Water? 1

With his hand poised to press a button to start the
    pumps that would commission a series of new pump
    stations, Prime Minister of Jamaica, J.P. Patterson
    declared that "water is the lifeblood of a community."
    In starting the pumps that power the Darliston Water
    Supply Scheme on October 12, 2001, water finally
    began to run in a project that will ultimately supply
    water for more than 29,000 persons in 13 communities.

The Economics of Water Suppy
    The rural Parish of Westmoreland lies in the southwest
    portion of Jamaica and includes the town of
    Withorn and Darliston as well as many other small
    towns. The people in these communities in the eastern
    portion of Westmoreland have not had potable
    water for decades. Abe Hernandez, international
    sales manager for Goulds' Texas Turbine Pump operation
    notes that, "with the closest water source 12
    miles away, and the communities 1,200 feet above
    where the water source is, the economics of bringing the
    water to these communities proved difficult to overcome." In
    fact, water supply plans for Westmoreland Parish have been
    on the drawing board since the 1950's.

Hernandez continued, "Can you imagine a community in the
    21st century where almost 30,000 people are without water?
    And this in an area with great growth potential for tourism
    and industry!"

Apparently the government of Jamaica couldn't imagine a
    future for these communities without a modern water supply
    either, and embarked on a project to supply the area.

Jamaica is the third largest island in the Caribbean. It is 144
    miles long and 49 miles wide, with major industries based on
    tourism, agriculture and Bauxite mining. Jamaica is famous
    for its music, beautiful beaches and jungle mountaintops and
    clear waterfalls. It is also very hilly and mountainous - which
    makes infrastructure development such as water supply systems
    difficult to build.

Prior to the implementation of this water project, the main
    supplies of water for the communities in eastern
    Westmorland were a well at Withorn and the nearby Flanders
    Pond and that source was subsequently abandoned.

Since then, water had to be trucked into the area and
    deposited in a catchment tank. From there it was gravity-fed
    to a pumping station which distributed it into small
    pipelines. This method of supply, however, was woefully
    inadequate and very expensive. In addition, water trucks
    often brought expensive water directly to residents.

According to school officials in the area, the arrival of these
    trucks often disrupted school because of the need for students
    to help their families collect water as the trucks arrived.

With full funding from the Jamaican government, the
    National Water Commission of Jamaica began construction
    of the Darliston Water Supply System in 1998 as a major
    effort to improve the water supply in the parish and to better
    serve communities such as Whithorn and Darliston.

Water? - 2

The $83 million water supply system in the Milk River community of South West Clarendon is nearing completion.

During a tour of several sections of the area on Friday (Oct. 20), State Minister with responsibility for Water in the Ministry of Housing, Transport, Water and Works, Dr. Fenton Ferguson, told JIS News that "the Milk River Water Supply project is one of four projects under the European Union (EU) grant- funded project.

It is a significant project for South West Clarendon because it is impacting on about 13 districts. Actual work started in January this year and the project is about 95 per cent complete".

The project is being carried out jointly with the EU and the National Water Commission (NWC) with M and M Construction Limited as the main works contractors.

"From all indications we have already seen the response of the citizens in the area because it is certainly going to have a very extensive impact. So far the NWC has made connections to about 447 customers and we expect that these numbers will increase," he noted, adding that the water supply and quality to the Milk River Spa among other areas would be improved.

Dr. Ferguson further informed that this 'flagship' water project was expected to impact at least 6,000 persons.

The storage facility has a 1.13 million litre (300,000 gallon) capacity and some of the communities expected to benefit include Preddie, Scotts, Cherry Hill, Rest, Duncans, Milk River, Farquhar area, Clifton, Harrison Town, Pass Side and Dee Side.

Dr. Ferguson also spoke about utilizing a well at Cooksgate, which is now being used by the New Yarmouth sugar factory. "Our intent is that from discussions that we will have with New Yarmouth (sugar factory) and with the Ministry of Agriculture and Lands, we will be in a better position to look at the well. This will have a significant impact as it relates to areas going into Race Course, Hayles, Coffal and Gimme-me-bit.it will even boost areas going as far as Portland Cottage," the Minister said.

Areas such as Springfield will get an additional three kilometres (km) of 10 centimetre lines and another 1.5 km of five centimetre lines. Meanwhile, in the Banks community, 100 lengths of line will be installed to improve the water supply in that area.

Other participants in the tour included officials from the NWC and the Ministry. Turning to the Rhymesbury station, Dr. Ferguson noted that modification to the system would be required to improve water supply to the communities of Ebony Park, Comfort, Agronomy, Gravel Hill and Rhymesbury.

"I believe that this is a worthwhile project to pursue. I have already asked for the estimates for the upgrading work and on the basis of those estimates we will know the kind of timeline that will be involved in getting the project started," he said.

Minister Ferguson said that these works would see major improvement in the supply of water to South West Clarendon within the next two to three months. He added that his Ministry was working assiduously towards supplying potable water to every household by 2010, as set out in the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).

"We have been meeting and looking at medium and long term strategies. That is why I have already visited every parish since assuming office in April. We are looking at the issues in a clear conceptual way," Dr. Ferguson stated.

The State Minister also visited Clarendon on July 21 where he toured improved water systems, and observed work in progress on the establishment of water systems in North and Central Clarendon at a cost of some $21 million.

----------

Wonder what is the situation with potable water in these areas at the present time?

Water? - 3

Water resources

Fifty-six percent of the average annual rainfall are lost to evapotranspiration. The internal renewable water resources (IRWR) are 9.4 km3/year, with 5.5 and 3.9 km3/year for surface and groundwater respectively (see following table).

Approximately 44% of these IRWR are considered exploitable or reliable, defined as daily water flow exceeded during 90% of the time for surface water and quantity of water which can be withdrawn over a long period without impairing the aquifer as a water source or causing contamination by seawater intrusion for groundwater. Of the total reliable yield of 4.09 km3/year, 80% are contributed from the limestone aquifer, 4% from the alluvial aquifer and 16% from surface water runoff. About 20% from the limestone aquifer are developed through wells, mainly in the Río Cobre and Rio Minho. However, in other basins, the water is generally available as base flow and is exploitable through run-of-river developments.

Major water basins of Jamaica
        Hydrologic BasinArea
        (km2)Rainfall
        (106m3)Evapotranspiration
        (106 m3)Surface water runoff
        (106 m3)Groundwater discharge
        (106 m3)Blue Mountains,South6781 694912662147Kingston2023122088150Río Cobre1 2832 0091 450177472Río Minho1 7002 4201 641225593Black River1 4602 5301 530346654Cabarita River9241 8901 019366451Great River7911 685863467355Martha Brae, River7561 154673279201Dry Harbour Mountains1 3622 4501 302457691Blue Mountains,North1 5975 0682 3462452278TOTAL10 7531 11 9065 5123 892
        1. Total area is slightly different from country area, as they come from different sources of information.
        Lakes and dams

There are two major raw water storage facilities, both located in St. Andrew. The Mona Reservoir, with intakes at the Hope and Yallahs Rivers, has a storage capacity of 3.67 million m3. Hermitage Reservoir with intakes at Ginger River and Wag/Morsham River, has a storage capacity 1.78 million m3.
        Water withdrawal

Annual water withdrawal in 1993 was estimated in 928 million m3 and the agricultural sector was the major user of water (75%). The other major water users were domestic water supply 17%, industry 7% and tourism 1%. About 92% of the water was withdrawn from groundwater sources and the remainder from surface water.

Figure 1: Water withdrawal by sectors. Total withdrawal: 928 106 m3 in 1993.
        Only 11% of the surface water and 25% of groundwater of the exploitable water resources are currently utilised. The National Water Commission (NWC) provides water to various supply systems from wells, rivers and springs. A total of 500 water supply facilities are operated by the NWC to supply 78% of total demand.

Access to water supply in 1998 was available to 75 % of the rural population and to 95% of those residing in urban areas. Access to water supply via house connections was available to approximately 65% of the population. The remaining 35% of the population were supplied through a variety of means: standpipe, rainwater collection systems, water trucks, wayside tanks, community catchment tanks.

Water? 4

Trends in water resources management

There are plans in place to continue expanding water supply to communities, through rehabilitation of the existing system (the level of unaccounted-for-water is currently at 63%) and expansion of capital infrastructure.

With respect to irrigated agriculture, the National Irrigation Development Plan (1998) proposes a total of 51 irrigation projects for implementation over a seventeen-year period. This plan is aimed at increasing agricultural production to benefit individual farm families and the economy as a whole. Some of the possibilities for developing additional water for irrigation include the export of surplus water from one basin to another, construction, where feasible, of additional storage reservoirs and micro dams; implementation of a groundwater recharge programme and a review of the irrigation policy.

Some of the issues to be examined with respect to irrigation policy include:
          • water pricing to ensure improved cost recovery;
          • the establishment of water users' associations with a view to thereby improving system maintenance and performance and flexibility in operation;
          • incentive policies to improve irrigated agriculture productivity;
          • review of a number of pertinent laws and regulations;
          • placing of greater emphasis on economic benefits and financial returns in the planning of government financed projects;
          • improved management strategy to enable more economical and sustainable use of water resources.

Main sources of information

Statistical Institute of Jamaica (www.statinja.com). 1997. Statistical Abstract 1996.

Underground Water Authority (Water Resources Agency of Jamaica). 1990. Water Resources Development Master Plan. Final Report. Main Volume. Government of Jamaica. Kingston.

