• Obama commutes sentences of 46 nonviolent drug offenders

Obama commutes sentences of 46 nonviolent drug offenders

President Obama on Monday commuted the sentences of 46 drug offenders, more than double the number of commutations he granted earlier this year, as part of his effort to reform the criminal justice system.
    In a Facebook video posted Monday, the president said the 46 prisoners had served sentences disproportionate to their crimes.
    “These men and women were not hardened criminals, but the overwhelming majority had been sentenced to at least 20 years,” he said. “I believe that at its heart, America is a nation of second chances. And I believe these folks deserve their second chance.” He noted that in his letters to them, he urged that they make different choices now that their sentences had been commuted.

more
    -----

time to end the war on drugs....

Nuhbody can tell mi dat Obama nuh read this forum. I cussed him about not freeing up Cuba, and within months...wallah!

I have been harping about him pardoning thousands of prisoners who should not have been locked up at all, or who were given ridiculous sentences. He goes ahead and commutes the sentences of 46 drug offenders.

But 46, Barry? (That's what I call him sometimes.) Come on man, wi can do better dan dat. The number must be in the thousands or it nah mek sense! This thing can't be done to make a statement, as token gesture. Justice must be done!