Gleaner & RJR Merge

• Gleaner & RJR Merge

Gleaner just bought Nationwide Radio last week too...

That is a major development.

http://rjrnewsonline.com/local/rjr-gleaner-to-merge

Wow them want to kill all the competitors?

Huge

Seaguh did tell unno.

Di Gleanah company owns 100% of the Star
          Di Gleanah company owns 100% of the Student's Own
          Di Gleanah.....
          etc

Ovah my ded baddy, dem nah get TV station.

hahahahahahaha

I'm not comfortable with this. But since I can't do a damn about it...

...it's natural isn't it?
              Sensible natural progression? Right?
              Consolidation of the entities! The strengthening...continuing strengthening and survival of the new entity depends of how lead! Right?

It would not be a stretch to ask, what took you so long? ...who knows perhaps a conglomerate such as GK will one day...soon...swallow that 'new entity'! That type progression looks natural to me! ...and to you?

In any case the shareholders must be pretty excited and both The Gleaner and RJ(R)'s market must be looking forward to improved delivery of service(s).

Butch Dont stop at all. JA needs you now more than ever. Wow that was not as hard as I thought it would be.

This will also mean the cutting of staff.

Time for some new entries in the market place to take some clients and do some on the ground stuff.

Clear Channel and Fox hegemony coming to jamaica. Butch vs Ollivah and the rest of us shut out.

Man a complain bout newslettah?? Now we aggo have PR documentary broadcasting. Company vignettes.

This will also mean the cutting of staff.

Time for some new entries in the market place to take some clients and do some on the ground stuff.
                      Should lead to increased staff - as the entity steps real good innah di wide-dah worl!!! Should also eventually lead to better salaries!!!

Why have accounts, managers and customer service etc been duplicate work? And now you have some journalist who can take on more.

It is only normal after such big merger, there is staff cut. Watch and see.

Wow them want to kill all the competitors?
                          Hmmm, they are doing it through the courts too....

Don't know all the facts...but kinda surprised this type of acquisition is allowed to wipe out the competition. The government is out of it--so i guess all is ok.
                          Last edited by HL; August 6, 2015, 04:38 PM.

Perhaps eventually if a stronger entity emerges. In the short term there will be redundant positions for sure though.

Consolidation was inevitable as there are too many weak players but I would have preferred that the big fish consumed smaller fish instead of two big fish merging.