Simon turns head cheerleader

• Simon turns head cheerleader

SYCO Music, a label owned and operated by British music mogul Simon Cowell, is responsible for promotion and distribution of Cheerleader, the hit song by Jamaican singer OMI.

The deal was inked two weeks ago. Syco is a subsidiary of Sony Music. Clifton 'Specialist' Dillon, OMI's manager, confirmed the partnership yesterday.

According to Dillon, Cheerleader was named 'Song of the Month' worldwide for Sony in January. This means all Sony subsidiaries put their promotional muscle behind the single.

The remix of Cheerleader (by German producer Felix Jaehn) was released late last year by Ultra Records (another Sony affiliate). It is the top-selling single in Europe for the past two week

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/enter...EADER_18751915

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jGflUbPQfW8
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Nice Jangle, very nice!!

Chart performance[edit]
      The remix has charted at number one in ten countries, including Australia, Belgium, Germany and Ireland. Originally due to be released in the United Kingdom in May 2015, it was brought forward to 12 April due to popular demand, having entered the UK Singles Chart at number 37 on audio streams alone.[3]

Chart (2014–15) Peak
      position
      Australia (ARIA)[4] 1
      Austria (Ö3 Austria Top 40)[5] 1
      Belgium (Ultratop 50 Flanders)[6] 1
      Belgium (Ultratop 50 Wallonia)[7] 1
      Canada (Canadian Hot 100)[8] 52
      Denmark (Tracklisten)[9] 1
      Finland (Suomen virallinen lista)[10] 13
      France (SNEP)[11] 1
      France Streaming Songs (SNEP)[12] 1
      Germany (Media Control Charts)[13] 1
      Ireland (IRMA)[14] 1
      Italy (FIMI)[15] 1
      Netherlands (Dutch Top 40)[16] 1
      Netherlands (Single Top 100)[17] 1
      New Zealand (Recorded Music NZ)[18] 3
      Norway (VG-lista)[19] 5
      Spain (PROMUSICAE)[20] 5
      Sweden (Sverigetopplistan)[21] 1
      Switzerland (Schweizer Hitparade)[22] 1
      UK Singles (Official Charts Company)[23] 27

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheerleader_%28song%29
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Not bad...pretty catchy.

So Omni's Cheerleader remix has finally hit the pop stations in my woods and is getting a steady rotation. It's being touted as the song of the summer.

Yes it is all over US radio now.

Omi goes gold in US.

Cheerleader cracks Billboard top ten

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/enter...in-US_19150871

Good. Once it reach Jangle's neighborhood on the mainstream radio it is going to be a hit. I say that not only jokingly as the Hudson Valley is a place known for its reggae cross over appeal with places like Woodstock and Poukeepsie etc. is the testing ground for Reggae crossovers. Huge audiences with a mixture of traditional and none traditional reggae lovers.

It is a great achievement to sell more than half-million singles in todays music industry.

I hope he and Specialist have a good follow-up in the works.

yeah it is a magnificent achievement really.

I hope but very few artists can live up to that.

As I heard Stevie Wonder said it is hard to make a second. Most artist only have one. Good luck to him, hope he does but anyway enjoy the ride.

My son has been playing this song for the last month; I had no idea who the singer was...

Good. Once it reach Jangle's neighborhood on the mainstream radio it is going to be a hit. I say that not only jokingly as the Hudson Valley is a place known for its reggae cross over appeal with places like Woodstock and Poukeepsie etc. is the testing ground for Reggae crossovers. Huge audiences with a mixture of traditional and none traditional reggae lovers.
                        You hit the nail on the head Sass. That's why I'm always the first to bring the hits on the forum. HOT97 and 105.7 FM starts to fade once you reach lower Westchester county and once the pop stations starts rotating a song in the valley then it's a hit. Here's a hit that you probably don't know:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Go7gn6dugu0

there is a omi busy signal tune that is getting attention also.

this song is like two years old. the remix revived it.

The powers of a good re-mix!