• Willi, why did Europe go to Africa

and not the reverse ?

I figure since Africa is the bottom of the map.. Gravity alone would dictate..

Technology, geography and luck.

BTW, Africa was first...Africans went everywhere 1st. Europeans are simply white Africans...the DNA trace is there.

BTW, genetically, Euros are very colse to Africans...dont make the colour fool yuh. Chinese are further away from bAfrica is the continent with the greatest genetic diversity.

Technology, geography and luck.

BTW, Africa was first...Africans went everywhere 1st. Europeans are simply white Africans...the DNA trace is there.

BTW, genetically, Euros are very colse to Africans...dont make the colour fool yuh. Chinese are further away from bAfrica is the continent with the greatest genetic diversity.
      Ok now.. IQ test time.. I am going to give you some context and you answer the same question:

"We cannot operate in isolation of events past and present, or be forever re-inventing the wheel," he said, "for that will determine how far we go and at what pace we develop as a people and a nation."
      Motty is guided by the anthropological stance which says that material backwardness is a function of cultural isolation. He supports the view that cultural cross-fertilisation is what drives material progress. "We do not need to re-invent the wheel," he again emphasised. "We have to move from the point of accumulated experience, we must understand the whys of history and not get caught up with the events themselves. We need to understand why the Europeans dominated the world for 500 years. No need to get caught up with the sentiment of what was lost, focus on the psyche and the strength of the conqueror."
      On the point of accumulated experience, he illustrated his point with a reference to Bee-thoven and the Internet. "Beethoven didn't start where the first musician started. The Internet is not a new idea. It is as a result of the accumulated knowledge and experience of thousands of years. If we do not educate our children, we are depriving them of developing their potential as human beings. We have to respect the principle of value-added. We are suffering from intellectual poverty. Our intellectuals should be helping us to understand our world and they are not performing that function," he noted.
      "In Jamaica, we do not value ideas," says Perkins. "Our education is not geared towards promoting understanding. Jamaica's politics could not accommodate an educated population. This may have been by design but not necessarily a conscious one. And we are now suffering from that lack of vision.
      "As black people, we need to understand why five white faces and one Japanese represent the Group of Six (the six leading nations of the world). Why did Europe go to Africa and not Africa go to Europe? What enabled the Europeans to dominate for 500 years? These are the questions to which we should seek answers."

What do you believe Motty means when he says 'go to' ?

Is he talking about population movement ? Is he talking about a boat trip.. whatever could he be talking about in the final analysis ?

By the way.. don't let the IQ test ting frighten yuh, it not going on yuh record..

You gonna hate my reply. U gonna think it too profound, but here goes.

Europe became relatively technically adavance, coming out of the Dark Age and entering the rennaisance. Lots of positive serendipity occured at about the same time with Marco Polo and gunpowder, etc. The oppression of the Church eased in favour of Kingdoms and the monarchs got neighbour envy and started conquering each other (fierce internal rivalry). This was helped by nuff population and relatively small but good quality land mass. I dont want to down play the Ottomon caliphates as well, as they did the same as Europe before and even had Europe under their joke.

Eurasia tended to develop faster than the Americas and Africa as the wide land mass favoured far greater trade and developed better beast of burden which was shared and drove agriculture. Domestic cow and horses, versus antelopes, zebras, rhinos,buffalo and Llamas....no contest. True, Nth. America had mustangs.

Now for the more profound part. Europe and the WEST clearly are and have been technologically more advanced than their spiritual levels.

It is spiritually reprehensible to be boasting about colonialization and domination of fellow men. We cant uphold the double standard of saying mafia or Donship is bad, while when countries do the same we look up to them.

Jamaica's problem has little to do with all this though. We are the ones enslaving our own minds with poor analyses, perceptions, attitudes and emotions. It is why I say our major problem is spiritual and psychological...the reason why I understand what Mosiah is saying. The rot goes deep into the NOWadays generation. We need a spirital sea bath, a rennaisance of the collective soul that will help us reestablish our greater identity and our greater purpose/destiny. Right now we are aimless, headless chickens.

By the way.. don't let the IQ test ting frighten yuh, it not going on yuh record..

