Kalief Browder, 1993–2015

• Kalief Browder, 1993–2015

Kalief Browder, who spent three years on Rikers Island without being convicted of a crime. He had been arrested in the spring of 2010, at age sixteen, for a robbery he insisted he had not committed. Then he spent more than one thousand days on Rikers waiting for a trial that never happened. During that time, he endured about two years in solitary confinement, where he attempted to end his life several times.

http://www.newyorker.com/news/news-d...wder-1993-2015

Read about this today, if you're black & poor you live in a police state in NYC.
    You need to watch the videos in Rikers where he is assaulted by a correctional officer, and also severely beaten by gang members.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
      Read about this today, if you're black & poor you live in a police state in NYC.
      You need to watch the videos in Rikers where he is assaulted by a correctional officer, and also severely beaten by gang members.
      NYC? America has it all programmed to keep black people down as members of the lowest caste. It was slavery, then Jim Crow and now mass incarceration.

Not a ting change, really!

Why is anyone in jail awaiting a trial for "allegedly" stealing a backpack? a backpack?

NYC? America has it all programmed to keep black people down as members of the lowest caste. It was slavery, then Jim Crow and now mass incarceration.

Not a ting change, really!
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I can't even muster up the strength to read this wretched tale.

I can't imagine being thrown into prison wrongfully.

Finally watched the video.

I am burning with anger at a system that imprisons our young men by the thousands. And try know, it is all racist!

He did the right thing by not pleading guilty. Once you are a criminal, you are a criminal, doesn't matter if you spent 20 years in prison or got 2 months probation. It looks you out of society for life!

May his soul rest in peace.