Jangle, Up Here

• Jangle, Up Here

(I hate those over-subscribed threads, as messages so easily get lost!)

Jangle, my friend, trust me, you are in no position to lecture me on any aspect of music from the Renaissance period to 2015, boss!! Try that with others, but it cannot work with me because…. Well, let’s stop here….

First, my comment about musicians being the “ones to be blamed” for the change from ska (to rocksteady) was made in a specific context: ‘Sass’ view that radio deejays and the record-buying public were to be blamed for the changes. So, I was not putting down Jamaican musicians. You have to read my reply in the CONTEXT of the previous statement to understand my choice of words.

Now, to respond to your comment, I am not necessarily stuck in the past, but the logical conclusion to your “enlightened” reasoning is that we may as well completely shut down music education in high school syllabuses and at the college level in Jamaica and North America, including even at our own Edna Manley School for the Performing Arts! (Thank the Lord for Europe and Asia!!)

In fact, what you refuse to understand is that the future of music lies in the hands of MUSICIANS who can actually play an instrument! You are so caught up with this passing phase of “being in tune with today” that you fail to realize that today’s music is all based on being a huge money-making business for today’s capitalist structure!!! Nothing more; nothing less, my friend!!

Should I support this type of sh!t? Hell no, not even on my dying bed!!

In conclusion, Jamaican music in this era is no longer made, as in the days of Bob Marley and Jimmy Cliff and Third World and Israel Vibration and Delroy Wilson and Dennis Brown and Marcia Griffiths and Ken Booth and John Holt and Toots & the Maytals and the Skatalites and Carlos Malcolm & the Afro Jamaican Rhythms, etc. as an expression from the musicians’ and singers’ hearts. It is now a product of computers manned by semi-literate @ssholes! The people you so avidly defend!!

As usual, posters like you make emotional inferences to the “small man” in Jamaica, including, in your post below, your “dutty dread with the 40 legs inna him head”! Do not ever include this type of sh!t in our discussions, because I have absolutely no interest -- and never ever will -- in whether the music is emanating from a talented “small man” or from a talented “big man”!

But no problem, as Jangle not only loves this sh!t, but even draws examples from the USA in order to justify such crap! You have so much to learn, my friend, and posting videos of non-entities from various countries trying to replicate dancehall music (singing, deejaying and dancing) tells me absolutely nothing! Sorry….I made a mistake here, it illustrates, in a very minor way, why so many searching-for-something youths across the planet are turning to some of the most feared terrorist groups in the world. People are searching, and anything thing defiant and exciting and different and relatively easy will be gobbled up by them!

Being lost adds up in many, many different ways!

Historian, do me a favor, talk to a few good musicians who can't get a gig to play, who can't feed their family and some who refuse to record because nothing not selling and then talk to me again.

If you think the artist is good, I say support and buy their music. Call the radio station, Let the music get spin and people here it, make it play in dance and party. Without musicians been paid, the music will not be heard.

That is my point. You can blame the musician but you know nuff musician walk away to feed their family?