Natural Resources Conservation Authority. 1998. State of the Environment. The 1997 Report. Government of Jamaica. Kingston.
          National Irrigation Commission Limited, Planning Institute of Jamaica and Inter-American Development Bank. 1998. Preparation of a National Irrigation Development Plan and Preparation of an Irrigation Investment Project. Executive summary. Government of Jamaica. Kingston.

----------

Appears some planning for the future took place...and, is in place.
          Right?

Wonder where we are with these plans?

Water? - 5

Jamaica Cities Will Enjoy Improved Water Supply

January 25, 2007

Residents of Martha Hall, Jamaice and surrounding communities in St. Mary will soon benefit from improved water supply.

The Jamaica Information Service reported that the improvement was carried out by the National Water Commission (NWC) at a cost of $5 million, and included the laying of new pipelines, the installation of a new pump and the electrification of the pump house serving the system.

The system was officially commissioned by Dr. Fenton Ferguson, Minister of State in the Ministry of Housing, Transport, Water and Works. About 150 households will benefit directly from this new system.

Ferguson told the Jamaica Information Service that the project was just one of several initiatives being implemented across the country. The project also falls in place with the Government's recognition that access to water is a critically important factor in the economic and social development of the nation.

Ferguson did report that minor problems have surfaced in the project’s operation, and would be corrected as soon as possible.

The government's water supply policy carried the objective of cutting in half the amount of people that do not have access to potable water by the year 2010. Jamaica has achieved 74% of that objective, and the administration is currently examining the possibility of partnering with communities and private sector interests to develop the additional supply systems needed to ensure that potable water is accessible to all Jamaicans.

The Jamaica Information Service reported that the improvement was carried out by the National Water Commission (NWC) at a cost of $5 million, and included the laying of new pipelines, the installation of a new pump and the electrification of the pump house serving the system.

The system was officially commissioned by Dr. Fenton Ferguson, Minister of State in the Ministry of Housing, Transport, Water and Works. About 150 households will benefit directly from this new system.

-----------

150 households...or, 150,000 households. 150 or 150,000 the numbers are small...if the above reference to 26% non-achievement of objective ( - i.e. Jamaica has achieved 74% of that objective) can be extrapolated to 26% of the population?!

if it that slow tgen it is no progress at all

Where? Certainly not everywhere!

Total unadulterated nonsense! No true!

In some areas!...and, in some areas there where never hospitals, running water, firebrigade, and cars for cops...

...and in other areas there have been improvements!

There is no area in the island where all of this is true!

No roads...or have you over-stated...

...poor roads? Yes!

No development? What do you mean? Do you expect, for example, every square inch of the island to have a hotel or other building structure on it?

No government support? What are you talking about? No access to a Post Office, school, roads, water, electricity, agricultural lands, the sea to fish and or develop other means of making a living, government support services -etc. to present proposals for an activity the individual wishes to become engaged in, no tele-communication facilities/instruments, etc., etc....what are you claiming? The claim of no development is pure crap! Whether deliberately made or inadvertently made - Lying crap!

There is nowhere in the island where there has been no development in access to improved facilities and services and oportunities to advancement.

Now the matter of whether or not people either separately or joining with others have availed themselves of all and or any of the developments is another matter. One avenue of development that we know many have spurned and or failed to take full advantage of is EDUCATION FACILITIES!

As I have repeatedly said, it is 'rate of progress' that creates the problem. No need to...there is never the need to make untruthful statements, we certainly have more than enough things that need improving and or introduction.

So there has been no new building in infrastructure since 1989?

No expansion to the airports?
                No improvements on any roads?
                No improvement in any water supply system?
                No new schools?
                No expansion of the education system? No new universities came on stream?
                No expansion of the police force?
                No expansion in the civil service?
                ...in fact, to hear you and others like you not one single solitary individual citizen of Jamaica has made any progress since the PNP came to power over the last 18 years! You are a mad man! ...and, so are the others like you.

The country has progressed since 1944. ...and, progress was made during the periods of government by both parties. The country is still...even as we speak...progressing. We do not need to spread lies...we all know the 'rate of progress' is an area of dissatisfaction. There is difference of opinion on which of the parties at this time can drive progress...best drive 'rate of progress' towards optimum speed. No need to mis-state and or lie on about by and of both parties.

I believe the PNP is our best hope. I know changes are needed within the leadership of the PNP ...and, importantly within public and private sectors to drive the 'rate of progress' towards levels the people need. I know our people need to use that which they have to best advantage...but, pleeease stop the nonsense about no progress. I beg you?!
                Why do you believe the PNP is the main hope WHEN BY PRACTISE THEY HAVE RETARDED DEVELOPMENT AND AT TIME REVERSED IT !!!

Yuh talk about First Class Telecom...

