Gunmen firebomb house - Mother and child perish in blaze

• Gunmen firebomb house - Mother and child perish in blaze

GOD - where are you hiding? These people are really callous!!

'She wanted to leave' - Gunmen firebomb house - Mother and child perish in blaze
    published: Friday | June 22, 2007

Tavia Peterson, Gleaner Writer

Linda Purcell is supported by community members after breaking down after viewing the bodies of her daughter Maureen Bennett, 47,and her seven-year-old granddaughter, Damone Skyers, who were burnt to death in their house in the Torrington Park community, yesterday morning. Gunmen set fire to the house and opened fire on the building as the two attempted to escape the blaze. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer.
    For several months, seven-year-old Damone Skyers had been expressing her fear and speaking with her grade-two teacher about the horrifying incidence of violence in the Torrington Park Housing Scheme, lower St. Andrew, where she lived with her mother, Maureen Bennett.
    Although she wanted so badly to move out of the tough inner-city community to a safer neighbourhood, that dream came to an end yesterday morning when her worst fears were realised.
    Both her remains and her mother's were removed from the one-bedroom concrete structure they occupied. According to the police, their house was firebombed by heavily armed gunmen who invaded the community during the wee hours of yesterday morning.
    "Her body language suggested that she wanted to move out of the area. She preferred Franklin Town where she was living first," said one of her schoolteachers, Jacinth Watson, who spoke with The Gleaner yesterday.
    Reports are that their house was targeted and, when the gunmen, numbering about 12, set fire to the structure, Damone and her mother made an attempt to escape from the blazing building. However, the gunmen opened fire on them,forcing mother and daughter back inside.
    The vicious attack brought back memories of a similar incident which took place on October 6, 2005, about two miles away on Barnes Avenue, off Maxfield Avenue, Kingston, where 10-year-old Sasha Kay Brown, her grandparents and aunt, perished at their home which was fire-bombed by gunmen.
    Residents who attempted to assist in that incident, were also fired on by the gunmen. Neighbours listened as Sasha Kay cried for help, until her voice faded in the blaze.
    Mrs. Watson's vivid recollection of Damone was that she was a reserved person who performed at an average level.
    In a soft, sombre tone, her classmate Elverado, with whom she sat many times in class, said he was sad about Damone's passing.
    "It was just yesterday we were playing before she left in the taxi. The last thing she said to me before she left yesterday was 'stop hitting me in my head nuh Elverado!' I am very sad to hear that she is gone."
    Elverado said that, many times they played "hide and seek" and "mama lashy" together. The eight-year-old also said they were best friends and she was a very nice person. The bodies of Bennett and Skyers were found in their bathroom. The Denham Town Police are now investigating.

Call out the army, find the killers and execute them!!!! Sorry Mosiah, but that is where we are now. We have to stop ACCEPTING this type of murderous behaviour as it only escalates and copycats increase. Where is the Minister of Security???

Hey, I don't hold a position on executions at this point in time, even though I am leaning in a particular direction. I'm certainly against the cops carrying out executions extra-judicially!

But it really amazes me how these things can happen with such regularity and impunity. But I believe it's the non-cooperation of the residents that really allows it to happen.

Many of these areas need to be strip-searched from top to bottom, while we plug the gun routes into Jamaica. But how do we strip-search them when the first attempt to do so will bring out the member of parliament crying political crap! Exile, I went to a birthday party in Tivoli the other day and the amount of guns I saw in a 10 minute stretch...from the nicest chrome to some Bonanza-looking winchester rifle, they were all there.

We cannot continue like this, even though we have been continuing like this for the better part of 50 years!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
        Where is the Minister of Security???
        Minister of Security has been in hiding for a long time, and/or he's still in the DENIAL process!!

Funny, the same man dem dat cuss the Icon for being negative now a express the same concerns as the Icon. Wait, does that make unuh negative now?

LAughable.

Exile, I think it was the deacon's program I was listening to where an interviewee said he/ she knows a thug who admits to doing stuff, but whenever he is held by the police, it is for something that he knew nothing about.

What dat tell yuh about the police and their investigating? If the thugs see that dem can continuously get away with it, wha yuh expect? "Where is the Minister of National Security?" Obviously unuh in denial.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
            GOD - where are you hiding? These people are really callous!!

'She wanted to leave' - Gunmen firebomb house - Mother and child perish in blaze
            published: Friday | June 22, 2007

