It touch a nerve, eh!

I'm not interested in stopping fat tourists from waddling along to JA... they're welcome

My interest is in developing children to take advantage of the challenges & opportunities posed by the 21st Century..instead of the 20th

But dats juss mi....unnu cyan gaawn duh unnu tings

that is fine, just left the tourist them alone and make them come while you do your thing. It mean more money and more work for everybody.

We have so much area that we not doing nothing in, but you always have to act like Tourism a stop STEM development or technology in anyway.

Again you are missing the boat yuteman

I'm using Jamaica's continued overemphasis on 1960s style tourism in this 21st Century as a metaphor for our general backwardness and lack of progress...das all

If dat urt yuh....ush

When I started in IT in the 90s you used to have 3 full time computer operators to operate three 8 hour shifts of production jobs each day. Now they hardly exist .

Backup Tapes get loaded and cataloged automatically, server farms have redundant components and require less downtime for maintenance, troubleshooting can be done remotely almost all the time. Even small servers these days can run years without needed a reboot, especially if they are not running Windows.

Do systems fail at times, YES! But they do not fail often enough to require the kind of support staff that they used to.

LOL,very nice!

What happens when robots start feeding the dog?

What happens when the dog itself is a robot? Robo-dog?
                Woooiiee mi Dog Trek!!

yes but it is relative. You know the about of problems we have with cloud and how many downtime some companies have? but that is never advertised. You choose the wrong provider and you waste time, effort and money. I see a lot of companies going through that. As for security a lot of companies paying out of their noses for that and that is where the employment growth is taking place as everything we are used to using is no longer safe.

Jamaica's emphasis is not on tourism, It so happen that is the only industry that makes money year in, year out and not closing. It provides real jobs.

Fact is tourism is not even any longer in the hands of Jamaicans as most of the large hotels that were own by Jamaicans are now sold.

You don't have to use tourism to make your argument. You have a good argument but devalue it by putting it against the only industry in Jamaica that is not in any danger of shutting down.

I don't want to see tourism shut down....It's ridiculous to be juxtaposing this non-issue with my argument

I don't "have to" use tourism to make an argument about our focus on dated solutions... I choose to

I understand you have an emotional connection to that sector. However your emotions don't determine how I develop my arguments

Jamaica hasn't even develop its tourism potential. Fact is any society who wants to develop its full potential have to have well developed service industry plus service industry skills can be changed to fit most major industries.

Make no sense you have hit at tourism industry to make your point especially if you think about full employment.

Well it doesn't have to make sense to you

LOL,very nice!
                            cool nuh Rocky