SEE FUS CLASS TELECOM YAH SUH:

"South Korea is the most wired country on the planet. Some South Koreans can get up to 20 megabits of data per second -- breakneck speed by today's standards. Americans are lucky if they get 4 Mbps."

"There is no point in Korea where you can stand without receiving a signal," said Joy King, director of industry marketing at Hewlett-Packard. "In the U.S., we are still at the 'can-you-hear-me-now' level. When Europe and Asia are moving to multimedia text messaging, the U.S. has just started text messages. The U.S. is a Third World country in this aspect."

Silicon Valley used to be hailed as the world's high-tech capital. Now many consider South Korea the king.

"From my perspective, Silicon Valley does not have that role. The lead is in Asia, in Korea and Japan, no question," King said.

WHERE WERE THEY 30 YEARS AGO ??!

WHERE WERE WE ???

28 years to lift the country to HEIGHTS.. instead dragged down into the DEPTHS...

GRADE DI GOVT suh we can see the true extent of your folly...

if it that slow tgen it is no progress at all
                  Were you saying earlier that nothing was being done? We were regressing?

...and, I will not bore you with the many further works across the island that are currently being carried out!

...and, you would have noticed in a previous post that the all-island approach to making potable water available to the entire island was in the works before this election year. - Please see above - 1998 documents referenced.

btw - Did you see the reference to a 1950 document on supplying potable water to certain sections of Westmoreland? Speaks directly to 'rate of progress'...doesn't it?

Were you saying earlier that nothing was being done? We were regressing?

...and, I will not bore you with the many further works across the island that are currently being carried out!

...and, you would have noticed in a previous post that the all-island approach to making potable water available to the entire island was in the works before this election year. - Please see above - 1998 documents referenced.

btw - Did you see the reference to a 1950 document on supplying potable water to certain sections of Westmoreland? Speaks directly to 'rate of progress'...doesn't it?
                    I pray everyday that the SICKNESS you have at your core is someday eradicated from our people of influence.

We will be forever lost if the virus continues thrive...

Why do you believe the PNP is the main hope WHEN BY PRACTISE THEY HAVE RETARDED DEVELOPMENT AND AT TIME REVERSED IT !!!

Yuh talk about First Class Telecom...

SEE FUS CLASS TELECOM YAH SUH:

"South Korea is the most wired country on the planet. Some South Koreans can get up to 20 megabits of data per second -- breakneck speed by today's standards. Americans are lucky if they get 4 Mbps."

"There is no point in Korea where you can stand without receiving a signal," said Joy King, director of industry marketing at Hewlett-Packard. "In the U.S., we are still at the 'can-you-hear-me-now' level. When Europe and Asia are moving to multimedia text messaging, the U.S. has just started text messages. The U.S. is a Third World country in this aspect."

Silicon Valley used to be hailed as the world's high-tech capital. Now many consider South Korea the king.

"From my perspective, Silicon Valley does not have that role. The lead is in Asia, in Korea and Japan, no question," King said.

WHERE WERE THEY 30 YEARS AGO ??!

WHERE WERE WE ???

28 years to lift the country to HEIGHTS.. instead dragged down into the DEPTHS...

GRADE DI GOVT suh we can see the true extent of your folly...
                      Well? Well?
                      30 years ago where were we?

When did we get colour tv? Have we yet wired the entire island for land-line telephones?

...yet, the island is progressing rapidly towards 100% wireless intergration! ...and, that can speed us along to faster spread of internet and other types communication connections and devices. What exactly is the drawback to total high speed connections?

We certainly have in place the cables to deliver the services to the island. What next? The government to deliver the services to the people...or, do you want the growth of that sector industry to be a private sector driven one?

Are we not there...already? Cost of service being the bugbear?

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                        YES Karl - my statement comes from the HEART!! Plenty others agree wid me!!
                        Never for one moment questioned your heart. Cho man, mi kno yuh betta dan dat!

Well? Well?
                          30 years ago where were we?

When did we get colour tv? Have we yet wired the entire island for land-line telephones?

...yet, the island is progressing rapidly towards 100% wireless intergration! ...and, that can speed us along to faster spread of internet and other types communication connections and devices. What exactly is the drawback to total high speed connections?

We certainly have in place the cables to deliver the services to the island. What next? The government to deliver the services to the people...or, do you want the growth of that sector industry to be a private sector driven one?

Are we not there...already? Cost of service being the bugbear?
                          Once again you leave me speechless.. can you be anymore obtuse ?

wopee dooo. This is progress. 13 districts

YES!!!

Water for many has regressed.

Go do a survey and U will see.

Accross what Island you talking.

For me Portable water is nothing, instead of wasting money doing that use it to buy a pump and setup a water system. In my view this is shortcut and a way to give party people work.

Kaall if you regress how can it be progress?