What Makes A Truly Great Concert?

I saw Third World at Reggae Sunsplash back in the late 80s. I really loved them then. Very impressive stage presentation.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

My Greatest concert was Reggae Sunsplash one Saturday night seeing Third world Dennis Brown, Maxi Priest, the diamonds at their best. This was either 1988 or 1989.

The show ended with Dennis calling Tabby, Maxi, Donavon and others on stage. Could not ask for more.

Maybe the second best was seeing the Isley Brothers on stage in NY.

Key to a good concert is variety. You need good musicians, solo, not just a good voice but musicians who can interact with the crowd without overdoing this.
        You need the band to be in sync and in tune. You need crisp good sounding music and you need the singers to do some acapella too. You also need a little element of surprise and most of all a good crowd.

Third world and Dennis Brown at their best knew how to engage the crowd, had stage presence and would sing involved the musicians in their concert. It did help that their backing band was constant and knew almost every move and cord.

Hands down the best concert that I've been to is Celine Dion at the Caesar's Palace in Las Vegas. I'm not a big fan of Celine but the production and clarity was top class.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Worse yet question im history (soon to be written book)

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I have heard that about her Las Vegas shows.

Worth every penny of the hundred-and-odd dollars for the nose-bleed seats
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Dennis Brown, 1989 Sunsplash ah Bob Marley Entertainment Center wid Lloyd Parks and We the People band, clear crisp synchronous sound from di band, exemplary vocals from di singer. Ambiance pan di water; ah 2 hr plus performance. An di brattah, ah di end is Gregory, Freddy, Tabby Diamonds, Maxi Priest and Sugar Minott ah sing Ragamuffin, ah nevah experience ah greater performance. Chune fi yuh money!!

Historian: Justin Timberlake did a concert on HBO about a year or two ago. One word to describe it.

OUTSTANDING!!!

Man that night was excellent. That show was superb. Third World did their thing too.

True dat one a di bes night ah performances, Third world did wicked fi truut.