Britain to transfer prisoners to Jamaica

Comments:

Because those we have at the helm talking about emancipation, reparation and Jamaican republic, have neither an ounce of self-respect nor a care in the world for the rights of the Jamaican citizen. I hope those who are transferred back to this outsourced prison have an ounce of dignity left in them to sue the govt for being incarcerated within their own country without being charged, tried and found guilty of commiting a crime. This is worse than slavery.

Violation of human rights to unilaterally deport prisoners. They will win in the ICJ if they contest.

Does this have electoral implications?

People getting hot under the collar about it...

Dem muzzle yuh cousin!

Why exclude the press?

Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Dear Editor,

This is an open letter to the British High Commissioner, David Fitton:
          The Press Association of Jamaica (PAJ) writes to express our extreme disappointment at the failure to include any opportunity for the press to ask questions of British Prime Minister David Cameron during his visit to Jamaica.
          We regard Prime Minister Cameron's visit as one of great importance, involving as it does the visit of the head of government of a country whose ties with Jamaica are so long-standing, and are of such historical and contemporary significance.

We are well aware that it is the norm for such visits to include a joint press briefing with the host and visiting heads of government and indeed have observed Prime Minister Cameron's participation in several such briefings.
          It is against that background that we are registering the greatest possible disappointment and surprise on being informed by the Office of the Prime Minister that the British Prime Minister requested that there be no questions from the press.

We are confident that Prime Minister Cameron understands the healthy state of democracy in Jamaica and that an indispensable aspect of democracy is allowing the press access to political leaders. Indeed, he has given reporters in several other countries opportunities to engage in just this way.
          We have already written to Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller to point out our extreme dissatisfaction with this state of affairs and we are now respectfully requesting that your office brings this to the urgent attention of the office of the British Prime Minister, and facilitate a variation in his itinerary to include a press briefing.
          We await your response.
          Dionne Jackson Miller
          President
          Press Association of Jamaica
          pressassociationjamaica@gmail.com

Sister, not cousin.

Cameron say him nah answer nuh question bout reparation and the prison "gift". LOL!
            Last edited by Islandman; September 30, 2015, 10:14 AM.

Is it that the press got what they deserve???

They haven't interview our PM since she took office, Many times they get no response from the current cabinet so why would they think they can question world leader ????

Hold them corner. Sad but "libaty comes through carelessness" and mi naw talk Liberty.

Beggy beggy licky licky licky mentality coming home to roost. Bwaay come give you prison and you a tek picture and skin teeth. while him a tell you say him come fi ya gi prison him no come yah fi count reparation money. Joke.

Another question, why we can't question the Japanese PM as well??? Is this some new conduct?

Only Vaz, Warmi and Lisa, Crawford them can question???

Hope I do not offend you by saying this,yuh sister gorgeous bad bad!

Here is what one UK KC bredrin seh:

Something else is a foot her though, you don't get Obama, Cameron and the Japan PM all visiting Sister P in one year . And Jamaica is a wash of Chinese everywhere .

Is the old Oil story going to resurface

I wonder
                      ======================

And Princess Anne is here also
                      ==========================

something else is going on here

With all that's going on in Europe and refugee crisis in Syria .Cameron pulls himself to Jamaica to tell us hes making us a modern day Australia

Nah man

===============================
                      Gentlemen Cameron
                      didn't need to fly to Jamaica to tell us hes building a
                      prison . Actually ,
                      he didn't need to make that statement at all, he could
                      have had any one of his other Ministers make that statement

Sass, you can't interview someone who does not want to be interviewed.

The PM and her team makes every effort to avoid interviews and press conferences, and for good reason. That's why you get incidents like reporter pushing camera in her face.

Anyway it look like them decide to relent a bit.
                        Following the intervention of the PAJ, we were informed by the British High Commission that three members of the press were invited to ask questions of British PM David Cameron. Gary Spaulding of the Gleaner, Earl Moxam of RJR and Abka Fitz-Henley of Nationwide. We regret that Abka was unable to make it as we are informed that he received the call after 8, and due to heavy traffic and difficulties with accreditation, was unable to make it to the location on time. We do, however appreciate the fact that the British High Commission responded to our request.
                        Last edited by Islandman; September 30, 2015, 01:13 PM.

And that's why Cameron didn't take any questions. If yuh aks him a question, yuh going to have to ask Sister P a question tuh.

Dis is downright foolinish!

Portia, time to step, seriously!

Canmeron a catch hell back home fi even offer the 25m.

What a prekeh!

Lets see if Portia clever enuff to build the prison ah bush and turn round sell GP for $$$$ to tourism/industrial interests (Paulwell to him him cut, of course).
                            Termite cyan Nyam??

wooooiiiee mi double entendre!!!

No offense taken, but I think the compliment is best directed at her or her husband

He's asking you to relay the message for him.