Edna Manley College and Reggae Music

Where did Hunt say they shouldn't be trained in other genre??? Show me that.He simple believe they are not giving enough attention to reggae at Norma Manley and they should be on the forefront of creativity in Reggae.

During his interview, Hunt, who was speaking about his new venture as a VP Records-signed producer, said that "Edna (Manley College of the Visual and Performing Arts) trains persons, but they are not reggae musicians. They don't have any roots teachers.

What is so wrong with this statement??? Maybe they have Ibo but very few. They are mostly trained in other genres. A lot of the musicians come and play reggae because it is the biggest gig in town and it is bread and butter.
    Last edited by Assasin; April 20, 2015, 08:26 PM.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
      Excellent Comment!

Don1, I do not always agree fully with your views, but I can tell you this: You are 100 percent on target here, in my humble opinion!

So, as far as I am concerned, this is a very accurate comment.

I could add a little more in addition to what you have said, but what would be the point?

Cool nuh Histy

Where did Hunt say they shouldn't be trained in other genre??? Show me that.He simple believe they are not giving enough attention to reggae at Norma Manley and they should be on the forefront of creativity in Reggae.
        I never posted that the fellow said that (I said IF) so please don't misrepresent me....
        A reasonable person can infer that Hunt has an issue with musicians being trained in other genres by this statement of yours. :

What Clive Hunt is saying as a producer is most of the musicians are not trained to be creative in Reggae to lead to a better product but are actually trained in Jazz, classic etc. and sometime end up doing reggae as showman but not really helping in the studio work and creativity in roots rock reggae.
        Clean this up pls

But you took the "IF" and run with it and even went as far as "hunt guy". What "IF not"?

It is simple, how many Edna Manley students are at the forefront of Reggae?? As cutting edge producers? A leading creative musicians and spare heading creativity? Over the last 15 years more have gotten involved but so far only as band members, and mostly with touring parties.

What Clive is saying is they need to be more involved. Yes they have produced very good musicians and while some drift in and out of reggae but there is not so much a drive and there is the demand for that.

You often hear some of the top musicians and engineers talk about the lesson they had working at King Tubby's, Groundation by Count Ossie, working with Scratch. There is something to be said for this.

I know a lot of music schools in the US that graduates have to go out and do internship as part of their program. Spend time with a music label, touring, recording at feet of others. I know the late Phillip Smart on Long Island always had an intern from one of these universities working with him at HC&F studio.

Again this has improved over the last 15 years and more musicians getting involved, hopefully they play a bigger role in the creative part of the music. Edna Manley hasn't really been a big influence on reggae music.

Now you are changing your tune. But you're right...it's simple:

Edna Manley is a COLLEGE. Colleges cater to those who wish to be EDUCATED

It is not the fault of the COLLEGE that reggae is DOMINATED by hurry-come-up ignoramuses who don't value EDUCATION.

Neither the ignorant public nor popular oddities like a "Gully Bop" have a great demand for an education in music nor professional quality musicians.

So called musicians walk off the street into a studio...mouth some garbage into a mic...some studio dolts add a few computer generated tracks.... then "stars" and "hits" are born

So who needs school????????????????

It's that simple

Historian, no comments on the role of Edna Manley generally? Are they playing the role they are supposed to be, not specifically for reggae music but more generally for Jamaican musicians who wish to go that route?

changing what tune???? I have posted extensively on this. My reasoning with Islandman above shows what I am saying. My first post is that there is some truth to what both are saying.

I am sure you are not implying there is nothing to be gained from education and creating reggae, just leave it to the street hustlers?

You inject yourself without actually reading what Hunt was saying and jump with "if" but not considering the "IF NOT". What more can I say.

Neither the ignorant public nor popular oddities like a "Gully Bop" have a great demand for an education in music nor professional quality musicians.

"Neither the ignorant public nor popular oddities like a "Gully Bop" have a great demand for an education in music nor professional quality musicians.

So called musicians walk off the street into a studio...mouth some garbage into a mic...some studio dolts add a few computer generated tracks.... then "stars" and "hits" are born

This is simply not funny, I won't even comment on it.
                Last edited by Assasin; April 21, 2015, 11:00 AM.

Assasin;517424]changing what tune???? I have posted extensively on this. My reasoning with Islandman above shows what I am saying. My first post is that there is some truth to what both are saying.
                  Bully for you

I am sure you are not implying there is nothing to be gained from education and creating reggae, just leave it to the street hustlers?
                  LOL! Nope

Actually that's closer to the scenario that Hunt is implying...and you are an apologist for

You inject yourself without actually reading what and what Hunt was saying and jump with "if" but not considering the "IF NOT". What more can I say.
                  Yep ...kip quiat now

This is simply not funny, I won't even comment on it.
                  It would be funny if it weren't true doh

"Actually that's closer to the scenario that Hunt is implying...and you are an apologist for "

Show me where hunt is saying this please.

It would be funny if it weren't true doh

Just show your lack of music appreciation for the decade of our music catalog that has been produced by "none college education musicians",and the way they created a market worldwide for our music. This is the only reference you can come with? Do better than that.

Our musicians have innovated different Genres and styles and you choose to talk about Gully Bob??? Get a life.

Someone here went to a recent LION KING stage play performance in Lausanne and there were more than 5 Jakans in the cast and when she looked it up almost all, if not all were EM College grads! Amazing.

Noice!

But dat nuh count when is Gully Bop etc dat run di cut

Didn't Hunt say they are training good musicians???? There is no argument about that.

What he is saying is more is needed at the cutting edge, innovative side and production side of cutting edge reggae music.
                          Last edited by Assasin; April 21, 2015, 11:47 AM.

Off base yute man

I totally respect the JA music heritage....whether it's by true musicians who learned in the School of Hard Knocks or otherwise

It is out of that respect that I cringe at the absolute garbage that most so called musicians, producers & engineers produce today

Now run along before tings get outa hand... tenks

again why is Gully Bop in this argument again as a symbol of reggae musicans??? It shows your respect.

Just to educate you, here is a very good Clive Hunt production

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vQWZSXaqTxQ

Another one of Hunt's production

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5RIgTQNLRY

I am sure you can see the distinct quality that he is talking of.

Run along.
                              Last edited by Assasin; April 21, 2015, 11:36 AM.

Since you are so slow....I'm using Gully Bop as a metaphor for the huge amounts of garbage music Jamaica produces....and which gets massive props from many Jamaicans