German Town: The Lost Story Of Seaford Town Jamaica
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.Tags: None
I rented it a few months ago. Not a particularly pleasant story, but worth a watch I think.
Seaford Town would have been better served if they had integrated themselves a long time ago but I guess the social pressure to resist doing so up until maybe 30 years ago must have been great."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
From my experience and vantage point, the Germans of St. Elizabeth are fully integrated in the society. They are so ubiquitous on the St. Bess landscape, especially in the south, that it would be difficult to be too racist or prejudiced against them. And if you don't know their origin (there is a story about Scottish migrants as well) at least they have the beautiful brown complexion that is the ideal in Jamaica. It is often said that St. Bess has the most beautiful girls in Jamaica. Trust me, the colour has something to do with that reputation.
I listen to them moping about losing their heritage, their language, their customs...well, welcome to the club, Hans!
It's interesting when you look at their names and try to see the German origin. My friend Fairman originally Fuhrmann, she tells me. Brown may have been derived from Braun, Eldemire from Edelmaier.
The documentary gives the impression that the Germaicans have all but disappeared. Well, the pure white ones, perhaps, but there are so many mixed descendants in South St. Elizabeth that would be very hard to be missed by the casual observer.
There is even another community in St. Bess where there is a high occurrence of deafness, allegedly by the in-breeding of some light-skinned people. When I went there around 30 years ago, most of the people in the community were not African. I suspect it would ave changed somewhat by now.
The other thing is, Seaford Town is not unlike many rural communities in Jamaica where the young have migrated for more urban settings or abroad. The fact is the arable land never left the hands of the slave owners and their family. Upon emancipation, slaves were tossed onto the worst land imaginable. No doubt, indentured labourers, and new migrants like the Germans, would have ended up on similarly horrible land. Certainly, when you pass thru Seaford Town, you wonder why in the world would anyone leave Europe, or indeed, anywhere in the world, to settle in that region. It is not surprising that there would be an exodus the first chance they get.
Interesting stuff!
"beautiful brown complexion"
No like da part yah, but good info still. thanks.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Post"beautiful brown complexion"
No like da part yah
Suh Brown cyaan beautiful?TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Assasin View Post"beautiful brown complexion"
No like da part yah, but good info still. thanks.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
not a judgement on you, mi nuh like how it sound, so mi tell you.
Nothing more. As mi say thanks fi the rest of the info.
Some people take them thing literally. I know you don't.Last edited by Assasin; September 27, 2015, 04:32 PM.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
By integrate I mean interbreed with people outside their small community of Germanic origin. Watching the documentary, it appears that there has been a lot of inbreeding in Seaford Town as well. Disproportionately high rates of mutes and deaf children. They spoke to an old "German" woman and she said they should never mix with black people. I have no doubt that she is not unusual for her generation."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass