This report on Latin America

Not a problem. At the end of the article the authors left their email addresses.
    You can email them and tell them that at the Grace home work center @ water has a number of math Phds. teaching the kids beyond standardized tests (such as the math Olympiad). I will also check to see if Ja had entered the international math Olympiad in the past two years or so (to verify your argument). I like the fact that the authors are transparent and open to corrections.

For mathematicians I'm surprised that the authors weren't thorough. Their work seems flawed based on what you are saying.

BTW did you read the report on JA or the article for that matter?

Thanks.

Nuh dis ol liad dem write:

Cuba: In the Caribbean region, Cuba is a country with a strong mathematical tradition. There are research centers in different areas of mathematics publishing both in regional magazines and in internationally recognized journals. A total of 90 indexed publications were made between 2010 and 2012. Several conferences in mathematics and math education are held in the country. Currently there are a significant number of Cubans doing masters’ and doctoral studies especially in France and Spain. The most common level for a math university professor is the master’s level. It is one of the few countries in the region that has a mathematical society and some mathematical research centers. Cuba has an acceptable academic level in mathematics education in primary and secondary schools. They prepare their teachers well. There is an average of 25 students in each classroom. The rural areas of Cuba have more serious problems in their schools, in part because of the difficulty of recruiting qualified teachers. Cuba has had a tradition of having special programs to identify and support talented students in mathematics, indeed in the Caribbean region Cuba is the first country that participated in the IMO. In recent years, participation in international mathematical olympiads has been sporadic. Jamaica In

Jamaica: research in applied mathematics is done, especially in physics and mathematics stochastic differential equations. These investigations are carried out mainly by a small group of professors of the University of the West Indies, Mona Campus. There is some academic collaboration with the campus of the University of the West Indies in Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago. However there are neither mathematical societies nor mathematical research centers. Jamaica does not have a strong development in education at primary or secondary level and there is a deep concern about the preparation of teachers and students' results on standardized tests. This problem occurs most significantly in rural areas. Communication networks between mathematicians and educators are almost nonexistent. The average number of students in a school classroom is 42. In Jamaica elementary teachers need a Diploma in Education (equivalent to two years of university education). For the intermediate level and above a bachelor’s degree is required. In 2010 for the first time in Jamaica a program for identification and support of gifted students in mathematics was started, also a Jamaican group of students participated for the first time in international regional mathematical Olympiads.

Email dem mek dem know bout di Grace homewrk centa. Dem wrenk.

what they don't know they don't know.

funny that you should take that position and accept what they have said wholesale.

maybe you would look at it differently if it were couched thusly "PNP frig up the educational system"

Fine PNP mash up Ja education system.

How many math phds. Grace has at the home work center again? What is the name of Ja's mathematical society. Other than 210 when's the last time Ja entered the INT'L math Olympiad.

Why am I seeing parallels with football here? Anyway it look like dem peeple bias bad. Dem might all racist pon di dl.

I read enough of the article to conclude that there is nothing particularly new to me in it.

Well I surely wasn't discussing whether it was new or it was old. Were you?

No I was discussing your forming opinions about the Grace STEM centers without having any knowledge about them.

LOL!!