Just as Ja got

Iman I agree with you but first Ja has too much mechanism of division. These division causes some to feel that since they go to this school or has this many subjects (really a coachable skill), come from this side of they island and on and on. They are the better ones. Therefore if someone outside of the better than clique does well it's envy , jealosy and spite. This in turn leads to self destruction.

The above argument is why I support D1 in getting rid of this subject thing in JA. It will give rise to creative minds; who will not be afraid to operate in
    in the Jakan environment. Look at the US ; if you graduate from high school with two or so AP (advance placement) subjects that doesn't put you a top of the heap in the country where you walk and brag. You will get college credit yes but the real stars are the ones that leave and start a corp. which becomes a multinational. At the same there is room for professors who go on to win Nobel Prizes in the sciences et al.

There is no doubt that Ja has talent but the landscape has to change for these talents to flourish. Notice the POTUS fielded questions from varied background thus displaying Ja's true potential.

Ja has to purge out the mindset of self detruction and self sabotage. Time is limited now (Cuba is opening up).

Well this is not a theory for me... it is demonstrated reality

My actual experience with building a robotics program in a high school (with the goal of scaling it nationwide) is that the boys respond overwhelmingly to the IDEA of a COMPETITION where they can demonstrate their superiority over others....and yes.. also learn from them.

To compete well they will stay in the mechatronics lab after school until midnight, come in to work on their project on weekends & holidays...and spend numerous hours fundraising or sharing their knowledge with other schools in order to spread the STEM vision

I don't know of any other academic activity where JA boys will show that motivation...do you?

All this stems from being part of a movement the apex of which is a worldwide COMPETITION. Without the competition...there is little motivation

Unfortunately there being no currently available competition where their superiority can be established over Jamaican schools...we have them travel to the US to dominate teams there

So if there is an exceptionally successful working model which prioritizes competition... I learn from it and don't try to reinvent the wheel.

Dat wudden spell sense tuh mi
      Last edited by Don1; April 19, 2015, 04:18 PM.

Di Jawges people ever got back to you? Lemme know.

Oh yes...from waay back when you made the link. I got a response from the highest levels of Jawges administration. They seemed VERY interested and assigned a teacher to follow up with me then...ZERO. But this is typical.

Success at this pretty involved venture takes just 1 or 2 people of influence at the school (or a stakeholder e.g. alumni assn.) who see the vision of what robotics can do for kids...AND are super motivated to make it manifest.

I can lay the technical groundwork and offer all the connections schools need to establish a competitive Lab...but I cannot provide motivation and energy for them

Get back to the contact then and ask for a follow up? Genkle prodding is good.

My contact is not on the Board anymore.

Get back to the contact then and ask for a follow up? Genkle prodding is good.

My contact is not on the Board anymore.
              ok boss...I did that but will do again. You never know

BTW a certain very prominent all-girls schools on (upper) Constant Spring Rd which we've been mentoring for years....now say they're ready to join the Robo Revolution.

Say they'll be ready next year to join us in New York Regional qualifiers. Fortunately their NY Alumni group is VERY strong so money and logistics should be covered

If dat gwaan...dat would be a big breakthru