Greatest Male Harmony in Jamaican music?

• Greatest Male Harmony in Jamaican music?

Recently, I was thinking about the role and success of the singing of parts (harmony) in Jamaican recorded music. And I’m referring here to the serious genres ska, rocksteady and reggae (dancehall will rarely ever count in any serious music discussion initiated by me).

Between the early 1960s and now, we have had many ordinary and pathetic examples of harmony in our “background” singers, but, at the same time, also many outstanding ones. Before I cite my one example to start this discussion, I need to make my position clear with some definitions.

Male Harmony: A tight, well coordinated combination of tenor, baritone and sometimes bass behind the lead vocalist. Falsetto can also play a part.

Female Harmony: A tight, well coordinated combination of soprano, alto, and sometimes high soprano behind the lead vocalist. Falsetto can also play a part.

Now, after many, many weeks of researching and listening, here’s my example of one of the best examples of male harmony ever recorded in Jamaican music! This rocksteady gem was recorded by the Jamaicans (Tommy Cowan, Norris Weir and Martin Williams).

For those of us who are musicologists, the backing band was Tommy McCook and the Supersonics (I am sure that the lead guitarist was the greatest rocksteady guitarist in history, Lynn Taitt).

Now, here is one of the greatest examples of tight, well-coordinated, on-key harmony in Jamaican recorded music, “You’re Gonna Lose” by the Jamaicans:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FiA3MlgHtmc

I hope you enjoy it.

The Tamlins and paragons for me

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yTVzz-XyotE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bU5G...d3DuTA42MQWRlU

Paragons

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ECwM...wKUHUlvpnUZFWe

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7UwD...wKUHUlvpnUZFWe

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Historian,say you ordered a rare music CD ,does that CD lose value based on the delivery method,say FedEx,UPS or a carrier riding a bicycle?
      Why do you stigmatize dancehall when it too is about lyrical content?

Historian,say you ordered a rare music CD ,does that CD lose value based on the delivery method,say FedEx,UPS or a carrier riding a bicycle?
        Why do you stigmatize dancehall when it too is about lyrical content?
        Pay attention Rockman!

Let's finish with this very good topic presented by Historian... before you throw a stone in it's cog.

Spot on X,

Tamlins were one of my favorite harmonizing group.

Isreal Vibration and (like it or not) Culture were good harmonizers IMO.

Pay attention but ignore the jab he took at Dancehall?
            Simply amazing,you are telling me to pay attention but object to my doing exactly that.

Pay attention but ignore the jab he took at Dancehall?
              Simply amazing,you are telling me to pay attention but object to my doing exactly that.
              I was going to ask that you list some dance hall songs that have the type of [the three man harmony] that Historian alluded to. But I won't, since this will distract from the topic.

Supercat ,nicodemus,and junior demus

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1Ry5cUCOT4

Supercat nicodemus and tenor saw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vAK7zvSZFqg

But i like the tamlins and paragons in their genre.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Supercat ,nicodemus,and junior demus

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1Ry5cUCOT4

Supercat nicodemus and tenor saw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vAK7zvSZFqg

But i like the tamlins and paragons in their genre.
                  As much as I used to BUY and listen to those dance hall chune back in the daze. Try again!!

Dont have to , its for me to like.

Recently, I was thinking about the role and success of the singing of parts (harmony) in Jamaican recorded music. And I’m referring here to the SERIOUS genres ska, rocksteady and reggae (dancehall will rarely ever count in ANY serious music discussion initiated by me)

In the end,not asking that question saved whatever little credibility you have remaining on the issue.

Yes but how does it qualify as harmonizing?

X I like your choices. I was going to put up the Tamlins myself but I'm going to stretch myself a little to answer Histy's question about harmonizing. I submit these:

Third World
                          https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=64Dd8J_vj8Y

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pvan0RMegP0

Mighty Diamonds

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WAYzOz14OrI

Slim Smith & The Uniques

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=21PUe4OLuQI

Steel Pulse

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3dZlRRF0hDo

These double as Harmonizing Dancehall music:

TOK

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RVUIviggznY

C Sharp

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=th0pTT1vKcw

LUST

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMG14V3HOgw
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Can't leave out The Techniques

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GZnJuOy0ac

So I was sticking to harmonizing groups and not reading Histy's criteria - Male Harmony: A tight, well coordinated combination of tenor, baritone and sometimes bass behind the lead vocalist. Falsetto can also play a part.

Here's some tight harmonizing:

Jimmy Riley

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a6j9RLyxOGs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AsKGPaEvA2I
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015