Rachel speaks
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Islandman View Post(S)he is not a hero but (s)he also didn't legally misrepresent him/herself in order to get a position. Its a bit different.
I think we disagree on this one. Claiming to be a woman when we all know different ....to get a position .... like the upcoming reality show?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Was the NAACP position race-specific? If yes, then I have a problem with what she did.
However, the question for me now is, was she doing a good job? Was she blacker than some of her co-workers, fighting successfully for the rights of black people? How respected was the Spokane chapter?
Ahhh but examine her experience adoptive african siblings and having african american boys(kids) ,you can see how that would play out in Jamaica,man/woman having african siblings and having african kids.The familial patriachial pull to her children to protect and identify with, as she says doesnt make it that simple.That cultural maternalistic bond to the afriacn experience , be it in Jamaica or American, to be dismissed as acting?
Not me baba fi judge,maybe because I can see it through my mothers ( my grandfather) experience the colonial schizophrenic stories I heard and saw of being disowned by his own white mother for making that choice and the damage it took on him mentally.
No baba mi fi judge.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Been black is not a choice and it is not an experience.
Doesn't mean we can't have the same experience. At any stage she could take of the clothes, and all that she want and could go back to been "white" if that became he choice at one stage.
Don't want to be harsh on her but that is the fact.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
It is not race specific but we all know she stand a better chance of winning that position which is an elected one, if she is Black.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Lets just say ,i disagree with alot of what you just said and to wrangle through it with you would be pointless for me to show you the gray areas,if you didnt get anything out of what I posted above ,any thing i post herin after would be banging my head against the wall enlightening you.
Adios.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
There is a big difference between culture, nationality and race. You are certainly confusing them.
How do you define race??? Can someone be born white and grow up to be black??
Think about it.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I am confusing them..aahh bway, look yuh right about two things ,they will have to deal with whatever society throws at them and they do have the luxury of escaping back into the caucasian world, that doesnt negate or dismiss those who choose the experience of going black.
Like I said ....Adios , for your mental sake, quit while you can Johhny.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
I should add born into the experience of black/africanTHERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"I should add born into the experience of black/African"
You can have the experience and be White. Born into that experience don't make you black.
Jane Goodhall live with chimps for years in Africa, is she now a monkey???
The experience is totally different from the race.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Johnny leave it alone ,please stop yuh killing me.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
She may well have been doing s good job but the problem is that she betrayed trust. It's not just saying she was black , she got s black person to say he was her father. That is going too far in my view."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass