post your favourite "mondegreens"

• post your favourite "mondegreens"

a mondegreen is a reference to misunderstood song lyrics ...

here's one:

I can't climb this ceiling any more.
    Actual lyric:I can't fight this feeling anymore.
    (REO Speedwagon "I can't fight this feeling")

Jeffery Osbourne's Love Ballad

Line: What we have is much more than they can see.

My take: What we have is much more than vacany.

So years ago i worked with this gaudy like guy from Cuba.

One day we were walking down the corridor and he began singing:

Sally, Sally has a rock...

It s/b : Solid, soild as a rock...(Ashford & Simpson)

Cracked me up-- jusss like Leyton Orient crack-kup you and poster Mosiah.

you have no idea .....

Survivor: Eye Of The Tiger
          Donald Duck took my chances

You're the meaning in my life
            You're my perspiration
            You bring feeling to my life
            You're my perspiration

Chicago's You're my Inspiration

Got a lot of Starbucks lovers,
              They'll tell you I'm insane

Should be:
              Got a long list of ex-lovers

Taylor Swift's Blank Space

If!

Sparrow: Capitalism gone Mad

It hard, here in Trinidad
                  Lord have mercy,Capitalist and gunman!

Never did like dat damn Trini accent! Or is it Grenadian?
                  Last edited by Islandman; April 16, 2015, 06:44 AM.

LOL! I will assume that did not know English well

Same difference

This one is a true story from years ago. Heard an older guy dancing and singing the lyrics to Michael Jackson's Billy Jean. It went like this :

Billy Jean is not my lover, she's just a girl who thinks that I'm the one, but the chair is not my son.
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

unless the guy gepetto and the chair was pinnochio...that is like to be a true statement

Beat it, beat it, dont you let me repeat it
                            Sure yuh not funky, sure you aint ripe
                            it doesnt matter who wrong or right.
                            ====

My eyes have seen the glory of the burning of the skool
                            We have locked up all the teachers we have broken all the rules
                            We plan to hang the principal tomorrow afternoon
                            Da skool is burning down.

=============

1 pound 10 fi di wedding cake
                            and di bokkle of coco wine
                            all di people dem dressup inna white fi guh eat of Dawson wedding cake
                            well its no wonder, its a perfect blunder
                            while they were dancing in di ballroom last nite

======

Shame on you for walking on roof garden
                            Shame on you for walking on the roof

============

whether you're a mother or whether a brother
                            Stayin alive, hive, alive, uh huh
                            Ha, ha, ha, ha, stayin aliveeee

turn around, look away
                            You can live another day
                            we can try to understand
                            A new york times or feisty man

Im going nowhere
                            Somebody help me
                            Somebody help themself

The most butchered song ever may be BEN.

Also, Happy.

Both by MJ.