• Grandmaster of the Great Game

Alfred W. McCoy
    Professor of History at the University of Wisconsin-Madison

Grandmaster of the Great Game

Posted: 09/15/2015 10:54 am EDT Updated: 09/15/2015 10:59 am EDT

Obama’s Geopolitical Strategy for Containing China
    Cross-posted with TomDispatch.com

In ways that have eluded Washington pundits and policymakers, President Barack Obama is deploying a subtle geopolitical strategy that, if successful, might give Washington a fighting chance to extend its global hegemony deep into the twenty-first century. After six years of silent, sometimes secret preparations, the Obama White House has recently unveiled some bold diplomatic initiatives whose sum is nothing less than a tri-continental strategy to check Beijing’s rise. As these moves unfold, Obama is revealing himself as one of those rare grandmasters who appear every generation or two with an ability to go beyond mere foreign policy and play that ruthless global game called geopolitics.

Since he took office in 2009, Obama has faced an unremitting chorus of criticism, left and right, domestic and foreign, dismissing him as hapless, even hopeless. “He's a poor ignoramus; he should read and study a little to understand reality," said Venezuela’s leftist president Hugo Chavez, just months after Obama’s inauguration. “I think he has projected a position of weakness and... a lack of leadership,” claimed Republican Senator John McCain in 2012. “After six years,” opined a commentator from the conservative Heritage Foundation last April, “he still displays a troubling misunderstanding of power and the leadership role the United States plays in the international system.” Even former Democratic President Jimmy Carter recently dismissed Obama’s foreign policy achievements as “minimal.” Voicing the views of many Americans, Donald Trump derided his global vision this way: “We have a president who doesn’t have a clue.”

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/alfred...p_ref=politics

Damm good piece,its a global neo liberal consumerist trade war.Has Jamaica sighted the rake?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

karl ... I want to see if you have been paying attention. what is it that I have consistently said about Obama from the beginning, even as you were cussing him?!

Cuss I'm?
        Yuh mad!

...I was for Hillary during the campaign!
        After Hillary lost, I was fully on-board with Obama!!! Check the forum, please!!!

yuh cussed him before Hilary lost. you even went so far as to suggest that i was supporting Obama because he was black ...your memory is really short. I don't have to check any archive, I was the one having the back and forth with you....

Obama is a very very intelligent man and very savvy. he has proved this since the campaign and continues to do so with sangfroid extraordinaire. the rebirth of cool!

Good Article. It is to note that Brzezinski is now Obama's mentor. Brzezinski's
            book "The Grand Chess board was so accurate that he came back and said the book was riddled with mistakes. Now which author would belittle their own book? Can't fool me.

now?

how about "has been" .... since before he became president!!!

yup saw the now was about to correct it. "has been" is appropriate but remember "once a mentor always a mentor"

"Many play checkers. He plays chess."

How do we praise the Polish one (can't bother spell his name! ) yet we do not praise the person who appointed him?

Alfred W. McCoy
                      Professor of History at the University of Wisconsin-Madison

Grandmaster of the Great Game

Posted: 09/15/2015 10:54 am EDT Updated: 09/15/2015 10:59 am EDT

Obama’s Geopolitical Strategy for Containing China
                      Cross-posted with TomDispatch.com

In ways that have eluded Washington pundits and policymakers, President Barack Obama is deploying a subtle geopolitical strategy that, if successful, might give Washington a fighting chance to extend its global hegemony deep into the twenty-first century. After six years of silent, sometimes secret preparations, the Obama White House has recently unveiled some bold diplomatic initiatives whose sum is nothing less than a tri-continental strategy to check Beijing’s rise. As these moves unfold, Obama is revealing himself as one of those rare grandmasters who appear every generation or two with an ability to go beyond mere foreign policy and play that ruthless global game called geopolitics.

Since he took office in 2009, Obama has faced an unremitting chorus of criticism, left and right, domestic and foreign, dismissing him as hapless, even hopeless. “He's a poor ignoramus; he should read and study a little to understand reality," said Venezuela’s leftist president Hugo Chavez, just months after Obama’s inauguration. “I think he has projected a position of weakness and... a lack of leadership,” claimed Republican Senator John McCain in 2012. “After six years,” opined a commentator from the conservative Heritage Foundation last April, “he still displays a troubling misunderstanding of power and the leadership role the United States plays in the international system.” Even former Democratic President Jimmy Carter recently dismissed Obama’s foreign policy achievements as “minimal.” Voicing the views of many Americans, Donald Trump derided his global vision this way: “We have a president who doesn’t have a clue.”

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/alfred...p_ref=politics
                      Very interesting article

The "Obama geo-political Grandmaster" thesis is of course totally unfounded. It's just one of many possible outcomes in a very dynamic global landscape that's still unfolding.

The Huff Post and Arianna Huffington are well known Obama/Democrat Party shills

who is "we"? Jimmy Carter have my props from longtime. never start no war nor bomb nobody.

be that as it may...without the embossing it is still worthy of note.

who is "we"? Jimmy Carter have my props from longtime. never start no war nor bomb nobody.
                            I don't include myself in that "we" needah!

Carter is the second greatest president in my book! Even better human being!

Yes...It's not impossible that some version of his Obama The Geo-Political Grandmaster thesis may come to pass

It's far too early to proclaim such a sweeping achievement now... But Obama has definitely retrieved SOME of the respect the US has lost by its excessive warmongering and illegal regime change ops

That's a significant re-positioning that should be noted fi choo

But a word to the wise: One Bruised Gelding was proclaimed by a veteran Rum Bar anal-yst as a political Chess Master...

That Chess Master ended up promptly being checkmated and dumped in the dustbin of history
                              Last edited by Don1; September 16, 2015, 05:17 PM.