M .Gladwell on Bolt

• M .Gladwell on Bolt

As a Jamaican I cannot let another moment pass without giving a shout-out to my brother Usain Bolt. This was his greatest race ever. Two years of injuries, indifferent training, lousy performances. He’s had a bad year. Meanwhile Justin Gatlin has had one of the greatest summers on the track of any sprinter in recent history. Everyone thought that Bolt was the underdog. And what happened? With ten metres to go, Gatlin found himself in a position he hadn’t been in in two years. A competitor was on his shoulder—and the competitor just happened to be the greatest sprinter in history. And he fell apart: literally, Galtin’s perfect form disintegrated, and he looked like a child flailing his way down the sidewalk. First lesson? The mental and psychological aspect of elite performance is vastly underestimated. Second lesson? Never, ever, count out a Jamaican when the chips are down.

http://www.newyorker.com/news/sporti...-championships

I called the 4 x 400s memba dat.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Ian Boyne: Life Lessons From Beijing
    Share on googleShare on twitterShare on facebook
    Published:Sunday | August 30, 2015

Ricardo Makyn
    Song Tao, the Segway-riding cameraman who knocked Usain over moments after winning the 200m, presents the double gold medallist with a gift of contrition shortly after Bolt received his 200m medal.
    Usain Bolt's awe-inspiring, thrilling victories in Beijing were not just a triumph of talent and training. It was a triumph of will; a triumph of spirit; a triumph of character.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/f...essons-beijing

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Andre DeGrasse... according to Wikipedia: Bajan father, Trini mother. Pass the info. along to Malcolm please.

Interrupting This Thread

Andre DeGrasse... according to Wikipedia: Bajan father, Trini mother. Pass the info. along to Malcolm please.
        I apologize for breaking the trend of thought of this thread, but I somehow feel compelled to do so! What is sad in all of this is the natural sexism shown on this site, and all around elsewhere!

My question is this: Has anyone ever made similar comments on an equally great athlete, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, with the unreserved glee and hero- worship given to Usain Bolt? Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce is, without doubt, the greatest female 100-meter sprinter in history! And she is Jamaican!

Her record speaks for itself!!

I agree with you on this Historian, but the good ol' USA might bring up a Florence Griffith-Joyner as the holder of that unofficial title... pointing to her 100 and 200 WRs to back up their counter claim.

Thinking on your post caused a personal reality check. I really do give more weight to the male sports! PERIOD!

Why?
            Training?! 'Braght-upsy'?! Cultural heritage?! Environment in which I grew up?!
            ...plus other stuff?! I am sure they played a part...but whatever it is, it is, what it is! Nah lie tuh self!!! Know it should (and here I fail again), perhaps..????not be so! ...but it is!!! Sorry, Historian...

Yup! Shelly-Ann is as great as they come!!!

Damn?! ...another reality check! I gave Merlene much more attention than I have given to Shelly-Ann... Why???? ...guess that will take some looking into???!!!

It's a Hanover thing!

That has been the misfortune that female sprinting has suffered from for the past 25 years. No world records in 100/200/400m.

For that and other reasons Shelly would never get the recognition that Bolt does. Sexism play a role, but Shelly also has not been a frequent double champion. Then there is the charisma thing. Bolt is a one in many generations if not one in a lifetime type of athlete.

Jamaican women sprinters have always been exalted in Jamaica,I don't know where this bredda Missy get this from,Bolt is an exception because he is exceptional athlete not just in Ja but the world,but before Bolt and Shelly,we had VCB,Deon,etc to Merlene,Not even Bert lived up to their hype,you would have to go back to Quarrie,to say men were hyped.That said the women have been exalted on this site,don't mek di Gatlin hype fool yuh,because that took away alot of attention from my ladies,as mi say ,its always special when the women race,esp win in Jamaica.

Missy!

It maybe more than that.
                    Merlene's grand-father and my Dad were friends from school days up until Mas Zeke died.

The families were very close. Merlene's Mom and her Mom's siblings were frequent visitors to the house (My Mom taught one of the boys to play the organ). I remember running my friend Maud all the way to her home and under her Mom's bed to give her 'laas lick'. Suh there may be a bias there.
                    ...and then a nearly accidentally 'lick dun' Glen (now Dr. Glen Bowen...mi ear she I'm a Professor Bowen now...?) a Cross Roads an mi suh fighten an hangry dat mi run I'm dun wid mi belt...but di den bwoy was fasta dan Quarrie.

I remember running my friend Maud all the way to her home and under her Mom's bed to give her 'laas lick' ... wha? gwaan karlus!!

No, WRecords…It simple.

Not just Jamaicans crazy for Bolto…
                        http://jablogz.com/2015/09/why-i-pre...ow-usain-bolt/

Iz dat yuh tell dem in Switzerland to? "Op" Bolt!

Yah man!

More like Boltz!