"no one ever step up and say a lie the icon a tell"

Oh really? Verify the Europe into Africa and not Africa into Europe argument. I know that there are quite a few competent people in Ja to debate Mutty on history but my guess is that they view him as someone highly opinionated and a ranter (so why even bother). he has his disciples out there (who aren't accustomed to logic and reason) who swears by him though
    Jawge.. please.. easy yuhself.. you would not stand a prayer in a battle of wits with Motty.. yuh mek a clown of yuhself in here everyday and now yuh waan try tek on Motty Perkins ???

Perkins is clearly a savant.. for a man with no formal University education, his knowledge of history and his ability to draw upon that knowledge and apply it to current events or in argument in real time is IMPRESSIVE.. I give him HIGHEST ratings... World Class in a media landscape littered with rather poor attempts at critical social commentary or 'cheerleading' apologists..

There Lazie goes again. Di man aks yuh fi verify di Europe into Africa and not Africa into Europe argument. What is Jawge, and I, not understanding?!?

sigh
      Bredrin.. do bettah dan dat.. whenever yuh start to get excited.. please remember WHO yuh partner is..

"As black people, we need to understand why five white faces and one Japanese represent the Group of Six (the six leading nations of the world). Why did Europe go to Africa and not Africa go to Europe? What enabled the Europeans to dominate for 500 years? These are the questions to which we should seek answers."

How di hell the MOORS come into dat argument ????

Di man seh Europe alter the history of Africa and the World such dat of the 6 leading nations 5 have a white face representing dem.. him seh wi need to understand how dat guh..

The response is.. what about the Moors ???

That only help di man point..

WHAT ABOUT THE MOORS ? Dem in the Group of Six ??

There Lazie goes again. Di man aks yuh fi verify di Europe into Africa and not Africa into Europe argument. What is Jawge, and I, not understanding?!?

sigh
        Fi ask mi foolishness is a clear indication unuh nuh understand the man's point. This thread is about the IJJ, the Icon of Jamaican Jounalism. Get serious or guh pon the fence.

Okay. Call me idiot! To this question - "Why did Europe go to Africa and not Africa go to Europe?" - I still say it's a valid retort!

Okay, let's put it another way - why did the Moors go to Europe?

Di question stump yuh. Surprise!

I'm certain there were other questions in the paragraph, why yuh want to ignore those? Re-read the entire paragraph and you'll see the point the Icon is making. Jawge mi expect such reasoning from.

A same thing yuh duh wid one of mi post.

Okay. Call me idiot! To this question - "Why did Europe go to Africa and not Africa go to Europe?" - I still say it's a valid retort!

Okay, let's put it another way - why did the Moors go to Europe?
                What is the relevance of that question in the context of the statement ?

It is important to be able to understand statement IN CONTEXT.. otherwise you tend to waste a lot of time on tangential discussion... case in point..

5 of the Six faces in the group of 6 are White... they are not black or Moorish..

White people altered the face of Africa during their 500 year journey to where they are now.

Question.. Do we understand the WHY'S and WHEREFORE'S of this.. very simple ?

Getting defensive and talking about Moors going to Europe does not advance the analysis.. so WHAT if the Moors went to Europe (Spain,Portugal ?).. where are they now ?

Ben you are caught up in a bogus argument. The point is Mutty tried to make a valid point with a statement which is flawed. That black faces aren't in the G8 is correct. There are also no Chinese, Indian or Latin American yet, this is true. To illustrate his point he said Europe entered Africa and not vice versa. this is not true. The moors had a great effect on Europe in art,education, architecture, mathematics etc. This is something not even Europeans deny although they don't publicize it.
                  He does this frequently, which leads me to believe it is either not by accident or by ignorance. When one factors in the Jamaican dynamics from which he emanates then it is understandable. Not surprisingly a lot of Jamaicans of his complexion get solace from his arguments.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                    Ben you are caught up in a bogus argument. The point is Mutty tried to make a valid point with a statement which is flawed. That black faces aren't in the G8 is correct. There are also no Chinese, Indian or Latin American yet, this is true. To illustrate his point he said Europe entered Africa and not vice versa. this is not true. The moors had a great effect on Europe in art,education, architecture, mathematics etc. This is something not even Europeans deny although they don't publicize it.
                    He does this frequently, which leads me to believe it is either not by accident or by ignorance. When one factors in the Jamaican dynamics from which he emanates then it is understandable. Not surprisingly a lot of Jamaicans of his complexion get solace from his arguments.
                    Heh, heh.

