Chicago, 8 dead, 42 injured in 4th weekend

So whose fault is it? This guy says its the black womans fault.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HHSVNENdfPw
    I'm curious, how the fornication did you come across this?

LOL, one Facebook "friend" posted it.

Talking Fckery, As Usual

Do me a favour, Historian - post only about things you think you know about, like music.

This is much bigger than you, so if I have made some "Fcking stupid responses", we don't need your own fcuking stupid and ignorant responses to cloud the matter.

So do me a favour and go fcuk yourself!
        Understand this, my friend. You do NOT know the half of black history or world history that I do. Don’t make the mistake of reaching the wrong conclusion just because I choose to post primarily on culture! I do so because that is Jamaica’s contribution to the world, and so our cultural offerings should never be ignored. Jamaica’s contribution has not been science and technology, intellectual pursuits, etc. Rather, Jamaica’s (and indeed the Caribbean’s) main contributions have been culture, and to a much lesser extent, certain types of sports!

So do not ever think that your little knowledge of Jamaican, Caribbean, Latin American and world history impresses me! It NEVER has! There are so many things I could teach you about these topics. To cite one example, I have NEVER ever posted a single sentence on Garveyism, yet the region’s foremost authority on Garvey, Rupert Lewis, is someone at whose home I have had dinner and pleasant exchanges on several occasions! I have also spoken on a firsthand basis with real black historians like Orlando Patterson.

So when you make your know-it-all comments, remember that you know very little of some of us here!

Lord. This is funny.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
            Lord. This is funny.
            Fcuk yes!!!!

It is! Very funny indeed!

Did the name dropping impress you? It certainly did me! Never again will I ever try to dispute anything Historian says!

Wooooiiieee!

Did the name dropping impress you? It certainly did me! Never again will I ever try to dispute anything Historian says!

Wooooiiieee!

Yes 'twas VERY impressive

Hortical, mek mi share a likkle ting wid yuh. Yuh mighta hignorant, but yuh nuh harrogant, like some fool roun' 'ere!

African-Americans who were cut off from legitimate bank mortgages paid a price. But the penalty was especially high in Chicago and Baltimore, where laws allowed the worst kinds of financial predation. Black buyers often resorted to what was known as the contract system, run by sellers who were the subprime sharks of their time. They rigged up ruinously priced installment plans and financial booby traps with the express aim of repossessing the home when the buyer missed even one payment and then selling it again. To meet the outrageous costs, borrowers sometimes subdivided apartments and skimped on repairs, allowing properties to fall into decay.

The system accelerated urban decline and ghettoization. It also prevented a generation of black citizens from gaining the wealth that typically flows from homeownership. Writing of Baltimore just last month, Richard Rothstein of the Economic Policy Institute, a nonpartisan think tank, argued that “the distressed condition of African-American working- and lower-middle-class families” in Maryland’s largest city and elsewhere “is almost entirely attributable to federal policy that prohibited black families from accumulating housing equity during the suburban boom that moved white families into single-family homes from the mid-1930s to the mid-1960s — and thus from bequeathing that wealth to their children and grandchildren, as white suburbanites have done.”
                    It's a NY Times editorial, not necessarily gospel, but something to widen our perspectives. To think that black people just killing other blacks simply because wi fool, chupid, violent, "it's in our DNA" or whatever, is quite simply racist on our part!

http://www.nytimes.com/2015/05/10/op...pgtype=article

Very rarely can the explanation for these complex problems can be distilled down to "it is X" or "it is Y", especially when you are dealing with developments over a long period of time while the environment and people involved are changing.
                      Last edited by Islandman; July 7, 2015, 07:37 AM.

Very true. The reasons and explanations can be, and are, numerous and varied. But certainly Hortical's habit of simply putting up a newspaper headline about crime in Obama's city is meant to say one thing - that no matter his legacy, he has failed to secure the most basic human right for his own black people in Chicago.

That's the MO of a mischievous person who want tek wi fi eediat. But what's worse is when the know-it-alls, some of whom have brunched with Harriet Tubman herself, run with it, as if there isn't much more to the story than that.

