Michael Manley 101 - Why he did what he did

Thats why campaigns like "Buy American Cars" and all that make little sense in todays world. There are no American cars anymore, there are cars made in America and that includes BMWs, Toyotas and Hondas.

When people don't keep up with global trends they are left fighting wars that have radically changed or don't exist anymore.

The sustainability issue is real, but still very solvable. It is more of a geo-political problem than a technical one. We don't need to deprive ourselves of the things we love to have a sustainable planet, we just need to be smarter.

There is more than enough energy available to power an increasingly wealthier planet, it just can't come primarily from fossil fuels. There is more than enough food being produced to feed the planet, but we need to find more efficient ways of using the water and other resources required to grow it.

Some of the other problems like oligarchies and global conflict are more worrisome and I have no doubt that war is in our future as that is a part of human nature. There is also no doubt that the West is experiencing relative decline. I don't see that as a bad thing for most people, only the ones who believe that the West has a divine right to dominate the rest of the world.

Even with those threats, the world is a much better place to live in today for most people in the world than it was when I left school at the end of the 80s.
      Well the world may or may not be a better place than in the 1980s... but the data portends lots of possible avenues for big troubles.

Analyzing the troubles that can possibly arise and researching how to prepare for the worst my children, family, baby moddas, lady friends and brethren could face in an uncertain future....ah my ting dat
      Plus trying to prepare yutes for 21st century challenges...rather than those challenges the more evolved left behind in the 20th (standardized tests for example)

Suppose mi did know dat Babylon Financial Vultures wudda almost sink the planet into the toilet inna 2008?? Mi nuh wudda short di S&P indexed stocks like a few did??

Information...positive or negative...is power...suh ah dat mi ah defen'

nothing changed. From the bible days to now, always that possibility but somehow the world is still here.

LOL!! How philosophical... maybe you can afford philosophy

I cannot...so I choose preparation instead

"Cold pressed" or regular coconut oil?

Wars and rumors of war. LOL!!!

Venuzula and Guyana at it now, Watch out

Well it is always a good idea to have some kind contingency plan for the catastrophic event even if the odds of it happening are low.

The virtually unpredictable ones, so-called Black Swan events, are the ones that are most difficult to negotiate. You might not even want to survive some of those

Doesnt matter…Its the only safe oil to fry with.

Cold pressed is better in the absolute, but its not delicate like Omega 3 and 6 oils.

LoL

I recall that people used to say you are pranoid conspiracy nut due to the spy warnings. All reveal in time.

Same weh dem used to seh bildahberger was conspiracy, till me live to see part of switz shut down fi a meeting and all kinda hippy did a protest on the outskirts and gloat how dem did a tell people long time…all come pon mainstream news here. No, mi naah talk wirl econ forum neidah.

USA and Jam far from it, but when yuh live in EU and recall is just 70 years ago...

people doing it boss. seems like a cottage industry right now. you can get it at coconut industry board and some gas stations ... it are very noice.

The PNPisation of the JLP'.

Indeed, this was the plan being considered by the JLP when they lost power to the Michael Manley-led PNP on leap year day, February 29 1972. In September 1972, the then weekly newspaper Public Opinion had a headline that read, 'Will the JLP go left?' The JLP revisited that strategy 30 years later for the 2002 election which they lost. Ten years ago, when Bruce Golding took over the JLP, one of my weekly columns in the Jamaica Observer was entitled, 'The PNPisation of the JLP'.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...lling_19230402

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Understanding of Global affairs ?? Ahm

Kamedy to rath !

.. I think you are confusing him with Lee Kuan Yew..

Norman Manley notwithstanding. I would prefer the teachings of Mosiah Garvey.. JA would have been better off.

Agreed,can't see why people think the Jlpnp are any different, Ihear the JLP advocating what you might call socialist programs and the pnp neo liberal consumerist policies.

No care for the poor from none when in power.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.