i am middle aged...middle aged people don't pick up and move just so...90% of 20 - 30 year olds in Jamaica would cut to Singapore in a heartbeat...and that is a guarantee
I have been there and outside it being expensive there are a lot of positives, English speaking, very modern, very tropical, great stockmarket, a central point in Asia/pacific/Indian ocean swath, wicked mix of Chinese, Indian, Malaysian ladies, and the "coup de grace" in a positive way is the food, some of the best food I have ever had anywhere in the world, funny thing on a trip on Singapore airlines from Beijing to Singapore they served roast pork and Jamaican style sweet potato, man I was confused, I was how them know bout this combo, but I guess the whole Jamaica/English/Chinese/Singapore connection probably is the reason. Btw interesting point the guy who founded the Singapore colony was born in Jamaican waters off port morant.
I've been there, and, like the true traveler that I am, I didn't just stick to the glitz and glamour. There are parts where you wouldn't believe you are in Singapore, like where I went to get a haircut. However, even as the barber painted for me the true picture of the place, I can't say it's as bad as a hundred other places on earth could be.
Super safe city, apparently, as many people were up and about at 3 in the morning. I was told by a friend who lived there that his wife and baby could go for a walk at that time and he would not be concerned. I'm sure there are Joe Grind's around tho, so that's what he should be concerned abt if wifey suddenly felt like walking at that time! I'm not sure the barber shop environs would be as safe as other areas, however!
Super expensive city/country, where a Camry might run you over $100k, but so what! Many were driving BMWs, Benzes and Porsches. The excellent subway system meant that many just didn't bother with a car anyway.
Food wasn't that fantastic to me. And contrary to widespread belief, you can find litter here and there, but you'd have to look good! Not that I was out searching for it or anything!
The football league was rather average with poorly attended matches. Maybe I should have stopped by a badminton tournament instead.
And lastly, ask for gender papers if you go to a gentleman's club! But that's like most cities in the world these days, I guess!
you are delusional...a certain young miss just cut go japan...not because she wanted to...but because with a Masters degree the only work she could get in Jamaica was teaching swimming lessons & working part time as a receptionist...yuh outta touch