How to STEM Jamaica's Ignorance & Backwardness..for Progress

• How to STEM Jamaica's Ignorance & Backwardness..for Progress

.... A New Age demands New Thinking. Changing the thinking of backward types is VERY difficult. But no change occurs without first reforming the thought process...So as Marcus commands we must do our best to educate

How do we sufficiently Educate Jamaica's Banana Thinkers to prioritize STEM education & the scientific method???

How do we get them to understand that this is the 21st Century...and basic literacy (for progressive nations) is rapidly becoming how best to understand & make code?? That IF we want progress...we MUST rapidly up-skill from laborers, domestic help & taxi drivers etc.... to higher value adding skill sets??

How do we get the Banana Thinkers to stop holding back Jamaica's Progress??? Do they want us to be Eternally Behind??

We naw accept dat...suh A Luta Continua

May STEM unite and prosper Jamaica — Part 1

Ruel Reid, eminent principal of my son's school, was in the media and it hit me that, though we both had chatted about STEM, our nation needs information. Dr Grace McLean, Jamaica's chief education officer, advised the public that plans for mainstreaming STEM would see technical high and some legacy high schools (if they wish) transformed to STEM academies using the PPP model-business, ministry and school. Like the new curriculum, which spans two ministers, STEM too is a process not an event. It will ramp-up innovation, student aspiration and sync with labour market demand. Flagship schools were nominated, one high school demurred, but the most eminent in the genre want in -- we shall see. School is conservative as parents want kids to get what they got 50 years ago -- strange?

What is STEM? The acronym may be disaggregated as each letter is a discipline. Life is STEM-science, the technology we use, an engineered world and math. STEM and TVET are not the same. Which idiot could confuse science, engineering and math with technical and vocational education? TVET is technology in action, a substrate of the "T" in STEM. The technologies used to work wood, bond metals, distill alcohol, and split the atom are at different levels of complexity in the genre.
    Last edited by Don1; May 12, 2015, 03:11 PM.

Well if worse comes to worst. Ja can always take Cuba (when they are flying high off human capital) to court for some money. The Caribs from Cuba once ran some raids on Ja. It's well documented.
    so di ting set

Well if worse comes to worst. Ja can always take Cuba (when they are flying high off human capital) to court for some money. The Caribs from Cuba once ran some raids on Ja. It's well documented.
      so di ting set
      Don't know about that Cuba thingy. Cubans are far better educated than we are so mi nuh fret bout dem

In any case my preference is to work with what I can in JA
      Last edited by Don1; May 12, 2015, 09:36 PM.