SMFH!

Kitchenette Building

We are things of dry hours and the involuntary plan,
                          Grayed in, and gray. "Dream" mate, a giddy sound, not strong
                          Like "rent", "feeding a wife", "satisfying a man".

But could a dream sent up through onion fumes
                          Its white and violet, fight with fried potatoes
                          And yesterday's garbage ripening in the hall,
                          Flutter, or sing an aria down these rooms,

Even if we were willing to let it in,
                          Had time to warm it, keep it very clean,
                          Anticipate a message, let it begin?

We wonder. But not well! not for a minute!
                          Since Number Five is out of the bathroom now,
                          We think of lukewarm water, hope to get in it.

Gwendolyn Brooks
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Chicago became one of the most important destinations for members of the Great Migration. By the end of the nineteenth century, the city had a large population of European immigrants. In 1890 three-quarters of the city’s population was first- or second-generation immigrant, that is, they or their parents had been born in another country. African Americans made up less than 2 percent of the city. These demographics changed rapidly during the first half of the twentieth century. The black population in Chicago more than doubled during World War I to around 100,000. By 1970, as the Great Migration drew to a close, there were one million African Americans in Chicago, a third of the city’s population.
                            Most of these new arrivals to Chicago found themselves living in a narrow strip of blocks on the South Side, stretching from Twenty-second Street down to Fifty-first Street. The neighborhood was initially labeled the “Black Belt” or the “Black Ghetto,” but an African American writer suggested calling it “Bronzeville,” a name that many residents found less insulting.
                            Chicago did not build more housing to accommodate the new residents. Instead, as the years went on, more and more people crowded into dilapidated and overpriced tenements in Bronzeville, sometimes living without heat, light, or running water. The city did not have Jim Crow laws on the books, but segregation was enforced through a variety of social customs and residential codes. Among the most important of these were restrictive covenants, contractual agreements among property owners that prohibited the sale or lease of any part of a building to specific groups of people, usually African Americans. Historian Arnold R. Hirsch explains in The Encyclopedia of Chicago that the covenants were “rare in Chicago before the 1920s, their widespread use followed the Great Migration of southern blacks.” Restrictive covenants effectively confined African Americans to Bronzeville until courts began striking down the restrictions in the 1940s.
                            http://dcc.newberry.org/collections/...reat-migration
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Hortical knows that it is a weak argument to pin Chicagos 100 year crime and poverty problem on any one person, or to expect it to be solved by any one person.

There are no quick or easy solutions to the problems in the urban black community. None.

Hortical, mek mi share a likkle ting wid yuh. Yuh mighta hignorant, but yuh nuh harrogant, like some fool roun' 'ere!

It's a NY Times editorial, not necessarily gospel, but something to widen our perspectives. To think that black people just killing other blacks simply because wi fool, chupid, violent, "it's in our DNA" or whatever, is quite simply racist on our part!

http://www.nytimes.com/2015/05/10/op...pgtype=article
                                Yep Babylon has a MULTITUDE of tricks, traps and deceptions to try to keep us poor, divided, ignorant & dependent on dem shitstem... i.e. CONTROLLABLE

Babylon's greatest fear is the creation of a prosperous, progressive and AWARE Black population... They will NEVER allow that to occur. Much as they may fear poor, ignorant nigg@zz... They fear an organized, progressive & powerful Black community even more. When there is the beginnings of such a progressive mass movement...it is DESTROYED..The Garvey movement being the prototypical case.

Of course this just means we should get SMARTER, STRATEGIC THINKING, PRO-ACTIVE, & COOPERATIVE...while focusing on a mastery of SCIENCE.

UNFORTUNATELY INSTEAD OF THE ABOVE WE MOSTLY LOVE TO MASTER AND YAP UNCEASINGLY ABOUT MUSIC, SPORT, AND BABYLON "CURRENT AFFAIRS"...which is mostly TV, Movie & partisan political garbage

Babylon Shitstem is a Vampiya...Sucking the Blood of the Sufferers

Who nuh know dat by now...ah dem ah di realest eediat