Edna Manley College and Reggae Music

• Edna Manley College and Reggae Music

Apparently there is a debate going on about the role of Edna Manley school in the reggae industry. Interestingly enough there are a number of graduates of that school involved in the current reggae revival movement.

Would be interested to hear Historians and others views on Edna Manley School and their contribution to the Jamaican music industry over the years.

Ibo Cooper, lecturer at the Edna Manley College of the Visual and Performing Arts and former member of Third World, is seeking to set the record straight on comments made by famed producer Clive Hunt in The Sunday Gleaner last week.

During his interview, Hunt, who was speaking about his new venture as a VP Records-signed producer, said that "Edna (Manley College of the Visual and Performing Arts) trains persons, but they are not reggae musicians. They don't have any roots teachers.
    http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/e...ecord-straight

Clive Hunt responds:

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/e...ntains-college

Both talking a little truth. I more tend to side with Hunt. Edna Manley College could have done more to influence Reggae. I know Ibo and others doing their thing and it most be commended but what they are doing now is scratching the surface. Still better than 15 years ago.
    Last edited by Assasin; April 20, 2015, 11:02 AM.

not true ....

HISTORIAN ..... glen johnson's nephew wade plays keyboard for jesse royal as well as does session/studio work and he is a graduate of the edna manley ... I can attest to that.

ok ... should have read BOTH articles first. it is a discrete point that hunt is making and one that I really cannot comment on.

I remember watching an interview with ZincFence Redemption and about three of them were bigging up Edna Manley. Also I saw this post from someone on FB though I cannot attest to its accuracy.

Maybe things have been changing, albeit slowly.

... never in the history of Reggae Music have we seen so many new bands with talented musicians on the road thanks to the teachings they get at Edna. To the level that most of the European Reggae Festivals in 2014 had acts which were backed by bands out of Jamaica unlike other years when European bands were the feature....

It is because that is the only thing out there professionally for most Jamaican musicians? What Clive Hunt is saying as a producer is most of the musicians are not trained to be creative in Reggae to lead to a better product but are actually trained in Jazz, classic etc. and sometime end up doing reggae as showman but not really helping in the studio work and creativity in roots rock reggae.

While we may have a lot of good musicians out there, maybe more than before, the quality of Reggae music is not as good as years past and not enough study of the genre is taking place by these young talented musicians.

Let me ask, when last you hear a good riddim, that make you jump without vocals and make you want to hear it again??? Remember the days when riddims were staple on the charts???

Kina contrary statement by Hunt inna fi mi opinion, dere are numerous roots bands dat Edna Manley produce recently. Roots teachas ah who dem deh him ah talk, Nyah Bingi or twelve tribe?

"trained to be creative"??? How do you or can you train someone to be creative???

It is like trained to be an entrepreneur. You are giving the encouragement and environment to flourish. At one stage reggae was frown upon by many of these institution. By introducing the student to the work of the greats and giving them insights in reggae, it will help them to actually have more emotion, love for the creative side of it.

Ibo has definitely done some of that though.

Let me be mild in my criticism since...

What Clive Hunt is saying as a producer is most of the musicians are not trained to be creative in Reggae to lead to a better product but are actually trained in Jazz, classic etc. and sometime end up doing reggae as showman but not really helping in the studio work and creativity in roots rock reggae.
                      ..you have claimed some background in the music business. So I'll respect that

If that's what this Hunt guy is saying ....I find it incredible that anyone who knows the genesis of Jamaican popular music could subscribe to such rubbish

First...Jamaica's music at its genesis is an amalgam of religious spirituals, African, jazz, blues, European classics..through British/American pop, R & B, Hip Hop..

This being the case the notion that a Jamaican music college should not train aspiring musicians in the elements of those styles is the height of ignorance & stupidity.

It is by learning and being open to outside musical influences that our indigenous music will flourish. Teaching "roots" is not even relevant. That's learned on the streets...just like patois is. So there's no need to "teach" that. What we must do is RESPECT roots and preserve it...like we should to patois

As to classical trained reggae musicians...Ibo's Third World is the archetype ....Classical training is a HUGE reason why that band has produced probably the best instrumentals in our history

Time unnu wake up an' smell di coco

yes and it reflected in a change in the last 15 years, but is more needed? That is what Clive hunt is saying.

As a producer and one of the very best in Roots Rock and Reggae, he is saying he is not getting what he needs. Not many producers have done what Clive have done. He may have been much bigger if not for some personal problems, but he knows what he is talking about. He is also a good musician who have toured and recorded with a lot of know artists.
                        Last edited by Assasin; April 20, 2015, 02:54 PM.

Who is more likely to make it?? The classical trained musician or the one who is trained on the street, studio, dancehall or Rockfort groundation.

The fact is Edna Manley can learn something from this. Third World is one of a few of these group that made it, others turn up their nose and had no passion for it. Norma Manley school need to do more.

You sound highly educated but the Jazz man tell you about the passion, and same so with the classical man. This reflects in your playing and creativity. Let me just add that Clive Hunt is rank as one of the best producer of roots rock reggae so he is not just talking for talking sake. You can do your research on him.

Who "makes it" in music is not as simple as where they're trained. But I'm not addressing that.

What I'm speaking of is the value of exposure to different genres of music...das all

Excellent Comment!

..you have claimed some background in the music business. So I'll respect that

If that's what this Hunt guy is saying ....I find it incredible that anyone who knows the genesis of Jamaican popular music could subscribe to such rubbish

First...Jamaica's music at its genesis is an amalgam of religious spirituals, African, jazz, blues, European classics..through British/American pop, R & B, Hip Hop..

This being the case the notion that a Jamaican music college should not train aspiring musicians in the elements of those styles is the height of ignorance & stupidity.

It is by learning and being open to outside musical influences that our indigenous music will flourish. Teaching "roots" is not even relevant. That's learned on the streets...just like patois is. So there's no need to "teach" that. What we must do is RESPECT roots and preserve it...like we should to patois

As to classical trained reggae musicians...Ibo's Third World is the archetype ....Classical training is a HUGE reason why that band has produced probably the best instrumentals in our history

Time unnu wake up an' smell di coco
                              Excellent Comment!

Don1, I do not always agree fully with your views, but I can tell you this: You are 100 percent on target here, in my humble opinion!

So, as far as I am concerned, this is a very accurate comment.

I could add a little more in addition to what you have said, but what would be the point?