• $23,660-a-year ‘executives' will see a raise

The president not playing around.

President Barack Obama is preparing to do what the U.S. economic recovery has been slow to accomplish: raise the wages of millions of Americans.

His administration is drafting new rules on who qualifies for overtime compensation, forcing more businesses to pay time-and-a-half after 40 hours of work. Many employees now earning as little as $23,660 a year -- below the federal poverty line for a family of four -- aren’t entitled to overtime pay because they are considered managers.

While Republicans in Congress have blocked proposals to raise the minimum wage, Obama can change the overtime rules through executive authority. Some officials at the Department of Labor are urging the president to lift the threshold as high as $51,000 before someone could be called an executive exempt from overtime. A group of 26 Democratic senators has asked him to push it even higher, to $56,680.

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/-23-66...140934283.html
    Last edited by Karl; April 22, 2015, 04:05 PM.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I am looking forward to republicans who qualify under this wage bracket --refuse the increase. .........(cheek in tongue)

ted cruz and obamacare

Damn things that we took for granted?
        ...like in the USA, no managers considered valuable to a business would be making that type money?

Sorry to say, I also through that low wage for a manager would not be found in the good ole USA!!!

That's a big tongue you have.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I have to ask what type of manager in the USA works for that kind of money? I would rather deliver pizza or load fedex packages than manage anybody for that kind of money. I would probably make more too.

However I do support the idea of increasing the wage limit for those designated to be exempt employees, wether they are "managers" or not.
            Last edited by Islandman; April 22, 2015, 05:07 PM.

McDonald, Burger King, Waffle House managers maybe?

Maybe.