Ghetto University to di werl!

• Ghetto University to di werl!

Public commuters are now able to access the Jamaica Urban Transit Company's (JUTC's) bus schedules and some of its routes on their computers, tablets and smartphones using GoogleTransit.

The data became available yesterday, thanks to information technology consultant and third-year computer science student at the University of the West Indies (UWI), Oswald Smith.

"It allows any transit company that has a regular schedule to basically integrate their transit data into Google Maps, and that data comprises things like the schedule, the route, and bus stop location,' Smith said of Google Transit, a product of multinational tech company Google.

The student, 28, explained that he conceived the idea from his own experience of standing at the bus top without knowing when the next bus would arrive.

http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/mobile/...-Maps_19225735

Nice! Now we just need to get the buses to follow the schedule

Or are they much better these days?

But isn't his idea going around the schedule altogether and looking at real time location of the buses?

Yes, it would be nice if the buses could stick to a schedule, but, until then, let's just see where the hell they are at the moment!

I didn't see that in the article, the real time locations?

Could certainly be done though, GPS tracking should be enough.

Or maybe not, having read the article in it's entirety.

I believe I was thinking ahead! Sorry!

I'm kinda disappointed now.

Public commuters are now able to access the Jamaica Urban Transit Company's (JUTC's) bus schedules and some of its routes on their computers, tablets and smartphones using GoogleTransit.

The data became available yesterday, thanks to information technology consultant and third-year computer science student at the University of the West Indies (UWI), Oswald Smith.

"It allows any transit company that has a regular schedule to basically integrate their transit data into Google Maps, and that data comprises things like the schedule, the route, and bus stop location,' Smith said of Google Transit, a product of multinational tech company Google.

The student, 28, explained that he conceived the idea from his own experience of standing at the bus top without knowing when the next bus would arrive.

http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/mobile/...-Maps_19225735
              Noice!!

Now wi juss need Ben fi cough up im pothole app...den integrate dat inna di JUTC data...den get some yute fi build some AI into di JUTC bus dem....Voila!

A world's first! Pothole free driverless buses

i can't believe there is such a hulabaloo about this...this is exactly the purpose google transit was created for...

If you provide a transportation service that is open to the public, and operates with fixed schedules and routes, we welcome your participation - it is simple and free.

Kamedy to rath...

'Conceived the idea while waiting at the Bus Stop' ?

lol ! woiee !

What would be useful would be as Iman says is to get GPS on the buses so you can tell where the bus is, regardless of what the bus schedule is. I saw this used in the bus service in Barcelona... there was a digital readout in the bus shelter that stated how many minutes until bus X would arrive and it was typically very reliable and accurate. Now with the proliferation of smart phones, you could get the info on your phone and know when to leave for the bus stop.

Not good though for law abiding citizens. The criminals knowing excatly where a bus is at any given time.

LOL!!

What would be useful would be as Iman says is to get GPS on the buses so you can tell where the bus is, regardless of what the bus schedule is. I saw this used in the bus service in Barcelona... there was a digital readout in the bus shelter that stated how many minutes until bus X would arrive and it was typically very reliable and accurate. Now with the proliferation of smart phones, you could get the info on your phone and know when to leave for the bus stop.
                          Actually GPS is already on the buses..

To track buses the JUTC just needs the drivers to have an app installed on their phone...geo-tagged to GPS ...then outputted to travelers who can pull up route data

Someone can build that and have it operational in a week...no equipment required

Another weekend project for Mr. Oswald Smith!