What do you think Motty means when he asks 'Why did Europe "GO TO" Africa' ?

Do you believe he is asking why did Europeans jump in a boat and sail to Africa ?

What are the names of the countries in Africa.. that might get a spark lit in your brains...

Your responses pretty much highlight this commentary:

"....we must understand the whys of history and not get caught up with the events themselves. We need to understand why the Europeans dominated the world for 500 years. No need to get caught up with the sentiment of what was lost, focus on the psyche and the strength of the conqueror."

Moors ?

Ah bwoy.. Sentiment and attempts at Profundity... Winners and Losers.. if unnuh cyaan identify who is who..yuh cyaan move unto whys or even focus on the psyche and strenght of the conqueror...
                    Last edited by Muadib; June 21, 2007, 08:32 PM.

IN OTHER WORDS..

One can lose and remain a loser.. wailing about the loss, caught up in sentiment and seeking some solace in minor battles won (moors ?).. OR

One can be like the Japanese...

"We need to understand why the Europeans dominated the world for 500 years. No need to get caught up with the sentiment of what was lost, focus on the psyche and the strength of the conqueror"

There is a reason why Motty calls his show 'The THINKING MAN's program'

Yuh need to be properly equipped before you can constructively engage him...

Translating Motty statement into: 'Europe entered Africa and Not vice-versa' is the action of a non-thinking person.

This might also explain your rather strange claim that Motty frequently makes flawed statements.

Most of Motty pearls are cast before swine... Education system in Jamaica is mostly to blame.. however one cannot ignore the effects of sentiment...

You really need to get out more. The thinking man's program? maybe for you and the Varandah set, save that for the people in Jamaica who are easily impressed . Try to think on this, Mutty:" Why did Europe go to Africa and not Africa go to Europe?". Patently false which even the Europeans acknowledge. You wont hear that on the Thinking man's program either out of ignorance or other reasons. Again he starts with a valid point but his little agenda causes him to make statements which are incorrect in fact. The absence of fact in support of an otherwise worthwhile point might not mean anything to you and the other "thinking people" just make sure you keep preaching to the converted don't take this self-serving clap trap outside of the Varandah. Notice Mutty doesnt, he only preaches to the converted take heed.

you need to get to school more...

In the final analysis Did Europe 'go to' Africa or did Africa 'go to' Europe ?

Name the countries in Africa before you answer...

Some of unnuh need to awaken to the fact that you were conquered.. the sooner yuh hunnastan dat di bettah.. what is the genesis of yuh name by di way ?

Here I am - agreeing with you...what is happening. Mutty's bile and rhetoric masked under the guise of journalism will only impress those who share his cynicism, disrespect and negativism for the Jamaican people and his deep hatred of a political past. The fact that he is still there reflects poorly on the succession in 'journalism' in Jamaica or rather 'talk-show hosts. Where are young bright and upcoming ones? Is he any different from political leaders who refuse to leave the scene of the crime?

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                                Here I am - agreeing with you...what is happening. Mutty's bile and rhetoric masked under the guise of journalism will only impress those who share his cynicism, disrespect and negativism for the Jamaican people and his deep hatred of a political past. The fact that he is still there reflects poorly on the succession in 'journalism' in Jamaica or rather 'talk-show hosts. Where are young bright and upcoming ones? Is he any different from political leaders who refuse to leave the scene of the crime?
                                Don't fret.. there is Barbara Gloudon..

By the way is there any criticism Motty offers that is untrue ?

Motty mek perfect sense and in a Country where the political leadership has basically effed up the lives of its black majority and generations to come.. there can not be enough critical commentary..

The apologists and Titanic violin players are the ones that need to leave the scene of their crime.. them is the main reason why we have motorcades and cheering hordes chanting the names of people that in a decent country would be serving time or could not show their face in public, much less offer themselves for leadership positions..

A damn joke and my constant problem is the why of it all.. is mussi a diffrant batch of Slaves dem drop off inna Jamaica to ****************..