Michael Manley 101 - Why he did what he did

Seems that there is a vested interest in keeping the masses uneducated. As for the 70's free education, it was a whim for political expediency and not properly thought out.

As an idea it was spot on and necessary but the implementation was sorely lacking

Dementia.

Where you get coconut oil from???

Them rob up coconut board long time, people spread rumor on Coconut oil years ago bout it unhealthy and disease kill out nuff a we coconut as we can't find a "cure". It is a pity the coconut production in Ja.

While I believe old industry and politicians benefit from the uneducated masses, I really don't think modern industry or its leaders do.

For that and other reasons such as easy and cheap access to information, I expect to see basic education levels rise rapidly in the next 10-15 years. It may not be through the traditional public education system though.

Me teacher,I am mindful of the Donkey Man discussions,Manley's education ref o rms are unparalled.

Look at the shiny objects....!!!

By now everyone should know the guy that is hated the most is probably so hated because he is the one with the viable solution.
                WeJakans failed Manley,and we continue to fail Jamaica by regurgitating the lies.
                Michael Manley understanding of global affairs stood the test of time,it is relevant today.
                Last edited by Rockman; September 24, 2015, 08:53 AM.

Right, if wi did follow dat deh philosophy wi wouldah good to go yah now. But nuh him successor immediately reverse di ting dem, all watah man import, bwoy ah di "Great Destroyah" dat.

Ironically I think the comparison is not without merit however more was at stake affecting people in a far more meaningful way.

Well I have been screaming that message here for the past 5 years.

Billions have risen out of extreme poverty in the last 2 decades, infant mortality rates are down, health outcomes are better, the number of civil wars are down, etc, etc, and guess what, it wasn't 60s/70s era socialism that did it either.

Of course with successes come other problems like sustainability, lifestyle diseases, etc. Nor do these successes excuse the crony and corrupt forms of free market capitalism practiced by many of the worlds elite.

However that does not change the fact that life has improved for the majority of the worlds poor over the last 20 years. The very rich have got much richer, AND the poor have become less poor. That is how a growing economy, in this case world economy, works. There is not a fixed pie of wealth that cannot be increased.

Yet many still prefer to believe that armageddon is just around the corner. It makes a better storyline I guess.
                      This is largely true...but merely a part of the equation. Suggest you refer to CIA, Rand Corp, Stratfor and other private studies on the state of the planet...and what is projected for future scenarios...Many of the scenarios nuh pretty

It is ironic that the real driver of this "rise of the rest" has NOT been the activism of the West which has zero appetite to assist people out of poverty other than whenever it happens to be in their self-interest....i.e. when their corporations can extract super profits or when it suits their geo-political games.

It's the emerging economies that have begun to find their feet ....Led by China, India, Russia, Brazil, Turkey etc. That's where the growth has been which has lifted many out of poverty. The West (inadvertently) assists that by excessive consumption of energy & useless trinkets produced more cheaply in the South

What is also emerging is the fact that this current stage of capitalism is spawning more financial games, more intense boom/bust cycles and more corrupt oligarchies (including a developing US oligarchy)...as well as humongous income inequality in the West as it experiences relative decline..
                      Not to mention a growing threat of chaos and conflict globally as rising powers try to assert themselves against the existing order. The center will not hold...so a definite global shift is coming within the next generation

History shows that when such things happen....so can conflict. In fact in some sense the conflict is already engaged...Some see the current cyber warfare as the initial battleground. Others need to feel the bombs raining down on them before they become believers

Dats why mi advise di massive to have a Plan B....just in case

This is no conspiracy theory...Even Babylon seh suh...ah nuh juss mi

I recall when I was called to this venerable Rum Bar 8 years ago and immediately began to advise The Massive that ALL their communications were monitored and recorded ALL the time and NOT merely because of a benevolent security imperative....many dismissed this as "conspiracy theory".

So when Ed Snowden 2+ years ago revealed to all the Lemmings that this was indeed the TRUTH...the response was: "So what? I'm not doing anything wrong so it doesn't matter" Dats how Lemmings rationalize their ignorance

I'll let the Frogs Boil similarly re the state of the world as I state truths which today many see as "propaganda" or "conspiracy theories" as they did with the mass surveillance issue. Tomorrow they'll just say "ah suh di ting set"...woooiieee

Time longa dan rope dem seh

One of my favorite quotes:

“Some people make things happen. Some people watch things happen. And then there are those who wonder, 'What the hell just happened?”
                      Carroll Bryant
                      Last edited by Don1; September 24, 2015, 02:40 PM.

Sometimes we have to examine alternative theories to the accepted poverty reduction mantra. The ites fi check this out:

http://www.fastcoexist.com/3050595/h...global-poverty

The sustainability issue is real, but still very solvable. It is more of a geo-political problem than a technical one. We don't need to deprive ourselves of the things we love to have a sustainable planet, we just need to be smarter.

There is more than enough energy available to power an increasingly wealthier planet, it just can't come primarily from fossil fuels. There is more than enough food being produced to feed the planet, but we need to find more efficient ways of using the water and other resources required to grow it.

Some of the other problems like oligarchies and global conflict are more worrisome and I have no doubt that war is in our future as that is a part of human nature. There is also no doubt that the West is experiencing relative decline. I don't see that as a bad thing for most people, only the ones who believe that the West has a divine right to dominate the rest of the world.

Even with those threats, the world is a much better place to live in today for most people in the world than it was when I left school at the end of the 80s.
                          Last edited by Islandman; September 24, 2015, 03:21 PM.

Some of the other problems like oligarchies and global conflict are more
                            worrisome and I have no doubt that war is in our future as that is a part of
                            human nature. There is no doubt that the West is experiencing relative decline.
                            I don't see that as a bad thing for most people, only the ones who believe that
                            the West has a divine right to dominate the rest of the world.

Word. It also mean bigger markets and bigger GDPs.

Yep. Many more opportunities and markets available in the world today. How many Chinese, Indians, Brazilians would want to go back to the misery of the 70s? Not many.

Man a left Merica go a China go live and him a nuh spy. LOL!!!
                                Companies have global workforce etc.