• Simply better than the original!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNHBT7wjqVI

I saw that video many times before.My baby Whitney wasn't even the third best artiste but nevertheless it always an absolute joy seeing her.Gosh I miss her so much despite I have never met her.
    It was the old ringing in the new,believe me Lazie,it was the old distinguishing themselves once again,which makes the original the preference.

C’mon Now, Lazie

Do you feel that the live version is better because Luther Vandross is a part of it? Luther Vandross is indeed a GREAT singer, but nevertheless….Lol.

In comparison with the original recording, Dionne Warwick and Stevie Wonder remain as a part of the live version, with Whitney Houston and Luther Vandross replacing Gladys Knight and Elton John. We’re talking about six excellent singers on two recordings. Of course, the live version, being just that (live) is expected to be more spontaneous and exciting.

My question is this: What makes the live version better for you?

....because Luther is in it.....

Originally posted by Historian View Post
          Do you feel that the live version is better because Luther Vandross is a part of it? Luther Vandross is indeed a GREAT singer, but nevertheless….Lol.

In comparison with the original recording, Dionne Warwick and Stevie Wonder remain as a part of the live version, with Whitney Houston and Luther Vandross replacing Gladys Knight and Elton John. We’re talking about six excellent singers on two recordings. Of course, the live version, being just that (live) is expected to be more spontaneous and exciting.

My question is this: What makes the live version better for you?

Historian, with the GREATEST Male singer ever, plus Whitney Houston, what do you expect?

Luther is as great as anyone,Sheena Easton(in my opinion)is by far a better singer than Dolly Parton,yet I have a greater appreciation for the Dolly and Kenny duet in Islands in the stream than when he did it with Sheena,go figure(hard to not factor the chemistry).
            Historian,me a beg yuh leave Whitney outta the cass cass that is sure to follow!
            I give you the original we are the world,compare that to the sequel,the later was found to be lacking despite being done by at the very least equally acclaimed artistes.

Luther is as great as anyone,Sheena Easton(in my opinion)is by far a better singer than Dolly Parton,yet I have a greater appreciation for the Dolly and Kenny duet in Islands in the stream than when he did it with Sheena,go figure(hard to not factor the chemistry).
              Historian,me a beg yuh leave Whitney outta the cass cass that is sure to follow!
              I give you the original we are the world,compare that to the sequel,the later was found to be lacking despite being done by at the very least equally acclaimed artistes.
              "Luther is as great as anyone"

.... did that come out how you intended Rockman?

It stucked out like a sore thumb but he is certinly among the greatest,which is what I intended to convey..as opposed to being as bad as the worst.

Lol

Lmao ! Trust me, Rockman, Whitney Houston is definitely on my “Top 3 Greatest Female Singers Of All Times” list.

By the way, I have only listened to the Haiti-earthquake version of “We Are the World” about four times. That was enough for me! I fully agree with everything you said in your suggestion (I hope I read you right) that the Quincy Jones-produced 1984 original recording is the superior recording of the two versions.