Rudie dont fear.

You gonna hate my reply. U gonna think it too profound, but here goes.

Europe became relatively technically adavance, coming out of the Dark Age and entering the rennaisance. Lots of positive serendipity occured at about the same time with Marco Polo and gunpowder, etc. The oppression of the Church eased in favour of Kingdoms and the monarchs got neighbour envy and started conquering each other (fierce internal rivalry). This was helped by nuff population and relatively small but good quality land mass. I dont want to down play the Ottomon caliphates as well, as they did the same as Europe before and even had Europe under their joke.

Eurasia tended to develop faster than the Americas and Africa as the wide land mass favoured far greater trade and developed better beast of burden which was shared and drove agriculture. Domestic cow and horses, versus antelopes, zebras, rhinos,buffalo and Llamas....no contest. True, Nth. America had mustangs.

Now for the more profound part. Europe and the WEST clearly are and have been technologically more advanced than their spiritual levels.

It is spiritually reprehensible to be boasting about colonialization and domination of fellow men. We cant uphold the double standard of saying mafia or Donship is bad, while when countries do the same we look up to them.

Jamaica's problem has little to do with all this though. We are the ones enslaving our own minds with poor analyses, perceptions, attitudes and emotions. It is why I say our major problem is spiritual and psychological...the reason why I understand what Mosiah is saying. The rot goes deep into the NOWadays generation. We need a spirital sea bath, a rennaisance of the collective soul that will help us reestablish our greater identity and our greater purpose/destiny. Right now we are aimless, headless chickens.
              The only way I could not like your answer is if you did not answer my question.. I am somewhat displeased by your response.

Before we launch into a discourse regarding

Europe 'go to' Africa VS Africa 'go to' Europe, we need to have a common understanding of what 'go to' means.

My interpretation of that is rooted in an interesting observation on any World Map.

Country Names, Religion, Language (Official)

In my final analysis, I have to concur with Motty that Europe did indeed 'go to' Africa comprehensively, decisively and at a core level.

There are opinions which may vary, however Motty addresses that phenomenon of sentiment and attributes this very sentimental approach as a core issue why some nations and their institues of learning cannot move FORWARD, trying to recreate the wheel and mourning what was lost (see UWI, Mona Campus).. one sentimental response brought up the Moors.. the most can be said of that is an attempt was made... nice try.. but when analyzing the psyche and strengths of the victor in today reality, if you are studying the Moors then sentiment has overtaken sense...

A simple answer... a simplistic answer? Take your pick!

...the Europeans were more attuned to...as are the Chinese and other Asian people at this time...attuned to acceptance of knowledge/copying advances...than have the peoples in Africa.

The Europeans, even as they waged wars with each other took the seen advances/discovered advances from their enemies. The Africans tended to be resistant to that 'transfer of knowledge'...even today in Africa there is tremendous internal strife among tribes and within tribes that slow the pace of introduction of means to rapid advances for the entire continent...

...there is, as far as Jamaica is concerned a reluctance to look outwards as means to acquire wealth and to progress rapidly towards 1st World status. That reluctance is expressed in every local household in the phrase "dem faar-re-nah dem (even referring to fellow Jamaicans) tink dem a guh cum yah an tek ova. dem bettah kno wi duh tings fi wi waay"! ...and, expressed in the fights between political factions. After the defeat of each political party many are the good ideas and or 'realities' introduced by the predecessor that are set aside and or torn down. Reality is 'advances come slowly'...as in not at - irony of ironies - rate of progress which all Jamaicans desire.

Yup! We need to keep our 'good things' but, go to wherever there are 'good things' that would add to local advances, bring them home so that advances come on us at 'rapid'. The tribal way at looking at 'outside advances' must be allowed to die.

Ooooh, the question - Why did Europe go to Africa?
                There were 'good things' in Africa for Europe to take home!

Well said Sir!

How can you ask the question in a vaccum ? leaving out the full context of Nutty question ? You are left to answer your question not Nuttys question which is absurd or implict with half truths ? lets take a look

"As black people, we need to understand why five white faces and one Japanese represent the Group of Six (the six leading nations of the world). Why did Europe go to Africa and not Africa go to Europe? What enabled the Europeans to dominate for 500 years? These are the questions to which we should seek answers."

1st he ask as black people which means ((RACE)) why five white faces and one japanese represt the group of 6 ? Its a historical question that has its answer in colonialism and imperalism

Why did europe go to Africa and not Africa to Europe ?Another historical question which he answered as a lie to justify or imply some inferiority about the Africans self worth. Africa did go to europe and conquered it , Egypt claimed a colony in the mediterrian as its own .The Berbers of N.Africa controlled from parts of France to the Iberain peninsula.

What enabled the Europeans to dominate for 500 years? These are the questions to which we should seek answers." Again another implication that Africans have never dominated any sphere of Europe for any time to justify what ? If Nutty now asking the question im need serious help.If im implying we nuh know im beyound help.If im implying colonisation and imperalism nuh ave nothing to do with the economic , mental and physical condition we are in GOD help the man .

Africans have went to europe and continue to go there , it will be in the begining as it will be in the end.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

How can you ask the question in a vaccum ? leaving out the full context of Nutty question ? You are left to answer your question not Nuttys question which is absurd or implict with half truths ? lets take a look

1st he ask as black people which means ((RACE)) why five white faces and one japanese represt the group of 6 ? Its a historical question that has its answer in colonialism and imperalism

Why did europe go to Africa and not Africa to Europe ?Another historical question which he answered as a lie to justify or imply some inferiority about the Africans self worth. Africa did go to europe and conquered it , Egypt claimed a colony in the mediterrian as its own .The Berbers of N.Africa controlled from parts of France to the Iberain peninsula.

What enabled the Europeans to dominate for 500 years? These are the questions to which we should seek answers." Again another implication that Africans have never dominated any sphere of Europe for any time to justify what ? If Nutty now asking the question im need serious help.If im implying we nuh know im beyound help.If im implying colonisation and imperalism nuh ave nothing to do with the economic , mental and physical condition we are in GOD help the man .

Africans have went to europe and continue to go there , it will be in the begining as it will be in the end.
                      Can you be anymore defensive ? Inferiority ? Self-Worth ?

Heh,heh.. another one proving Motty point. The History of the past 500 years is Europe go Africa.. accept it and try to understand it and further use what yuh learn to achieve ascendancy.. others have done it.

Lee Kwan Yew said he had no time for profundity or sentimentality.. he learned the Psyche and Strength of the Conqueror.. applied it and the result is 3rd World to First.

Meanwhile back on the ranch wi chatting about the Moors and Berbers seeking to 'validate' ourselves looking to the day of Ascendancy like it is pre-destined without understanding WHY and HOW.. constantly trying to re-invent the wheel.. 'When we were Kings'.. ahh those were the days.. WAKE THE FCUK UP !!

When Lee Kwan Yew asked the German, when will we be able to produce cars at the same level as the Germans.. the German said.. never and explained why. Lee nevah try to get profound.. he removed the tariffs, shut down the plants identified strenghts.. now when Merica want a Super Tanker dem call Singapore..

We revel in being able to consume at the highest standard... more self-validation...yapping about First Class telecom...

"There is no point in Korea where you can stand without receiving a signal," said Joy King, director of industry marketing at Hewlett-Packard. "In the U.S., we are still at the 'can-you-hear-me-now' level. When Europe and Asia are moving to multimedia text messaging, the U.S. has just started text messages. The U.S. is a Third World country in this aspect."

Silicon Valley used to be hailed as the world's high-tech capital. Now many consider South Korea the king.

"From my perspective, Silicon Valley does not have that role. The lead is in Asia, in Korea and Japan, no question," King said.

South Korea has managed to leapfrog the United States in both broadband and mobile phone usage thanks to a population density that makes connectivity easier and government policies that promote development.

Our Govt and main Institute of Learning has been a COLLOSAL FAILURE over the last critical 3 decades..poisoning the well in the name of 'Black Consciousness'. I mean it is friggin embarassing what other countries have been able to do while we spin around like ah set of eediat.

I submit Motty put his finger EXACTLY on the reasons why.

Middle Passage in a Statistics class ???

We just cannot get out of our own way... damn...