Clive Clarke, brother of 47-year-old Maureen Bennett, is disputing the police’s version of why his sister was killed in Torrington Park on Thursday.
“Them kill mi sister because them say me is a informer to police. Some little boy, 14, 15, 16-year-old, rise up and a walk around the community and all want tell people when to come off the street and me and some other people rebel,” he said, adding that the situation has been ongoing for more than three years.
Police reported that the gunmen had gone in search of Bennett’s brother, but when they did not find him, they killed his sister and her seven-year-old daughter. In an exclusive interview with the Sunday Herald yesterday, Clarke, while admitting that he was indirectly responsible for the deaths, rubbished the allegation that he was a reputed area leader and that the gunmen had gone in search of him.
“Nothing no go so, because me no live a mi sister house. Me no eat a mi sister house, mi no sleep a mi sister house, so them couldn’t go there a look for me. People just a talk things but them no know nothing,” Clarke said.
He was adamant that his opposition to the gunmen was at the root of the dispute. Clarke said he was not a criminal and he was not hiding from either gunmen or the police.
“Mi a no criminal, me naah hide from police, but them want turn me inna criminal now because them kill off mi people them,” a very callous Clarke said.
He said since he has returned from the United States, where he had been living, he has tried to steer himself clear of criminal activities, but the recent tragedy has been overbearing on his emotions.
“Me never come back and a keep no gunman friend. Me company that me get involved with a big people company. Me naah walk and kill people and people kill me sister and mi niece,” Clarke said angrily.
He said whatever the conflict he had with the gunmen, his family should never have been targeted, and did not mince words in reminding the gunmen that they have families too.
“If a guy a hunt me, weh you a trouble me family for?” Clarke questioned. “Them must remember that them have people too,” he said. Clarke said Bennett was his only sister and Skyers was his favourite niece.
“A mi sister weh mi love so much and a mi best niece. Every morning she come around me yard before she go to school and if mi a sleep, she wake me up,” Clarke said.
He said he has not been able to eat since the tragedy. “Mi no eat from me sister dead. A just pure smoke me a smoke and drink. Me no have no appetite for food,” he said.
Clarke, who said he lost a brother in the United States just two weeks ago and recently lost a friend to violence, said his life has been plunged into the depths of hopelessness.
“Three murder in one month and none a them a no natural cause, a gunshot! Me have it up to me neck,” he said.
The recurring violence and deaths, he said, has left him a very hardened man.
“Them go kill me people them. Right now mi is a stone man. Mi heart harden. Mi life no come like nothing no more,” Clarke said, adding that others have been killed and he is prepared for anything.
This is precisely the reason there are so many incidents of ‘blood for blood’, but “me a try hold the peace as long as me can.”
“Them kill mi sister because them say me is a informer to police. Some little boy, 14, 15, 16-year-old, rise up and a walk around the community and all want tell people when to come off the street and me and some other people rebel,” he said, adding that the situation has been ongoing for more than three years.
Police reported that the gunmen had gone in search of Bennett’s brother, but when they did not find him, they killed his sister and her seven-year-old daughter. In an exclusive interview with the Sunday Herald yesterday, Clarke, while admitting that he was indirectly responsible for the deaths, rubbished the allegation that he was a reputed area leader and that the gunmen had gone in search of him.
“Nothing no go so, because me no live a mi sister house. Me no eat a mi sister house, mi no sleep a mi sister house, so them couldn’t go there a look for me. People just a talk things but them no know nothing,” Clarke said.
He was adamant that his opposition to the gunmen was at the root of the dispute. Clarke said he was not a criminal and he was not hiding from either gunmen or the police.
“Mi a no criminal, me naah hide from police, but them want turn me inna criminal now because them kill off mi people them,” a very callous Clarke said.
He said since he has returned from the United States, where he had been living, he has tried to steer himself clear of criminal activities, but the recent tragedy has been overbearing on his emotions.
“Me never come back and a keep no gunman friend. Me company that me get involved with a big people company. Me naah walk and kill people and people kill me sister and mi niece,” Clarke said angrily.
He said whatever the conflict he had with the gunmen, his family should never have been targeted, and did not mince words in reminding the gunmen that they have families too.
“If a guy a hunt me, weh you a trouble me family for?” Clarke questioned. “Them must remember that them have people too,” he said. Clarke said Bennett was his only sister and Skyers was his favourite niece.
“A mi sister weh mi love so much and a mi best niece. Every morning she come around me yard before she go to school and if mi a sleep, she wake me up,” Clarke said.
He said he has not been able to eat since the tragedy. “Mi no eat from me sister dead. A just pure smoke me a smoke and drink. Me no have no appetite for food,” he said.
Clarke, who said he lost a brother in the United States just two weeks ago and recently lost a friend to violence, said his life has been plunged into the depths of hopelessness.
“Three murder in one month and none a them a no natural cause, a gunshot! Me have it up to me neck,” he said.
The recurring violence and deaths, he said, has left him a very hardened man.
“Them go kill me people them. Right now mi is a stone man. Mi heart harden. Mi life no come like nothing no more,” Clarke said, adding that others have been killed and he is prepared for anything.
This is precisely the reason there are so many incidents of ‘blood for blood’, but “me a try hold the peace as long as me can.”