Tavia Peterson, Gleaner Writer

Linda Purcell is supported by community members after breaking down after viewing the bodies of her daughter Maureen Bennett, 47,and her seven-year-old granddaughter, Damone Skyers, who were burnt to death in their house in the Torrington Park community, yesterday morning. Gunmen set fire to the house and opened fire on the building as the two attempted to escape the blaze. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer.
            For several months, seven-year-old Damone Skyers had been expressing her fear and speaking with her grade-two teacher about the horrifying incidence of violence in the Torrington Park Housing Scheme, lower St. Andrew, where she lived with her mother, Maureen Bennett.
            Although she wanted so badly to move out of the tough inner-city community to a safer neighbourhood, that dream came to an end yesterday morning when her worst fears were realised.
            Both her remains and her mother's were removed from the one-bedroom concrete structure they occupied. According to the police, their house was firebombed by heavily armed gunmen who invaded the community during the wee hours of yesterday morning.
            "Her body language suggested that she wanted to move out of the area. She preferred Franklin Town where she was living first," said one of her schoolteachers, Jacinth Watson, who spoke with The Gleaner yesterday.
            Reports are that their house was targeted and, when the gunmen, numbering about 12, set fire to the structure, Damone and her mother made an attempt to escape from the blazing building. However, the gunmen opened fire on them,forcing mother and daughter back inside.
            The vicious attack brought back memories of a similar incident which took place on October 6, 2005, about two miles away on Barnes Avenue, off Maxfield Avenue, Kingston, where 10-year-old Sasha Kay Brown, her grandparents and aunt, perished at their home which was fire-bombed by gunmen.
            Residents who attempted to assist in that incident, were also fired on by the gunmen. Neighbours listened as Sasha Kay cried for help, until her voice faded in the blaze.
            Mrs. Watson's vivid recollection of Damone was that she was a reserved person who performed at an average level.
            In a soft, sombre tone, her classmate Elverado, with whom she sat many times in class, said he was sad about Damone's passing.
            "It was just yesterday we were playing before she left in the taxi. The last thing she said to me before she left yesterday was 'stop hitting me in my head nuh Elverado!' I am very sad to hear that she is gone."
            Elverado said that, many times they played "hide and seek" and "mama lashy" together. The eight-year-old also said they were best friends and she was a very nice person. The bodies of Bennett and Skyers were found in their bathroom. The Denham Town Police are now investigating.
            God helps those that help themselves.

Yuh tink our apathetic and actionless stance on Yard impress God ?

Originally posted by Exile View Post
              Call out the army, find the killers and execute them!!!! Sorry Mosiah, but that is where we are now. We have to stop ACCEPTING this type of murderous behaviour as it only escalates and copycats increase. Where is the Minister of Security???
              Did you ever work for the LAPD ?

Hey, I don't hold a position on executions at this point in time, even though I am leaning in a particular direction. I'm certainly against the cops carrying out executions extra-judicially!

But it really amazes me how these things can happen with such regularity and impunity. But I believe it's the non-cooperation of the residents that really allows it to happen.

Many of these areas need to be strip-searched from top to bottom, while we plug the gun routes into Jamaica. But how do we strip-search them when the first attempt to do so will bring out the member of parliament crying political crap! Exile, I went to a birthday party in Tivoli the other day and the amount of guns I saw in a 10 minute stretch...from the nicest chrome to some Bonanza-looking winchester rifle, they were all there.

We cannot continue like this, even though we have been continuing like this for the better part of 50 years!
                No Justice, No Peace.

Guns don't kill people.. Go to any uptown Dominoes Session.. yuh a slam dominoes and man 9 MM a drop off table.. wheh yuh a seh.. only uptown man muss have gun ??

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                  Minister of Security has been in hiding for a long time, and/or he's still in the DENIAL process!!
                  It takes Cash to Care....

Don't know who specifically you are reffering to. Objectivity is always easy as a concept. Really, it's a collective effort that's needed..when we continue to politicize every police effort (or lack of it), accept mother's pleas that her son was 'innocent' and 'was a good boy', highlight and glorify badman and politicians - we will get nowhere. Until Jamaica is really ready to say enough is enough and the DEPENDCY syndrome is "finally and permanently discredited and abandoned" - there'll be no peace.
                    To much dependency on handouts - political, barrel, remmittance, area Don, druggists. They call the shots - they give and then they collect...

Mosiah - This was done by gunmen who live in the area. No outsider except the security forces could go into these areas, set a fire and wait around it burn out.

The residents don't co-operate because neither the party or the government can protect them.

I say once again. outsource security to an international security firm like Blackwater!

I agree with most of what you are saying. Not sure we have to go the Blackwater route. We first need the govt. to invest in security and the justice system and while doing that, root out the cops that are bringing the entire force down.

Let's see where we are then before we call Blackwater.

We first need the govt. to invest in security and the justice system and while doing that, root out the cops that are bringing the entire force down.
                          Unuh can play dollyhouse eeeh? After 18 years crime is getting worse, yet people still want this gov't to do something? The first step in strategic management is people. Obviously these idiots have no clue how to reduce the crime. The first thing that needs to be done is change the damn gov't. Unuh ask Scaly fi define Insanity fi unuh.

Lazie, are you on some green shyt or what? Where does that statement say that I expect this govt. to do more? Or...you knowwhat, yuh a look smaddy fi argue wid as you campaign. I am not the one. Carry on!

A wha mek unuh suh defensive iyah? must be too much coffee. I know what you said ... the reality is we need to change the gov't if unuh serious. Yuh recall the last time Dr. Phillips addressed the nation about his new crime plan?

Sun rise in the east and sets in the west. This gov't in over dem head. Green shyt or not.