• Rastas reject CCJ

Does this make sense?

THE Rastafari M i l l e n n i u m Council (RMC) says it is opposed to the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ), arguing that the court system, particularly in Jamaica, needs to be repaired before any thought is given to full participation in the regional entity.

“The justice system here, as reported by the justice minister and others, has one of the worst backlog of cases,” RMC Consultant Maxine Stowe told the Jamaica Observer yesterday.
    http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...09-29T00-32-26

OR rasta woman

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

wi need fi stop paper over the cracks in a system which was never designed for our well being

well this is a shock on a couple of levels, rasta reject him fellow Caribbean ites in favour of Babylon?

rasta has been associated with the more progressive agenda of the pnp but this is definitely counter pnp's position on this exact issue

Rasta want babylon justice too. LOL!!!

She's a sellout, simply that!

Who exactly does the RMC represent?!?!

Mi shame fi har!

Mi shame fi everybody involved inna this CCJ thing. One point she has and that is our justice system is in shambles. We need fi have our own but we ned to be in better state to better deliver justice.

That is no point that should affect the bigger picture. Everybody know bout dat!

Mosiah that is part of the problem. What is the bigger picture here???

Getting justice for the people is paramount. When you have X6 cases can't try, when you have Ninja man case can't try, when you have Trafigura case can't mention in court, amongst others, what do you expect people to think of their justice system. Some people think CCJ is just approving the current system.

Will it guarantee any of this??? I am sure if we had a better justice system there would be no argument whatsoever.

Good. CCJ is an abomination.

Myrie case showed us all we need to know.

Make a local privy council with 5 judges, 2 of which are farriners from the Commonwealth that can be rotated. Much cheaper and more aligned to Jamaican interests.

Tired of the poppyshow now.

Right Dread!! blessing in di name of his Imperial Majesty Jah Rasstafari. Dem fi learn fi dance ah yard fuss, nuh simple sup'mn dat.

funding is an issue for a local final court of appeal. the courts as they are now are underesourced both from a staffing point of view and a funding point of view.

I am in favour of the CCJ it's funding is established and outside of the tentacles of the governments and it currently has one uk Judge and a judge from the netherland antilles

In your view, what does X6 case have to do with final appellate court?

(Must be something in the Portland water. Sigh!)

Mi nuh truss dem. LoL