Development Minister states opposition to some stop orders

Figures! Let's go back to the glory days of the 60's when the black man knew his place and knew what type of jobs he should aspire. Executive board?! Wrenk and outaordah!

Come on Ben! Mosiah has a valid point (if what he says is true)...you would scream and holler if you were in the US and whites are given preference over you ONLY because of skin colour. Why should it be any different in Jamaica? No type of discrimination should be encouraged - especially when ONE recieved so much of taxpayers money - from the same blacks that can't hold top positions.
        This is a fundamental issue that ought not to be politicized.

It's more than time we started to respect our local businessmen. I had a friend who sold his small hotel in Mobay because it just wasn't making any sense - says he plays the money market instead...

Thank you, Exile. Sadly, Ben isn't the only one who wants to excuse Butch's folly. Others here have agreed with him that it's his company and he is successful, so leave him alone. This, while they live in the USA and would march on Selma again for the very same thing (which obviously still goes on but under the covers).

Up to the 70s and early 80s, our banks did the same thing. Many of them were privately held, but we thought that something was wrong with that picture. So, why is it right for Butch to be doing that in 2007?

Figures! Let's go back to the glory days of the 60's when the black man knew his place and knew what type of jobs he should aspire. Executive board?! Wrenk and outaordah!
              Stap depending on the White-man fi unnuh executive job, Butch Stewart or non a dem is required to hire any particular color skin person fi DEM COMPANY, BUTCH STEWART is not preventing the advancement of Black People so yuh cyaan run tuh di NAACP.. create your own companies, if yuh Govt not assisting in advancing Black People..tek dem out or get a Green Card and guh to American where ironically yuh can succeed and hire any mount of black man in yuh executive, Mi hear seh Manley solve di 21 Family problem and PJ seh a Black Man Time after him. the country is 99% Black fi heaven sake.. unnuh must be a set of eediat to ****************..

It is pathetic that in Jamaica in 2007 wi still talking about the complexion of the executives of successful companies.

Is which black stock wi come fram again... dem mussi use dem head and hammer nails to ****************...

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                Come on Ben! Mosiah has a valid point (if what he says is true)...you would scream and holler if you were in the US and whites are given preference over you ONLY because of skin colour. Why should it be any different in Jamaica? No type of discrimination should be encouraged - especially when ONE recieved so much of taxpayers money - from the same blacks that can't hold top positions.
                This is a fundamental issue that ought not to be politicized.
                You must be a set of jokers.

Yuh look at the state of jamaica today and have time fi a talk bout how much black man in Butch Stewart executive ?

Butch Stewart can prevent Black Man from holding executive position in Jamaica ?

Ah wheh di.... Next I suppose wi going to ask the Spanish to hire black man in dem executives...

I seh it ahready.. if Butch Stewart insist on Green Man from Ukraine in his executive unnuh have 2 choices.. yuh can rant on about it and create more carbon dioxide in di air or try spend time trying to figure out why 3/4 of the students leaving school only have 1 CXC..

Is di same mentality which eff us up in the 70's.. Karl and his ilk waan know how him as a brown man cyaan get him share of the cream.. uunuh spend suh much time worrying about dat.. di Majority BLACK 30 years later are uneducated and unprepared to make it in a highly competitive World.

Don't miss the point again...it's not about Black Man time or any of that rhetoric. It's all about race, class and prejudice. Certainly Stewart's employemnt practices can't be blamed on the lack of qualified blacks IN Jamaica. These are the same people who excell abroad. So what? They are not good because the live in Jamaica??

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                    Don't miss the point again...it's not about Black Man time or any of that rhetoric. It's all about race, class and prejudice. Certainly Stewart's employemnt practices can't be blamed on the lack of qualified blacks IN Jamaica. These are the same people who excell abroad. So what? They are not good because the live in Jamaica??
                    All I hear about is Butch Stewart.

That is a rather small sample.

How does one look at 1 Company's Executive and based on the ratio of Black to Non-Black determine rascism and prejudice ?

I mean really now.. is some K-Mart Al Sharpton replicas round yah...

Then if this is a mole hill in the mountain range, don't let it stress yuh! Simple! Tek whey yuhself!

Others will continue to highlight such injustices.

Then if this is a mole hill in the mountain range, don't let it stress yuh! Simple! Tek whey yuhself!

Others will continue to highlight such injustices.
                        You have declared and injustice and all you have brought to the court is a demographic that can be explained by MANY totally acceptable realities before one gets to declaring rascism and prejudice.

I know this is only a public forum for reggaeboyz fans.. but raise di standard likkle bit...

Would you object to putting forth your argument in a letter to the Gleaner ?