• Just when I was seriously thinking of buying a VW

now this: http://money.cnn.com/2015/09/21/auto...n=money_latest

This is deception of the worst kind!

Volkswagen installed software that can automatically detect when cars are being tested for emissions. The engine then runs in a way that reduces emissions to legal levels. But when the cars aren't being tested, the engines go back to running "normally" and emit far more pollutants.
    Makes me wonder about other car companies, esp. VW's affiliates like Audi and Porsche.

I understand they have put aside $7B, with a B, for the expected lawsuits and fixes.

This is really bad!

Das Auto? Das LYING!!!!

Hyundai and KIA too?!?

http://www.autoguide.com/auto-news/2...continues.html

they all do that...kiss teet...

Di whole a dem a dweeet! LoL

It affects diesel only though, so a bigger problem in Europe.

BTW, these are the VW "affiliates" as you call them (a veritable who is who stable):
        Bugatti, Bentley, Skoda, SEAT, Audi and Lamborghini. Porsche is partially oowned by VW.

YUP!

Incomparable to what GM did,they knowingly sold vehicles with a faulty ignition switch which resulted in numerous deaths.

Well while unnu thinking bout it, you can go and buy your driverless car too.

Mi tell unnu bout the Quality Control pon some a dem thing yah you think mi a idiot, but mi see it. Now you see how the designers, programmers and management cover it up. You see about one week ago the fed them come down on GM too?

Still a good car in my book, they did it to get more miles and chuss mi,i full my car up every 2 weeks.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Huh?!

As I feared, the EPA is saying VW also used devices to cheat air pollution tests in their diesel luxury vehicles, like Porsches.

This is only in the diesel right?

I think the gas models are fine. The gas still give fairly good mileage.