what the annual cost will be but I suspect that it will not be enough not to mention when the time done)
                          4. it cost uk 27 million per annum dem seh to house Jamaican prisoners in the uk prisons, basically in one year UK will have removed that cost from themselves to us when the fact is that the crime was committed in the UK
                          5. on the note of where the crime was committed, we must now abridge the rights of our citizens and hold them in prison when they have committed no crime in Jamaica at the behest of Britain? and the cost of that is approximately 30 million (3 pieces of silver);
                          6. if they feel that way, why not just deport them upon conviction, I think I would prefer that;
                          7. going forward after the 5 years that cost will be solely ours
                          8. in the spirit of true partnership, ease up the restrictions on the visas nuh?

I think we would still have had to deal with the return of these convicts at some point. They would almost certainly have deported them eventually.

From what I have been reading a significant number of these prisoners are drug mules, not really violent criminals and not raised in the UK from a young age.
                            Last edited by Islandman; October 1, 2015, 10:58 AM.

agreed, but that would represent much less of a cost to the government really. whey dem don't just deport them after dem serve dem sentence?

I suspect that you will find that somewhere along the line they will want them to serve the entire sentence in Jamaica.