Sass: What yuh seh? FINSAC - Zinc shack is man's home...

• Sass: What yuh seh? FINSAC - Zinc shack is man's home...

BEFORE Finsac Mecheck Willis was living comfortably with his wife and five children in his four-bedroom, two-bathroom house on Patrick Drive, St Andrew.

His thriving business, which employed three people, also afforded him to hire a full-time household helper.

Now the lifestyle of the ailing 64-year-old is a far cry from what it was: He lives in a one-room, wood-zinc-and-cloth shack in a depressed community in the Six Miles area of St Andrew, his wife has since died, his family torn apart, his children's education has been disrupted and he has to rely on his church and Good Samaritans for meals.

"One of the thing now in the Finsac inquiry," Willis told the Jamaica Observer last Thursday, "Mr Omar Davies said what happen to me shouldn't happen, because there was a window of opportunity where people like me house shouldn't sell and I questioned him on it in the 2009 inquiry."

"So I think that by this they would have done something for me already. And they don't want to come out with the result of the inquiry so that everybody can get to know what they can do about it," he said.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...eover_18776784

We really need to reclassify the PNP as a staunch capitalist party,and the FINSAC matter is yet another irrefutable evidence.There is something that is talked about repeatedly(maybe it is in the powers that be economics books)that it is afforded the weight of law.You can sell debts for well below half ..but NEVER EVER sell those debts to the people owing you.
    Fact is the PNP benefited financially when the country didn't,it doesn't get clearer,we saw it in politics too.

not about capitalism or socialism, it is about poor management and how we handle the Jamaican economy. You call Obama a socialist because he saved GM?

You do things that make sense and will benefit your country and local productive sector.

Can you tell me one thing that the PNP has done that validates their claim to being a socialist party??

They preach it. Again none of Jamaica's party are "capitalist" party and none are "socialist". They may romance with ideas and ideals but act politically. Acting politically may not be all bad but making smart decisions and accountability is key to government, socialist or capitalist.

We have some part of our economy that is overburden that we use as cover like the public sector which is currently oversized unless we grow our economy, yet we talk growth and investment while not encouraging it.

we can't deny that we only use the worst from everywhere in government. Any capitalist country will tell you government will intervene in the worst of times and protect important and small industries. That is not unique to socialism. They may not intervene all the time but they do ala Obama and GM and also the housing market. Policies that we make help to build economy and our countries.

There was so many opportunity to help this man and others who were victims of high interest rate, devaluation and bad bank practices, this man who seems employed others and seems like he had a decent business.
          Last edited by Assasin; April 20, 2015, 10:16 AM.