Michael Manley 101 - Why he did what he did

Didn't Joshua nationalize bauxite? Watch the documentary and you will see that Joshua was imitating England. I know it's hard to face the truth but give it a shot.

If dem really want to done the place...dem need to use dem wizzy.

Here is a simple suggestion yuh can give any contact you have.

When dem fry it with vegtable oils (poly unsaturates), dem mekking slow poison...with Transfats, etc.

If dem use coconut oil , which is a medium chain fatty acid, and if dem use "organic" plaintains....dem can charge a higher price fi dis HEALTHIER (and tastier) alternative. What better than "healthy" chip??? It will sell off, especially uptown. LoL

Thank me later...LoL

2 things...he was former PNP and Roger laff after him in Parliament calling him Cassava Minister of Cassava Guvvamant.

Talk about tit for tat.

Jamaica politics is immature...

The Labour party crashed the ecomomy in the UK...go back and check your history.

The truth is FAAAAR more complex than you make it out to be. You only operate on one level.

If you can, try to see this documentary.

The guy clearly shows how the countries that move from abject poverty to middle income FIRST invest in improving the human condition...ie education and health. These things eventually pay off in killing the poverty cycle in a virtuous cycle.

it also disabuses us of the notions we have...the world is far beter off than we think it is.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5JiYcV_mg6A

http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/pro.../38/dont-panic

Yep, and gave rise to the Iron lady and all that came with her.

It took the Labor party 15 years to recover from their failed 70s experiments.

Well I have been screaming that message here for the past 5 years.

Billions have risen out of extreme poverty in the last 2 decades, infant mortality rates are down, health outcomes are better, the number of civil wars are down, etc, etc, and guess what, it wasn't 60s/70s era socialism that did it either.

Of course with successes come other problems like sustainability, lifestyle diseases, etc. Nor do these successes excuse the crony and corrupt forms of free market capitalism practiced by many of the worlds elite.

However that does not change the fact that life has improved for the majority of the worlds poor over the last 20 years. The very rich have got much richer, AND the poor have become less poor. That is how a growing economy, in this case world economy, works. There is not a fixed pie of wealth that cannot be increased.

Yet many still prefer to believe that armageddon is just around the corner. It makes a better storyline I guess.

I know.

Did you watch the documentary (even part 1)? I guess no.

That's nice but I was focusing on Joshua and Ja's economy. Is it that you are saying that Joshua should not have introduced the social programs because in the end things would just work themselves out?

It's okay. I know I'm wrong you are right in what you say.

Yes, years ago... about 2001 or so.

Tru dat...

How did you get that? That is far removed from anything I said.

He has some very good idea and some of his programs were valid. He sucked at implementation and ignored strategy to his peril.

Bull in a China shop does not work most times.

2 things...he was former PNP and Roger laff after him in Parliament calling him Cassava Minister of Cassava Guvvamant.

Talk about tit for tat.

Jamaica politics is immature...
                                True, Jamaica politics is immature. But wi only 53 years old. What's the United States'excuse?